April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Skyrim Simplified

by Zer0XoL - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I didnt spend as much time as I could on this.
This is the basic components of skyrim,
kill the chickens, avoid the guards.
Controlls:
arrowkeys to move
space to use sword
X to fus roh dah away guards

protip: do not try to kill the guards.
goal: kill as many chickens as possible.

I failed to make background music and sound for fus roh dah.
hopefully someone will find it minimalistic :)

Edit: You might need to install this to run the game:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#170Humor3.04
#533Theme3.56
#720Fun2.80
#991Audio1.83
#1003Mood2.40
#1014Innovation2.44
#1150Graphics2.21
#1161Overall2.52

Comments

Andrei Barsan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:29am

It's complaining about not being able to find MSVCP110.dll. I've extracted the game to its own folder. I have Windows 7 x64.

Ditto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:30am

The name is genious, gives the game context and made it surprisingly entertaining!

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:34am

i used to be an developer like you, but than i took an arrow to the knee

Zer0XoL says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:37am

I dont understand why.
I compiled it as Release so it should not require it?

anyway, you will probably need this:
32 bit: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8328
64 bit: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=13523

Andrei Barsan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:42am

Zer0XoL: I *do* have the 64-bit runtime installed. I even re-downloaded it and performed an integrity check and still nothing... :(

Zer0XoL says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:53am

Im sorry, i linked the 2010 one.
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679
I buildt it with visual studio 2012, so Im assuming you need Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studio 2012.

(I am switching to linux asap.)

Gama11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Haha, this was quite minimalistic indeed. But still, I'd have liked a life bar, a score and a way to restart the game. Also, I felt like the guards should've been a bit tougher to kill. Would've made gameplay a bit more interesting.

Zer0XoL says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:57pm

The guards are not easy to kill?

Zer0XoL says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:58pm

They should be impossible to kill, i mean.

AyCe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:35pm

After installing the file from the link in your second support comment (you should really put the link in the description) I got it running. Nice idea, definitely minimalistic (at first I also wanted to make a sort of "demake") but I agree with Gama11, those things would have made the game a little bit better :)

Zer0XoL says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Thanks for your feedback! I will put the link in the description.

Yeah as i said i dindt spend as much time as i would have, i was going to have a better HUD and a text system. Also background music but i could not export .it to .mp3 so that the game would play the file.
A "fus roh dah" text over the player when you press X.
And the ability to select race in the start.
Also a way to restart when you die.

But i did not :)

Tahooey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:30am

I read the title, so I had to try it lol

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Cool game, love the Concept :)

PPLo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Try to launch it, error pops up :
... is not a valid Win32 application :(

BumpkinRich says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Brilliant idea and use of the theme and well put together too.

May 1, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Sadly I can't play it, because it's no Win32-application. :(

(Win XP, 32bit here)

May 2, 2013 @ 7:55am

Full marks for humor.

May 2, 2013 @ 7:55am

Crazy idea i love the concept :D

naughtyloose says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:17am

could not play because of missing MSVCP110.dll :(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]