April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

City-States

by recursive frog - Jam Entry

::About::

City-States is a strategy-based card game for 2 - 4 players. There's also a video game version if you'd like to play it on a screen. It's multplayer, but single-screen at the moment.

I worked solo on this, even though it was a Jam entry. I used proprietary libraries from the Unity Asset Store, and as such could not include source.

I'd urge you to give the actual physical card game a shot. There's a certain atmosphere you get from playing it at a table, with cards and tokens as it was conceived, rather than on a screen. If you would like to play the digital version and rate me based on that, by all means do so. :)

::Backstory::

"For centuries, a dozen city-states have vied for supremacy over the small island. This has all come to a head recently though, as a few particularly powerful rivals have emerged. Their conflicts are soon to be the fodder of legends."

Will you be a military leader, taking your enemies by force?
Will your shadowy secret society scheme their way to the throne?
Will your merchants and traders bleed your enemies dry of resources?
Will your abundant harvests and desirable land bring fortune and followers to your command?

Who will prevail?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#191Innovation(Jam)3.23
#342Mood(Jam)2.72
#367Overall(Jam)2.88
#374Fun(Jam)2.64
#374Humor(Jam)1.71
#375Graphics(Jam)2.82
#441Theme(Jam)2.73
#448Audio(Jam)1.64

Comments

Lizzip says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:18am

Interesting idea

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:07am

With a PDF to print them out? Nice work!

dark_hunter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:42am

Very interesting idea with the cards!

raincole says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:22am

It's a good idea to make to board game

myachin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:46am

hi! good game.

but it's unbalanced for me. i played 2-player-version. very high dispersion! start combination on 95% defines who will win. we played about 15 games and changed rules for more strategic style of game:

- 36-cards instead 52 ( ace = 5, 6,7,8,9,10 )
- margin of victory is divided by 6 (instead 2)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Thanks for the detailed feedback myachin! The 2-player version with the original rules did bother me a bit but I didn't want to make multiple rule sets for different numbers of players. I'll give this a try.

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Great card concept

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:15pm

I give all analog games full points. Good work.

nixeldev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:28am

Great concept, I'm a fan of tabletop games and enjoyed this :)

tiffi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:15am

love the tabletop entrys cool idea

caranha says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Cool idea! This sounds like a fun quick card game, although a bit completely unbalanced ;-)

I won't have the chance to play with 3-4 people in a while, but it seems to me that the initial random setup has a very large influence in the game - how often do you get games that already start "won" or "lost"?

The game description in the manual is really good, but there is one thing sorely missing: The winning condition! Following the game description, it becomes obvious that the win/lose condition is to reduce an opponent's weakness to 0, but I really think that the winning condition of a game should be one of the first things spelled out in the game's manual!

I'll be sure to try this next time I'm on a party and report on the results :-) Cheers!

littleball says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:53pm

It's good to see a game that extends the reach of the computer!
The coded part of the game runs nice and smoothly. Let's see if I can get some of my friends to learn how to play...

cakemonitor says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:51am

Great to see a card game in Ludum Dare and I really like your implementation of the 3D card table! I think your computerised version needs a tutorial of some sort as it was quite confusing. But overall great work :)

TehSkull says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:55am

I like the idea of an analog LD game, but thanks for offering a Unity version to try out.

This seems like a very difficult game to keep track of on an actual table. I'd need a pen and paper or something.

May 2, 2013 @ 7:03am

TehSkull : It's pretty easy to track on a table, much moreso than in the computer game. I think I know a small adjustment that would make it easier to visualize but will have to wait to try it out with more people..

Shigor says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:22am

Good idea. Very good idea, although it's not very balanced and too much depends on the starting hand players gets. Hadn't tried the more player version which would be probably a bit better, but good idea anyway (and these kinds of games usually suck when you have only two players anyway)

dremelofdeath says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:31am

Very interesting concept. The starting hands seem to unbalance the game a little, but overall, great work!

Madball says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Wow. I saw several game concepts in the LD, but this is the only one with a computer version. Well done.
Sometimes, when picking a cards to resolve a conflict, the picked card isn't shown. Also, I would like to see tokens and signs "Player 1" etc... on the table, not in corners.

runonthespot says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Impressed to see a card game implemented in Unity - technically I'm quite interested in how you model it internally. The game itself is interesting too, but I see the imbalance comments echo my own experience (admittedly only a couple of games). Nice variation from the usual LD fare :)

alexanderm006 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:10pm

I like it, no one to play with :'(

May 6, 2013 @ 4:48am

Great card game concept - I appreciate you creating the web version for a quick test run. It may be a tad complex without a game board or stat-keeping resource of some kind when played in person, but I'll have to try it out!

bigbadwofl says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:30am

Pretty neat. Well done.

Thanks for taking the time to play my game! Btw, copied from the rules section of the site: 'Source code must be included'. I'm pretty sure I'm not required to upload content other than that.

MinionStudios says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 12:07am

Fun game! Very original!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]