April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ellsworth

by chas - Jam Entry

An abstract puzzler inspired by the minimalist color paintings of Ellsworth Kelly. Created using THREE.JS and jQuery.

Use Chrome or a recent Firefox browser.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#25Theme(Jam)4.19
#69Innovation(Jam)3.65
#118Overall(Jam)3.56
#167Graphics(Jam)3.64
#257Fun(Jam)2.94
#279Mood(Jam)2.91
#360Humor(Jam)1.81
#444Audio(Jam)1.70

Comments

martijn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Oh wow, that animation is nice.

MrHalfman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Good game & graphics. Nice usage of WebGL.

GreyShock says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Nice puzzle concept :o

timtipgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Fantastic idea and very good execution. It was of huge help when I realized that the parts of the image that I already activated don't need to stay connected.

ericlass says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Awesome game. I only got to 95%.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Very nice job! I especially like the style.

MatrixBai says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Nice game, better if adding some audio.

reverso13 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:01pm

My record is 85% great game it has awesome effects

nseward says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Very cool. I like zen games.

anatolat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Nice puzzle! Looks good and polished.

spacechase0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:06pm

I really like this. I wish I could rotate things counter-clockwise though.

belickim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Both visuals and mechanics are very tightly connected to the theme of minimalism, excellent.

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Hard, but really nice.

Diamonde says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Very simple, intuitive but interesting gameplay! Everything feels polished, and I only miss some ambient music, which I really think would give the last touch to the game.

Frosnite says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Everything looks so good and responsive! Great work there!

kbm0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:46pm

I always love it when games try to step outside their usual territory. You did just that by presenting minimalist paintings as game mechanics. Great job.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Nice puzzle game! Some explanation at the start of the game would be nice. Sometimes it is a bit hard to see if a tile is activated or another color, but the resulting 'abstractions' are very nice. :)

bernhard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Very slick presentation, WebGL well used.
Great "Minimal" Puzzle Idea, glad that there is no time limit. Wish it didn't restart at Level 1 though :-)

KevinWorkman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:03pm

This doesn't seem to work for me on the latest firefox, but the gif animation seemed really interesting.

chas says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:50pm

It works on my OSX Firefox 20.0, fwiw. Can be glitchy in FF and is definitely slower.

domrein says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:49am

Cool puzzle game idea. The goal wasn't super clear, but I think I got how to play after a little bit. Some audio would add a lot to this game.

Tyro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:50am

Stellar visuals and polished play. It definitely captured minimalism well.

Tanius says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:53am

That's great entry, simple, nice, fast to get, fast to play and a nice puzzle. And it's minimal indeed. Good job!

LizEngland says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Beautiful game. I saw the gif you posted of it on a post and have been looking for this game. It definitely didn't disappoint!

mrexcessive says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Very beautiful game. Fiddled around for about 20 minutes just watching the tiles move... nice one

tankete says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:11pm

The animation looked slick. Wasn't totally sure how to begin or what to do. Would have appreciated a bit more direction.

May 2, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Lovely tile-effect!

aaron9000 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:50am

Excellent puzzle game. I love the simple but polished animations.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Beautifully done.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]