April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal Shootage

by mramaizng - Jam Entry

I didn't get as far as i wanted but am still proud of how much I did get. I think I will continue to develop and clean this game up as I had a ton of fun just testing it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#215Theme(Jam)3.43
#226Fun(Jam)3.04
#414Overall(Jam)2.78
#439Graphics(Jam)2.59
#454Mood(Jam)2.33
#553Innovation(Jam)1.52
#1594Coolness37%

Comments

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:01pm

It even has a boss fight! Teehee.

xandy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:18am

cool game :) maybe add a random enemy spawner to allow endless play ;)

Nonameghost says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:18am

I like it for a start, I think the minimal style can definitely be expanded on. Nice work!

domrein says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:20am

Awesome game. I love games with shooting and lots of particles. Good work.

messiano says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:32am

Good potential here, I like the direction this is going :).

LizEngland says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:46am

Short, yes, but it was fun. The boss that had the audacity to fire at me kind of sold the minimalist style :)

Arcana says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:49am

Particle effects were great. Definitely the highlight of this game in my opinion. Sound effects would have elevated this to a new level of cool.

sparkleswirl says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:59am

Really cool particle effects; definitely added the the minimal setting.

Waynetron says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:59am

I love particle effects. Refreshing the browser to have another try I didn't like as much.

kurrik says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:09am

Particle effects were really nice! Performed really nicely. Felt like you have a good foundation, need to add some variance to enemy patterns and appearance.

mebibyte says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:09am

I agree, the particles were very nice! Good work :D

dick_claus says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:10am

Good explosions :) wanna more speed :)

stqn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:14am

Well, it's working and it's fun for as long as it lasts! A score counter would have been nice, though given the length of the game it doesn't really matter :).

sharbelfs says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:01am

Hate the gray alien. Good shooter, HTML5?

mramaizng says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Yup, it was entirely in javascript. I linked the source for those interested. Though the code is more of a caddywhompus clump of text.

elbowroom says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:18pm

It was good. It was very good. The design brought back memories of R-type. I liked it while it lasted and then it suddenly stopped. I was disappointed. It's a Jam entry. I guess you didn't have much time to add an entire level? What you did manage to make, is well made.

May 5, 2013 @ 6:59pm

pretty cool game, maybe needs some polishing to be realised as a full game

TheSarcastic says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Clean and simple. Really awesome :) Add some sounds to it!

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:07pm

I really liked the minimalism and authenticity of a soundless space (although the flickering stars were a bit strange). The particle effects were very rewarding. I would have liked to see some feedback as to the amount of damage I was doing to the last enemy and found the pacing overall to be a weak point.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]