April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rook, Troll, Scribe

by tacograveyard - Jam Entry

Rook Troll Scribe is a minimal real time strategy game. There are 3 unit types - the Rook, the Troll, and the Scribe. Each class can defeat one other class, cancel itself out, or be killed by one other class.

Choose your units using either ASD, the arrows keys, or 1-3. In addition to the 3 classes, you can also use W, Up or 4 to level up your bonus meter. Fill up the meter to repair your castle or "power up."

The castle can be upgraded three times and hit twice before losing. At max power, 5 hits will destroy your castle.

The last castle standing wins!

ESC to main page

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#28Graphics(Jam)4.36
#91Humor(Jam)3.07
#93Fun(Jam)3.45
#102Overall(Jam)3.61
#201Audio(Jam)3.13
#204Innovation(Jam)3.19
#236Mood(Jam)3.07
#395Theme(Jam)2.90

Comments

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Extremely nice game! I love the execution and the idea is nice too. Well done.

Kyle Bolton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Art and audio are very nice. I had trouble remembering which units beat which, but that might just be me.

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:35am

Looking at the screenshots, I really want to try this game out...but I only have windows :(

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:43am

I kinda like the extreme widescreen. Really nice overall.

davidpeter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:56am

Fun, simple game! The instructions were too long for me, for a game that was basically 4 buttons. Something to keep in mind later - the length got in the way of what ended up being a really simple game. I absolutely love the graphics.

bleatingheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:04am

Looks great and it's a clever take on the theme, though it literally plays itself. Would have loved some more direct upgrade options, but it's an interesting game either way.

MrBlade says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:28am

Please make a windows version?

mire says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:35am

Love it! Beautiful artwork, fun gameplay, catchy tune, and lots of cute little touches.

neight says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:36am

Loved this concept. I've gotta find someone else to pay against.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:12am

Great game! Im sure multiplayer is super fun!

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:12am

No windows or Linux? I'd like to try it but my Mac is in storage :(

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:12am

Amazing game!
Great job!

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:37am

Very pretty game, and well balanced. The gameplay is so minimalistic it's awesome. 5+

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:40am

Awesome art!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:52am

Enjoyed the game!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:04pm

I'd like to try it !

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Nice rock/paper/scissor remix with great graphics :)

nilstastic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Pros: Nice graphics and a nice idea!
Cons: A bit wide, but that's perhaps the point? It would also have been nice with a windows build (if possible)

Meep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Very visually appealing and fun game. :) Great work!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:32am

please make a windows version...

PixelOaks says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:45am

Darn, I wish I had a Mac so i could play. I like the graphics in the screenshots :)

BrainSlugs83 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:50am

Really wanna play this... but not building a hackintosh just for that.

Korda says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:48am

Looks good shame there is no Windows build

Pitoum says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:19pm

need a windows version :)

michail says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:47pm

I really would like to play it after looking at screenshots, don't have a Mac unfortunately.

Aaants says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Looks great. I like the simple mechanics and general finish to it.

TheCze says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:37am

would be nice to see a port, looks good.

whilefun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:42am

Unfortunately, I don't have a mac :(

Arcana says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:14am

Very fun. Loved the multiplayer option.

I too found the instructions to be a little complicated, especially after figuring out that the game was actually a really simple concept.

Great graphics, especially.

Wish I knew what this was coded in!

May 2, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Will there be some Windows (32 bit) version? :)

HelkeGames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Nice game, well done :)

JohnnySix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Windows only here too so can't play, looks really cool, a +1 for a windows port.

DNA Yarn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:00am

Addictive and a decent amount of depth for only have four options.

tacograveyard says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:14pm

I hadn't planned on porting, but I hadn't expected so many people to be interested in a port. I am not sure if I will be able to put the time together to port it, but we will see what happens this weekend.

davidpeter, arcana - I agree the instructions are overly complicated. If I do a deluxe release I'd like to add in a simple tutorial / intro.

arcana - this was made with cocos2d.

Thanks for all the feedback!!!

May 4, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Ahh, the rare mac-only game. It is always sad not many people will be able to play.

Still, the screenshot looks nice! :)

May 5, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Awesome graphics, nice sounds and good gameplay. Very good entry! Excellent work!!!

May 12, 2013 @ 9:10am

Loved the graphics, the gameplay is a bit repetitive after a while but that's understandable for an LD... Great job! ^^

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]