April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cubic

by DalsGames - Jam Entry

Cubic
A small and minimalistic game with the goal to come as far as possible.
There are two types of game modes, the normal and the one with the twist.

Controlls:
Use the Arrow keys/ W&S

*Be aware that hitting the walls will also kill you.

During the development of this game we aimed for a simple but yet fun arcade styled game.

All the assets used in the game was created on the spot during the JAM, most notably the awesome music.

Developed by EvaD Interactives which are:
Victor - Music and Sound Ninja
Erik - Art and Game Designer
David - Programmer
Andreas - Programmer


It would be fun if you included your score in the comments :) Our highest during development was 900 points!


See you all next time :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#116Fun(Jam)3.33
#136Audio(Jam)3.39
#184Theme(Jam)3.52
#251Overall(Jam)3.19
#352Mood(Jam)2.69
#356Humor(Jam)1.84
#467Innovation(Jam)2.28
#470Graphics(Jam)2.45

Comments

ThirteenWB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Getting the error: Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/evad/main/GameStateHandler : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
:/
Looks like a fun game, I'll check back in a bit :)

DalsGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:14pm

What platform?

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Argh! 616 points! Fun little game, good job. I really liked the background music :)

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:25pm

I like the music, it was pretty fun.

nurabsal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:28pm

occasionally exploded for no reason. otherwise good work!

LostDatagram says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Really like playing this, thanks!

MauMaGau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:29pm

580 points. Awesome music, really makes the game. Gets the adrenaline going!

Meep says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:31pm

A nice little obstacle avoiding game. :)

EggDestroyer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Reached 606 points on level 1, something around 350 on level 2. Smooth game, excellent music :)

I find the difficulty curve a bit low from 0 to 300, maybe you should reduce the length ? Plus I think I'll never ever be able to go "left & right" with "up & down" keys with a rotation, too bad you didn't include those keys as extra input !

But good fun :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:41pm

The music fits the level perfectly !

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:26pm

fun game, it's simple and it works that way!

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Nice game! Was pretty fun :)

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Progressive difficulty, good song and well suited to the theme. A good mix !

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Nice game, really liked flow of the levels.

I use the Windows download but I think the game had a very low frame rate. Still 100% playable though.

DalsGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:53pm

@nurabsal Hrmm wierd. You did not accidentally run up in the roof or floor then?
@EggDestroyer Yes we had wild discussions about that, but we decided to go for the easy part anyway. About the keys, yes we really should have added that!
@Dir3kt The fps during the menu is very low for some reason however when you are playing the game I at least have around 4000 fps. You can toggle the debug with F2.

To all other, Thanks for the great response and fun to see all the score. Keep em coming :D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Nice game. Fits the theme. I enjoyed it.

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Basic & nice game to play when listening the awesome music. :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:29pm

The debug displayed about 4k FPS, but somehow the movement still seemed laggy :/

The game is quite fun otherwise, especially the soundtrack was hittin'! (:

Good job! ~

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:35pm

647 points :) I love how energetic the game feels through the movement and music. Is the map randomly generated? It feels like the series of obstacles is the same, so is there a theoretical best score you can get that ends the game?

DalsGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:02pm

@semi Good job! Nope it is a static map. I would like to implement a randomly generated mode but during the jam we went with 2 static maps instead. Yes there are a ending to both levels however I do not know if it either are beatable ;)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Thx for all the nice comments on the music!! :)

SpaceStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Really liked the game's overall style and gameplay. Nice job!

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:52am

Love the music! Gameplay is a proven formula for fun... May not be the first game to do this but it is still is fun to play.

Siewart says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:00am

Besides some invisible walls (I died randomly when there were no blocks on my screen) I had fun :D

My pc crashed (probably video drivers) after trying to close the game.

May 2, 2013 @ 11:41am

599. For some reason there was no sound at all here (speakers are on, sound works, but the game was completely silent - console said something about OpenAL Null pointer exception) and the menu was running at 2 FPS. The game itself played rather well though, simple and fun.

intripoon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:38am

Never got to a twist. Also crashed for me after a while, firefox hanging, music kept playing after killing it. :/

Are says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:41am

Very nice game! 606 points ;)

Clavus says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Was ok, nothing too earth shattering in terms of gameplay or graphics though. Music was nice.

Gremlin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:29pm

A minimalistic approach to an endless runner. Good music.

I almost want a little more visual feedback when the block moves, like a simple animation or something...though it'd have to be purely visual so that it wouldn't affect the tight gameplay.

When it said rotation, I thought the screen might start smoothly rotating around 360 degrees. Something like Super Hexagon, maybe.

May 20, 2013 @ 8:37pm

This was pretty cool and well done, it wouldn't have been as appealing if the song wasn't so good, it was fun to listen and fit very well.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]