April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Declutter

by De10ter - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Declutter!

Description:
Our little friend has too much stuff cluttering up his life, help him out, remove as many as you can but leave the little guy enough to stand on.

Gameplay:
Click to remove blocks.
Any unsupported blocks will also fall.
Chain reactions get more points.

Notes/Known bugs:
Had planned to have the game recognize if/when you've reached a minimum number of blocks, however the winding nature of the blocks causing interdependancies meant this didn't make it :/
The time it takes to build a new board is a bit excessive (about 10-15 seconds normally).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#284Humor2.68
#316Innovation3.43
#382Overall3.34
#383Fun3.17
#498Theme3.59
#531Mood2.91
#694Audio2.46
#853Graphics2.66
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

Cybearg says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Boy, those chain reactions are satisfying! Makes me feel boss to see all those pieces go!

I wonder, though--is there really any challenge to the game? For me, I had to clear out all the bottom row blocks because they wouldn't fall out on their own, but once I'd cleared out the bottom row, I was pretty much guaranteed to have a chain reaction that took out everything, so where is the challenge if it's just a matter of clicking the bottom blocks?

Also, personally I didn't care much for the look of the game at all. It's a kind of awkward mix of MS Paint-style cartoon and a semi-bevelled look for the interlocking blocks with a bunch of rather unpleasant colors put together. I think that shooting for a bold 2D look with just a handful of colors without the bevel and without the South Park-looking MS Paint kid would be more visually appealing.

So, as I said, the game was satisfying because of the combos, but I wonder if they aren't pretty much impossible to NOT get.

De10ter says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:18pm

@Cybearg
The chalenge lies in NOT destroying the 'right' blocks :)
Letting the little guy fall takes all your points.
That said, it's not a very challenging game.

jerombd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:19pm

I like the concept!
Maybe add a countdown could spice up a little the gameplay.

muton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:30am

I like it, though it is a bit easy.. If it used a physics model and the pieces had mass (so there's balance/toppling & leverage to take into account) it'd be trickier. It has a possible future. :)

chrismcr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:20am

I love that the guy's head explodes when he falls. Gratuitous violence FTW

Wilson says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:22am

Nice concept, with very satisfying chain reactions - the sound for that is great! That said it is quite easy if you just knock out all the blocks either side of a tower leading to the guy, then take out the floor blocks - maybe not the best way to the highest score per level though I guess, but since the aim is to complete as many levels as possible without failing, there's no real motivation to get the highest score per level.

May 2, 2013 @ 7:47am

Great concept. I wish i had ability to destroy other blocks, while chain reaction is still going

May 5, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Cool game idea, works out to be a bit to easy but you can add stuff to fix that. Maybe instead of 1 guy there are several scattered around. Or maybe instead of choosing any piece you have to pick one that matches a randomly chosen color.

Fnkee says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Fascinating game. Just add some more challenge to the game. Making the combos could be part of that challenge. I would love to see you add special blocks, as you mentioned. Good job on this!

daniel2357 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Great concept . Can you win? i've made it to 3 blocks . nice game!

MinionStudios says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 4:46pm

I love it! The mechanics are fun, but ultimately it is very simple to win.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]