Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 26

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hexagion - Drabiter - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Fill area with your colorful hexagonal tiles in limited time. Red, Green, and Blue tile will split into 3, 4, and 5 random tiles respectively. Have no 6 tiles in one spot or lose.

One sound, one sprite, one color palette, one rule, one mission. Is it minimal enough? :)

Not mistaken by Super Hexagon. There is JAR link so no need to extract. Enjoy!

NOTE:
[Android] I want to make post-compo version of this so it's recommenced to install from Google Play (link above) so you will get the update soon. :)
[Web HTML5] The port is kinda unstable, but it won't crash. It has no sound and some random bugs.

View Drabiter's journal. | View all entries by Drabiter

Ratings

Coolness59%
#608Innovation3.06
#722Theme3.37
#817Fun2.70
#889Audio2.11
#890Graphics2.61
#908Humor1.78
#1027Overall2.70
#1097Mood2.26

Comments

uprightpath says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25am

It's pretty minimal! I just wish that there had been an extra to turn off the sound to it. That one was actually painful to my ears!

Phased says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:31am

run-windows does not work, you have it pointing to game.jar. managed to get 96% of the screen covered.

Drabiter says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:23am

@uprightpath
Noted.

@Phased
Thanks for the info. It's fixed now :)

ThirteenWB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:30pm

That was surprisingly fun actually.
Having the percentage there really gives you something to aim for, although I think my 78% in 15 seconds in kinda pathetic to 96% but oh well.
That was a well made game, good job! :)

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:35pm

A nice little game, good work. One note though, the OSX readme still points to game.jar, but it isn't that bad.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

it sure is minimalistic ! I'm crap at this type of game, but it's a nice one! ;)

Drabiter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:58am

@ThirteenWB
Thanks! your game is good too!

@Merkoth
Yeah sorry, forgot to rename the jar name when exporting.

@orangepascal
I'm crap on your game too, wasting lot time to figure out :) I had to strain myself to keep this minimal.

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Sorry, but what are the controls?

shines says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Like the written concept, but only could try the web port and I kept getting one gray hexagon and the timer without being able to add/split anything.

Shigor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:28am

Web version doesn't work (chrome), doesn't react on anything.
Jar version works, interesting concept.

Drabiter says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:50am

@xgeovanni
Mouse click :) Click on the hex tiles so it'll disappear and summon new tiles around. Watch out for the tile stack numbers.

@shines
Yeah sorry. The web port is kinda buggy and unstable. I suggest to try the download version.

@Shigor
Thanks for trying. Fixing the web port :)

vandriver says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:22am

Pretty fun, though the sound was a bit grating. I keep seeing all these great minimal games and thinking how much strategy could be added. There's a lot of room to slow this game down and make it tougher, I think. Still entertaining as is, though!

Blinked says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Very fun. Nails the theme well. Quite colorful, i like it :)

Drabiter says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:59am

@vandriver
Yeah you're right. Gonna imrpove it. Thanks! :)

@Blinked
Thanks for playing! :)

May 2, 2013 @ 7:53am

Interesting concept. Web version seems busted, can't click. Instructions within game or on game page would be helpful.

Drabiter says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:53pm

@Dark Acre Jack
Thanks. The HTML5 is still buggy, still spending time to fix it.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:40am

Not rated so far, web version broken. Can click to select level, but not click within level. Using Chrome Version "26.0.1410.64 m" on Windows 7. No similar problem with other GL apps

Drabiter says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:53pm

@mrexcessive
Yeah the HTML5 version is not my primary platform. The game itself is for desktop and android. I hope you can play those version for rate. Thanks for trying.

Markavian says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:34am

Android version played well.

Drabiter says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:34pm

@Markavian
Thanks for trying the Android version :)

littleball says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:09pm

This is interesting. I took a similar approach to my game, although it turned out quite different.

I couldn't get the Mac version running, but it plays great on my Android. I look forward to seeing the updated version!

juaxix says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:30am

Almost achieve 100% in 30s... simple concept, interesting and fun

Drabiter says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:12am

@littleball
@juaxix
Thanks for playing! ;)

May 9, 2013 @ 11:28am

Simple game that keep to the Minimalistic theme! :)

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:56pm

So I have try the web version with firefox...and in the 3 mode there are just an hexagon with 1 inside...and nothing happen, you can just return to the selection menu with right click.

Drabiter says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 7:26am

@oskardevelopment
Thanks! :D

@Sylvain.p
Yes the port was kinda unstable and very random. If you can please try the desktop version which should work on all OS.

cadin says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:02am

Sorry the web version doesn't seem to be working for me.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]