April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Super Clutter Blaster 2013

by Homletmoo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use your minimalist finesse to clean up the chaotic landscape in this one-button side-scroller.

Tools used:
- Code: Flex 3 + FlashDevelop (Camera quake class by Rolpege)
- Framework: Flashpunk
- Art: GIMP
- Sound: bfxr + freac
- Music: iOS Garageband + Ableton Live 8
- Level editor: OGMO
- Timelapse: Chronolapse

Requires Flash Player.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#119Audio3.53
#210Fun3.42
#291Graphics3.44
#316Overall3.42
#477Humor2.34
#490Mood2.97
#847Theme3.23
#1003Innovation2.47

Comments

Tate says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:15am

Really fun game. Good job!

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:35am

I really, really liked that this game could play itself if you had infinite life. Solid entry :D.

syawqy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:07am

like the art and music

agmcleod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:36pm

What instrument did you use in garageband to make the music?

Homletmoo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Garageband was just for prototyping. I used this VSTi in Ableton Live to produce the final music: http://tweakbench.com/peach , along with some built-in effects and drums.

TheSheep says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Canabaaaalt!

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:59pm

awesome

Rafael Sales says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Good game. Really fun!

TP2k says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Nice Game, reminds me of Bit Trip Runner :)

graytest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Fun game! Liked that I could hold in key to jump further!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Nice "hectic" score attack game!

igrowbeards says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Nice entry. The Graphics and audio were awesome :)

Macroz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Nice game! I would change it a bit less colorful to be more minimalistic but anyway it's a fun game that feels right.

shines says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Had fun playing this. I only got the tie-in to the theme after my first death. Nice work.

Farjuan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Great music and addictive gameplay!

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Love this game very much!, and nice effect with the camera shake

Lianne Booton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Rad art and music, the movement was pretty tight too. Great work :)

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Seen it before, but this is nicely done. Good one!

Nolan C says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:37am

It's a lot of fun. The opening tagline about the toaster already had me sold, and the game was great too.

SpaceStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:00pm

I really liked the game. Nice graphics and audio and overall theme.

Sebastian says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Really liked the background effect. And everything else as well lol, very cool and enjoyable entry!

TheSarcastic says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Awesome graphics, great animation and music/sounds. My problem with it was the jump. Could get tweaked a bit. One of the best I've played so far on this LD.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:32am

Very fun! I really liked the graphics, and definitely the music! Very retro, I like!

marnaouf says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Fun game.

Brassawiking says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Awesome music! Really goes well with beat from the light.

ecool377 says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Fun looking game needs work on the difficulty.

May 17, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Good points:
- Music: Fit the art style well, and the music felt "fun", if you know what I mean
- Art: Dem funky colours
- The fact that if you press a split second after falling off a block, it lets you jump anyway. I imagine this saved me from more frustration than I know
The not so great:
- Shame that it's yet another "Run to the right jump to avoid obstacle games"
- Random level generator felt unfair at times (it may or may not be, but this is what I felt)

All in all though, a solid entry to be proud of!

May 19, 2013 @ 10:31am

Well done and very polished entry. I really enjoyed the music and art, and although the gameplay was a little tired, it was definitely one the more enjoyable entries I've played.

belickim says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:34am

Background music is quite nice; the gameplay is really simple (and obviously far form being innovative), but yet fun and somehow addictive.

Dotanukii says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 6:20am

The graphics are really great looking and the music is wonderful. The game was also very addicting and I played it for quite a bit. Wonderful job!

Xanjos says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Game was quite addictive. I liked the visual style quite a lot and the death animation was actually pretty cool.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]