April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Awesome Artist

by Zaszx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An avoider game where you need to dodge all the bullets shot at you. Gets harder with time.
A-S or LEFT - RIGHT to move, W or UP to jump / double jump, S or DOWN to crouch.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#702Humor2.04
#906Graphics2.59
#937Theme3.12
#1051Innovation2.38
#1060Fun2.39
#1132Overall2.56
#1147Mood2.17

Comments

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:50am

Did you paint this picture!?

onzephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:52am

I like the idea of the painting detail used as health meter. very creative.

cakemonitor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:09am

I enjoyed this game, especially after the minimalists started using multi-shot patterned attacks. I would have liked for there to be a goal / win condition ... something more than 'delay your inevitable death', maybe use more of the screen and have a win condition if you reach the top.

Some sound effects and/or music would have really helped round it off and also I'm guessing that you didn't create the the artwork yourself and during the 48-hour time limit - so maybe this would have been better suited as a Jam entry?

Overall though it's a good effort - well done :)

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:30am

Other than missing win condition, this was quite nice. :)

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Quite a neat idea... like the character animation, and Bob Ross is always good!

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:58pm

God damned minimalists, ruining fine art! Might have been more engaging if the game was a bit harder and a bit more fast paced - didn't become a challenge for a while for me!

CagedRat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Who gave guns to the minimalists?

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:28am

Not the minimalists!

Really liked the player sprite. ^^

amijlee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:43am

Hehe, didn't like the theme, huh?

May 1, 2013 @ 8:07am

Agree with previous commenters: player sprite is great

AaronYip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:11am

Haha, the painting effects were a very creative touch! I definitely appreciate it more than enough to say that we should be a bit more lenient on the rules for special situations like this, since having an actual painting is a big part of this game's narrative and doesn't really do so for unfair advantages. (:

kyyninen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:21am

Player health presented by background is indeed a very good idea. However I didn't like that player movement was so limited - some way to navigate y-axis would have been nice. Platforms and/or higher jump? Some kind of limited ability to levitate?

brookman32k says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Interesting idea for the minimalism theme. What I liked most is how the background changes and is more and more distorted. But I missed some sound fx.

sudorossy says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:05pm

It wasn't a particularly fun game, but it was very pretty.

Saturnyn says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:52am

Liked the way the picture changes when you lose health. Having some sound fx and a faster gameplay would make the game more dynamic.
Nice work anyway :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]