April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal Force

by Madball - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An adventure game, where you start with lots of equipment, and throw out a thing a level.
"R" to reset level

I submittes a "Slightly better version". It doesn't add anything new, so I think it can be in competition. Here is a complete change list: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/04/30/minimal-force-a-slightly-better-version/
I left the original version just in case

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#357Audio3.03
#434Humor2.41
#618Fun2.92
#651Mood2.78
#721Overall3.00
#855Innovation2.73
#937Theme3.12
#1080Graphics2.32

Comments

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:33am

Despite some execution problems the idea is pretty interesting. Although I couldn't pass the level after I lose the shield. ;_;

paranoiks says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:46am

Awesome game with great ideas. Loved the boss fight :D :D

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:33am

Cute little game, really like the art :)

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:44am

I really liked it! At first I have to say I thought it was just a normal platformer, but then I realized that it's actually a really nice physics puzzle game.

Follett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:47am

Really liked the audio! It was great.

Uhfgood says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:00am

I didn't see any shield. It's kind of interesting.

leeowen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:56am

very good game, had a problem on where I can't go left but that it's a good idea

DkCub23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:56am

I like the creative aspect on the player's side. I definitely would not have gotten past some of those levels without the hints, though.

William Bundy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:38am

It's not bad. The graphics are servicable (certainly minimal) but convey the setting, the phsyics is so-so (consider using real inertia rather than simple side-to-side motion for player controls), but at least the avatar doesn't go flying off if he hits the corner of a block. This isn't the first time I've seen this concept (look up Tower of Heaven) but it fits the theme and works well with the adventure setting. The music was good, but that probably speaks to the quality of Abundant Music. Sound effects were less impressive, sfxr is good, but I ran into a problem that sounds like what is happening here: the silence at the end of the clip meant that the sound wasn't replaying every time. Thankfully that's an easy fix in audacity. Level design was lacking at times; some levels were plain frustrating (looking at you "can't go left") while others were comparatively easy (boss battle). Also I didn't see anywhere in game telling me that pressing "r" restarts the level. I found that out by pressing every button on my keyboard. :(

RyanK says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:58am

Not bad at all. Just some small things: When we reach the end of a level, pop up a "loading" message or something. It just freezes for about a second. IMO, for the controls, arrow keys + mouse is a bad idea since they're both on the same side of your keyboard. I suggest WASD instead. Other than that, good game.

Yezu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Music fits perfectly the setting :) Overall fun :)

Nolojen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:04pm

nice work, I like the features you included

reustonium says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:38pm

I really liked the sound, the gameplay was well thought out and fun as well. As a prototype the simple block-style map works, but I'd really like to see this game made with nicer graphics.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Funny little adventure but the choices of control keys OMG. The music is fine.

Andy Go says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:54pm

I liked the sound a lot :)
Nice work

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Nice game, not the best of animations around, but still ok. Music was fitting, if a little short... Gameplay is good, I especially liked the way you can shoot an enemy full of arrows. I also like the game mechanics of giving away stuff "because I'm such a great knight, I can do it with a hand tied behind my back...!", thats cool. At first I didn't understand what it means to give away the left button... then I lol'ed !:)

Magewalkr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:53pm

lolol it was cool

Magewalkr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:54pm

I liked it :D

ilo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:05am

Some nice puzzle ideas expressed here. I got stuck on a level where I felt I was using the correct method (using the shield so zombies would push me left) but it didn't work reliably. Those archers were very annoying too. :)

raincole says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:13am

The puzzles are interesting. It takes a little long to load next screen.

lasergans says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:17am

nice game with a lot of features.

loxo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:07am

Great concept and nice graphics. It feels complete and it's fun to play.

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:33pm

the movement makes this game very wonky to play. Nice work tough :)

Catman says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:38am

Nice game, the puzzles are well designed!

May 4, 2013 @ 5:39pm

My main problem with this game is that the writing, while not terrible, has a part of grammatical mistakes (for example, it should be spelled "Cyclops"). Just read more English and you'll get the hang of it. Also, the graphics felt a bit sloppy; for example, the walking animation continuing even when the knight is standing still. And a "shield" animation would have been nice. I understand you probably didn't have time for such details, but it might be something for future versions.

Apart from those nitpicks, however, the gameplay is great. The core concept is original, and you've come up with some great puzzles here. It's just challenging enough.

In short, graphics and writing are nothing special, but great idea, gameplay and humour.

SPOILERS

The endgame is a very good puzzle. I'm quite relieved that the Cyclops didn't regain health when my character died.

And the ending... well, that's by far the funniest thing I've seen in this compo so far, and I'd be surprised if I come across anything funnier.

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:42pm

It has a lot of potential, but seemed lacking in its execution.

bvanschooten says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:46pm

I completed the game. There's something about this game that keeps me want to play to the end. The text works to create a story. Though I completed each level through what seemed more luck than skill, it was an enjoyable experience. I would have preferred to have more colours than brown though.

May 5, 2013 @ 12:57am

I just realised that I made some weird typoes in my comment while criticising your writing. "a part of grammatical mistakes"? Bad, Chris, very bad.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Nice game. Immersive story and challenging enemies. In my opinion to make a great platform game you need to invest a lot of time to polish the movement and I missed that on your game. Congratz anyway!

YSelf Tool says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Noone killed me after loosing my left button.

TurboDindon says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:54am

Cool game. Character movements are a little bit slow (not very reactive).
It's fun to shoot with the arc (but it's not very practical to switch keyboard to the mouse).
I was blocked in the dungeon because of the disabled button left... impossible to restart the map after a fail.
What a pity there is no visual feedback when using shield with down key. :)

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

lorancou says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Challenging when you lose your left arrow .. Good entry !

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:48pm

I don't like the jump, else it's nice.

BrothersT says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 5:59pm

This is the third iteration of this idea that I've seen these games and I have to say that some of your ideas are much more interesting than the other games I've seen. I especially like the loss of the left button. I like the music too and you've clearly put a lot of thought into the puzzles.

I think that hints are a really bad way to go in games. Especially if the hint is something that you actually are unlikely to find out on your own and need to know to complete the game.

For example on the level where you lose your left key it would be very useful to know that you can destroy arrows with your sword - you wouldn't just think to do it because in real life you wouldn't think to just swipe an arrow out of midair with a sword. It wouldn't work in real life so why should it work or be the obvious thing to do in a game? I discovered you could do it purely by accident, and it's not satisfying when you discover something by accident, I want to find it out by thinking! :)

However, the hint that you can destroy arrows with your sword comes in the level after, which tells me that you don't actually need it on the level where you lose your left key. But as I tried for about 20 minutes to complete the level without using my sword, I can safely say that without the sword your only hope is to run up as fast as you can, over and over again and hope that once you get to the top the zombie and the archer won't hit you back down.

I would suggest showing an NPC swiping an arrow out of the way, so you'd think to do the same yourself, or create an impossible situation where it's very clear that you're not going to get past the arrows without trying something else. Alternatively you could just tell the player you can hit arrows instead of hiding it in a hint box!

Also the boss was kind of tricky because there didn't seem to be anything I could do get the archer to aim at the boss - he seemed to just aim straight for me, no matter how close I managed to get to the boss, and when he did hit the boss it seemed to be random.

Oh I liked the shield too! I really had fun playing the game apart from when there didn't seem to be anything I could do apart from try the same thing over and over!

Thanks for playing our game! I left a reply to your comment if you'd like to see it.

Cheers!
Rob

GreyShock says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Wow, I really liked the design of the levels. You managed to create a different game experience on every stage! congrats!

Dir3kt says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Was skeptic at beginning but it ended up being a cool game :)

Oye Beto says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:25am

My comments while playing the original version:

- Interesting mechanics, but the controls are very uncomfortable
- The part where you can't move left was hard! I bounced and the enemy moved me to the right instead of left.
- I have a problem with my keyboard because it can't detect when I press 3 keys at the same time. The keyboard has some areas and only some combinations doesn't work. The level where I lost my armor is very difficult because I can't press Right+up+space bar ah the same time. This is very useful: http://www.microsoft.com/appliedsciences/content/projects/KeyboardGhostingDemo.aspx
- I like the hints being optional
- Clever puzzles!
- I beated the boss :D
- I liked the music
- I can see the minimalism on the theme.

This game is great. Loved the end.
I hope you place high on the rankings :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]