April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Square - By Suese

by Suese - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An action beat-em-up.

Keyboard Controls:

W,A,S,D - Move
K - Jump
J - Attack

With minimalism as the theme I figured lots of people would be making a game about a little red square this Ludum Dare.

I figured "why should I be any different".

Here is my entry: The Square.

Enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#63Humor3.59
#102Audio3.58
#107Graphics3.90
#260Overall3.48
#274Mood3.23
#332Fun3.23
#855Innovation2.73
#901Theme3.17

Comments

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:28am

Yeah right :D I like it. I make a game about square too.

dscripps says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:31am

Wow! I'm very impressed and addicted to your game.

shama says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:31am

Awesome intro. +1 kittens. :D

StuStutheBloo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34am

Haha, really liked this one. Lots of polish. Attacking was awkward though because it canceled your attack when you let go of the button. Solid!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23am

Awesome music!

acronaut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:09am

Nice twist of intro. Hilarious character design! tricky to attack (most likely get hit by enemy than inflicting damage scott-free).

skwirl3014 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:21am

This is really nice and polished

bobo72a says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:30am

Great entry! One of my favorites so far.

Orni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:50am

fun game!
the surprise one gets after the intro is priceless (I was expecting a platformer). by the way - the character is a square wearing pants ... I might have seen its yellow cousin somewhere ;)

cool idea, well done

lpcustom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:12am

The one thing I like about this theme is that I'm seeing a lot of good minimalist graphics. This one has great graphics even though they look simple, they are complex at the same time. Good work!

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:07am

Great intro, the collision feels kinda weird, and you can't be hit by a enemy several times without you having a chance to move so that's pretty annoying though.

Hadyn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:13am

Great style, polish and sense of humor. Gameplay is fun enough, though the attack feels a little limited and the enemies aren't overly challenging. Still, I like what you've done with the theme!

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:14am

Really great, mate. Only one complaint, the birds are annoying.

Andrio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:15am

Funny intro :)

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:31am

That is quite the character :) Fitting audio selection, goes well with the retro look / gameplay.

Infin8 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:38am

Awesome. I love procedurally generated games. Here's one I can add to the list, a beat em up. Just having a delay in the attack animation makes it so much more fun.

unclejunkie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Nice game, I've slaughtered the whole army of evil worms and bees!

Colapsydo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Nice surprise and nice character animation.
Is there a particular reason that you choose not to make the attack automatic?

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:54pm

This was really cute!

Puzzlem00n says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Wow, haha, not bad, not bad, wasn't expecting that after the intro! Pretty funny, I guess. Although, I agree with everyone on the attacking- I just kept hitting the button wondering why nothing was happening at first.

skwirl3014 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:01pm

This is pretty good

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:31pm

The range of the sword doesn't go far past the body, so I figured I had to make the swords 'attack' region slightly ahead of the character.

I had the attack 'automatic' but it really made it feel hokey being forced into the entire animation on the tiniest little tap.

If you think it's too easy try 'death-sandwich'
If you think it's too hard try 'easy' :)

Thanks for all the encouraging comments.

Kom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:10am

Apart from the flying enemies being able to hit you when they don't appear to be close enough depth-wise, this is reasonably fun and is of a quality that one does not often see in a Ludum Dare entry.

toonheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:18am

I see headless snakes... Love it Love it.

Done rating.

Please do show some love on my game too :)
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=rate&uid=21211

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:03am

And then it was a diamond :) Simple game made tougher with the delayed attack animation. Quite funny, too XD

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:07am

This is a game I could spend hours playing trying to get better at. ... And I'd probably still suck :P Brilliant concept, hilarious implementation, and I loved the potatoes dropping from the birds (when I could kill them that is, because, let's be honest: that was hard. That was very, very hard.)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:43am

Nice parody of the theme in the intro :P Also quite fun, though took me a few tries to figure out you have to hold the attack button.

syawqy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:15am

nice art
but collision feel a bit weird

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:47am

Nice surprise with the intro! I love the graphics, plenty of personality into each creature. I have to agree that it was kinda hard to tell if you're able to hit enemies.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:53am

Liked the visual style and the music. Really disliked the attack and having to hold the attack key down vs just tapping it once?

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:48am

Funny intro. good job. But It's difficult to attack bird.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:01pm

You got me! I was expecting yet another 'block' game and then BOOOOOM you hit me with the art change! I hate those birds, though. I can't hit them when they're on another plane, but they can hit me. I hate them for that! Great job with the art and sound. Nice interpretation of theme!

zatyka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:06pm

I really liked this one. Great surprise opening, and fun game play. Nice job!

kunzbe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:55pm

the intro was really neat, especially the clash of style.
i would have liked this style element more if used it again later in the game

Hayawi says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:28am

Nice game, I really liked the intro :D

vinull says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:32am

Other than the slow swing of the sword, everything about this game is great. I love the music and the art style!

May 2, 2013 @ 2:45am

Beautiful animations! Clever intro! Excellent Music!

Hard to know where the enemies are. Looking down at the shadows felt unintuitive and awkward. And attacking was difficult. I didn't like holding the attack button to attack. I would rather just tap it to attack.

But fun overall.

ecool377 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:51am

Perfect, great game suprised you finished it in 48 hours to tell the truth.

Rose says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:01am

Cute intro. :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:51am

Great game! I love the screen effect

Tanius says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:41am

lol great graphics & music. Is it normal that in order to attack i have to long press j, right?

jacklehamster says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:27am

Nice graphics! I wish I didn't first see the screenshot from the post though, it would have been a nice surprise. I would have tried this game after the intro anyway.

May 2, 2013 @ 11:12am

Nice intro! Attacking was really hard though. May have to tweak that. But overall quite nice!

Jiggawatt says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:39am

Doesn't do much, but does it decently.

Clumsiness in the form of unskippable text and awkward attacks/collisions. The player character it animated all right, everything else looks programmer arty. A bit heavy on the scanlines, don't you think?

May 2, 2013 @ 8:50pm

The Intro is great :D

Also nice work on the music. The game itself turns out to be somewhat difficult.

Suese says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Everyone's gone soft. Games in my day were HARD.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:28pm

The intro is funny. Good job.

Covenant says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:12am

Top notch visuals! The attack control was a bit hard getting used to it, and never much fun because of it... Other than that, great job!

Ithildin says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Nice game! The intro was really funny =)

Also, I enjoyed the art and music. About the gameplay, the attack could have been a bit more fluid, but it was fun nonetheless. Good job! :D

MrShoestore says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:32am

that is such a cool way to do graphics man... in a weird way the game reminds me of that old genny/snes pacman game were he walks around on an adventure... dont know why... wonder if i still have that... *off to dig through boxes*

Suese says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:00am

It totally reminded me of Pacland too. I was going for the cheap SNES game feel.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:23am

reminded me of pac-land for some reason -- nice job -- whats with the kitties?

whiteravens says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:44pm

I like the art :), though the mine placement are confusing at times.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: using cached page]