April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Less is More

by FacticiusVir - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to Less is More!

You'll need .NET 4.5 (http://bit.ly/ZYrRgq) & XNA 4.0R (http://bit.ly/11PKzer) to play this game. Oh, and there's a potato in there, too.

In this game, you are the boss of a brand new interplanetary trading company. You've just bought your first ship, and it can ship anything anywhere.
The problem is, it can't carry much, and it flies very slowly.

If you could buy a more specialised ship, it would carry more and go faster.

But that makes them very expensive.
So expensive, no-one has ever been able to buy a ship that only carries one kind of cargo.
So that's what you're going to do!

Each planet on the map trades mainly in two goods: an import and an export. Buys Exports cheaply, and sell Imports for lots of profit!

Click on the planet with your ship in orbit to go to the trade screen, where you can buy or sell goods.
From that screen, you can also leave orbit, and select a new planet to travel to.

When you have enough money, go to the shop to buy new ships to add to your fleet.
In the shop, select the goods you don't think you'll want to trade to increase the capacity of the others.

Remember, the less cargo types a ship carries, the more it can carry, the faster it goes, but the more it costs!

You can also press M to pause the music at any time.
Press Escape to go back from some screens.

You can only have one ship in orbit of a planet at once - other ships will queue up for it to leave before they can trade.

And always remember-
Less is More!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#696Mood2.74
#785Audio2.30
#791Humor1.93
#807Fun2.71
#912Innovation2.63
#914Overall2.83
#1080Theme2.92
#1224Graphics2.09

Comments

puttputt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Felt like I was playing a text based Freelancer :D

berkano says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:31pm

I'm having problems clicking on the Buy/Sell screen, and some of the buttons don't seem to work properly :-( Shame because I love space traders!! Bookmarking this in case you find a way to fix it!

FacticiusVir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Which buttons aren't working?

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Resolution is too high for my laptop. Can only see the bottom 2/3 of the screen and can't move the window :( Will try from my desktop machine and rate later.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:20pm

I don't have windows.

berkano says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:30pm

@FacticiusVir I ran it again and it's working!

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Nice game :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Interesting game concept. I felt a bit overwhelmed by all the text and choices of what to buy, maybe it would have been better to focus on only a few things. I eventually sort of figured out how to play but the screen flickering and music were kind of distracting.

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:01pm

First of all I loved this game so that is the only reason I'm being so critical! All it really needs is more complex economy with larger (procedurally generated) universe, fuel to limit how far you can travel and maybe some missions.

It would be nice if the export / import goods were marked clearly in the trading screen.

Often I would press the 'Back' button instead of the 'Leave Orbit' and then wonder why I could not travel to another planet.

Needs 'Buy Max' and 'Sell All' -buttons.

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Nice game! There needs to be some sort of variation among the prices (but I know there's only so much time to work with). I really like the planet names, are they randomly generated?

theGiallo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:34pm

I have windows 7 and it crashes without even starting. :(

FacticiusVir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Be sure to check if you have .NET 4.5 & XNA 4 (Refresh) installed - there's links in the description at the top of this page.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:59pm

+Screenshot reminded me of MOO2
+Simple and effective

-The interface is a bit clunky.
-FPS oddly unstable
-No fullscreen support
-Weird resolution

FacticiusVir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:02pm

@KilledByAPixel - yeah, I get that; I just came up with a list of trade goods and kind of stuck with it, didn't spend enough time working on that area of game balance.

@CMayhem - Thanks! The economy is simplified to guarantee that the random universe would never leave you stuck in a position you couldn't make money from, but with more structure to the universe generation I could probably plan the economy better. The next items on my ToDo list, after sound effects, where limiting travel distances & and a Buy Max button!

@cahman - Yup, the economy is very flat, so there's a lot of scope for improvement there. The planet name generator was thrown together in the five minutes before the competition ended, and combines 2-4 random syllables from a set containing all combinations of a consonant and a vowel - code is here http://bit.ly/11RnAzx

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Can't actually run it for some reason? Either the program doesn't open or if it does it immediately crashes. Using Windows 7 64 bit if that helps any.

FacticiusVir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:04pm

@HuvaaKoodia - Fullscreen was interfering with streaming to Twitch, so that was a casualty of my vanity, I'm afraid!

FacticiusVir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:15pm

As a few people have mentioned a crash on start-up, I've uploaded a new version with a crash-report dialog; if you don't see that appear and it still crashes, it's almost certainly that you've not got the right version of .NET

May 2, 2013 @ 4:19am

Sadly it's not working for Win32-versions. :(

May 2, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Pretty ambition for an LD. Made me want to play Black Market.

kddekadenz says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:26am

Fails to emulated under Linux using Wine.

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:32pm

The UI could have done with some work. I know it was supposed to be minimal, but it was hard to discern between what you interacted with, and what you couldn't.

manax says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Nice idea, captured the essence of space trading games. Clever victory condition. :)

Yes, a Buy All would have been nice. It took me a bit to figure out the interface, didn't realize the "Shop" button meant "buy a ship". Took a bit to figure out that I could click on the cargo types, to configure the ship. For a while I had several ships flying around with all cargo types... until I realized.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]