April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Line Surfer

by FrozenCow - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Apparently this works on most browsers now.

I had a hard time with this theme. Started off making a game that I threw away in the end (too complex, so not really minimalist and 48h-proof). Line Surfer is my second attempt. Not everything that I wanted is in, but what can you do.

Controls:
- Mouse to move line
- R to reset level

Known bugs:
- Falling through the line is not really a bug, but necessary when making complex shapes and to keep the pace going right (maybe I can solve this better with more time).
- Loopings do not give you points yet.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#144Fun3.54
#235Theme3.89
#344Innovation3.40
#427Overall3.29
#530Graphics3.06
#926Humor1.73
#1090Mood2.27

Comments

h2n0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Very good game Very re-playable

Tigrounette says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Funny!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Very clean and simple, yet fun :) Good job.

theomnis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Worked in Firefox for me with no problems.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:36pm

This is a neat concept, I'm sure there's more mileage in this. I kept having another go, which is always a good sign!

Galvesmash says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Great job bro!

Rubi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:38pm

The idea of ​​the game is original.

Rubi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:39pm

The idea of ​​the game is original. Try to fix the game!

Ninjaxio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Very addictive game, the fact that you have full control over the line makes for some pretty interesting gameplay. Nice work!

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:41pm

I just fixed mouse issues on Firefox, but the end-goal is still invisible for me, so I'll leave the notice up for now ;).

jhonpi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Nice work, simple and funny, i was looking for airtime points all the time.

heuermh says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:44am

Hey, that was seriously a lot of fun.

I wish that air points achieved on purpose by clever mousing were worth more than those achieved by flailing about trying to rescue the ball when it is falling straight down.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:03am

Really nice game, fun when it goes out of control. Shame it was a bit short, I couldn't grasp how to score points though. Great game anyway!

Sebastian says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Neat idea, had some fun with it.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:04pm

I really like the sensation of speed. I wasn't too sure what was going on in the second half, especially when the ball started falling straight down and it took me a while to catch it. Time: 71 Score: 21

GreyShock says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:04pm

With a few more tricks this could become a very good toy! :D

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Cool game concept and good use of the theme! I liked the minimal graphics. Controls felt awesome at times but mostly a bit clunky. There didn't seem to be much of a goal but it was somewhat fun playing around with it. It seems like maybe you could construct a level that the player journeys through or a better set of scoring rules.

AnTiCamPr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:15pm

This is a really nice game with a simple and neat concept. If scoring was fixed (and maybe obstacles added to make levels?) this would be a great game.

Thijsku says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Nice game! I like the simple style. It's fun to drawn a line! Perhaps some powerups could have been nice. I also miss some music.

But it's a fun game overall! Nice job making this in only 48 hours. ^^

TomboFry says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Worked fine in IE10!

MrShoestore says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Worked fine in Safari. Also, nice game.

bramvq says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:44pm

very cool idea

May 20, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Neat idea, and agree there's more mileage here. Something like this may be a good mobile game with touch.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]