April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Colourless: The Deeds Of Evil Mr. Mono!

by bb_buster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Edit: compiled under the jre 6 so it should now work with java 6+ though you may still need to update that to latest. but in theory should work with macs =D

Further Edit: I've added a separate version for optimisation. This version draws less chunks than the previous one so I hope it helps the rendering issue, also added some fog to it to make it seem smoother

Well Evil Mr. Mono has stolen all your colours. Find them and defeat Evil Mr. Mono

The level is randomly generated as is the position of the pickups.

Use WASD keys to move forward/back and to turn left/right
when you pick up a colour you can press SpaceBar to fire it at Evil Mr. Mono

change colour (once you've picked) it up by pressing the number keys.

1 - Red colour
2- Green colour
3 - Blue colour
4 - White colour - also you can't fire white blocks

Fire one of each of the 3 colours at Evil Mr. Mono to defeat him

So this is my first LD and I think its gone all right =D

This game was built in Java using the lwjgl libraries

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#901Theme3.17
#951Innovation2.57
#1095Graphics2.30
#1182Mood2.06
#1247Overall2.35
#1299Fun1.78
#1619Coolness36%

Comments

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Interesting game and concept.

M0N0QUARTZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Your game doesn't work on Mac :(

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Game is very slow and sluggish, not sure if it's intended or if it's low FPS on my machine... I found it pretty boring, honestly :(

bb_buster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:54pm

@M0N0QUARTZ do you have java 7+ installed, as I think it may be an issue with the jre being a different version. Otherwise I'm not sure why, sorry for that :(

@Morgwar it didn't feel slow when testing and the screen is set to a 60fps sync. Thanks for bringing this to my attention though. Next time I'll try improve on render optimization. Thanks for playing and leaving feedback. Its appreciated :)

shohs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:15pm

I wasn't able to play it because of the low frame rate on my computer. Sorry.

ratboy2713 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:52pm

I've also had an issue with low frame rate. I'll wait to rate it until I can test it at the proper speed.

robcozzens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:53am

Interesting idea and cool graphics and stuff, but not being able to strafe makes it too frustrating for me.

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:49pm

I couldn't find the evil guy, and the first time I played it I got an instant game over. I like how the colours follow your path though

f7f5 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:22pm

I also couldn't find the evil guy, and had no idea what I was supposed to do after picking all the colours. Frame rate was fine. Being able to walk on the void was pretty cool, but I'm not sure it was intended :)

Orni says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:06am

look & feel are nice, but I couldn't find the bad guy so I kept running around and painted the level

fun game anyway :)

wallmasterr says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Ye ran realy slow on my pc too, and got confused that the color block was at the top , i thought the gravity had broke , that colored cube should be the player on the ground :P

wallmasterr says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 2:05pm

the update is sooo much faster but cant see where your going

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]