April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Spellflinger

by bigbadwofl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Written in Unity, Spellflinger is an infinite runner with a twist. Guide the wizard through droves of evil minions while picking up powerups and flinging spells.

Try to find out what all the powerups do and try to beat the high score.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#53Graphics4.14
#89Audio3.63
#163Fun3.50
#190Mood3.39
#201Overall3.57
#457Humor2.38
#804Innovation2.80
#1320Theme2.30

Comments

arnaudmolle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:01pm

I like the graphics, the game is easy but efficient.

Andy West says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:05am

Excellent graphics and sound.

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Nice work! There are maybe too many controls for my feeble mind to keep track of, but I just let loose on magic missile over and over. Super Fun!

Dohan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Very fun game! Maybe it's a bit slow-paced.

bigbadwofl says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Thanks a lot. High score system stopped working, trying to figure it out now.

Try getting to 20,000. It's much busier then.

quantumryan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:49pm

This was a great entry! My only suggestion is a sound and effect when you get hurt. At first I didn't understand what was making my hearts go down, thinking it was time based. Then I realized the spikes were doing it.

May 2, 2013 @ 8:34am

Nice art and music. Felt there were too many keys to keep track of. Should focus more. Jumping felt too slow and floaty. Player should move faster even at the start. Solid entry, just polish/tweak it.

triplefox says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:20am

maximalist gameplay and controls

May 2, 2013 @ 9:20am

Lovely lovely game. As MinionStudios said, maybe too many controls for my also feeble mind to keep track of (I'm easily confused :D) but I love the concept.

Skulls says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:26am

I enjoyed playing this game, it was pretty fun using the different spells. Music was catchy. Online high score board is awesome I'm going to bookmark this and try to get a high score if I get time :)

kyyninen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:28am

Nice! I think the basic attack should shoot automatically to the direction you are moving, since there is no mana there's no reason to not blast all the time.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:42am

Very good stuff

AlvaroH says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:45am

Great look!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:45am

Gourgeous little game. Like the music a lot.

FREEZX says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:51am

Awesome game, fun to play, needs a bit of getting used to. Would be a bit better if everything was faster. Great work!

reverso13 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:21am

Nice graphics, a bit hard the controls, too many.. =P

Hypnohustla says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:23am

5 stars for the audio department. You should simplify the controls a bit, but its probably a lot nicer with a controller. So no worries there. :) Great graphics and mood also :)

Typedeaf says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:24am

Terrific game! Made 9th place :D

Really nice graphics and music, gameplay was fluid, monsters and player were cute and the power ups kept it interesting. Would have enjoyed some main attack powerups and checkpoints, but what you have is impressive enough for a 48 hour jam :)

vapgames says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:58am

Great game!

alts says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:06am

This is a good game, and given different circumstances I feel like it'd be a really excellent entry. Given the minimalist theme, though, I don't know that the game quite fits. Take for example the controls. Four different keys for various spells, and one of those spells is a variant of the main attack. This is the basis of a fantastic game. Just not a minimalist one.

May 6, 2013 @ 11:38am

Sadly for players with a non-US-keyboard it's a bit crappy, because Y and Z are switched. :/ Looks great though!

BenW says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Fun little game. Two quick things that I think would make a huge difference. There needs to be more of an indication when you are injured and there also needs to be some quick way of seeing how close your spells are to recharging.

Gremlin says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:51am

This is pretty awesome. I don't survive long after the difficulty jump, but 16000 or so isn't too bad, I guess. I really like the way the powerups you find are different each time.

I did figure out that the teleport can embed you in the left wall.

May 14, 2013 @ 6:27am

The game is really neat, though when I downloaded the source all I saw was the .cs files, not the Unity Project, nor the art assets, nor the audio. My understanding is that all of these are required for a 48 hour entry.

The audio is really awesome here, and the gameplay is simple but compelling. Great entry!

May 14, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Really like the combination of abilities and controls were fluid -- not particularly minimal, but great fun & lots done :)

lorancou says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:53pm

49 : 18166

LemonTree says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 7:57am

I like music and graphics!

Fritzendugan says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:13am

Best music of any LD I've played yet. Seriously. Awesome.

As for the game, I love the graphics. The mechanics seem a bit buggy though. Sometimes bullets would go in weird places, the collision would push me out of weird stuff. The spells and stuff are cool though. I felt like a legit wizard. Moderately fun to try and beat high scores and such.

overall, graphics and audio were superb, but the game mechanics itself definitely needed more polish.

Fritzendugan says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:14am

also, is there some where I can download the soundtrack?

free_napalm says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Good graphics, excellent music.
Gameplay would have been easier to learn if you added the key the description stands for (e.g. "Teleport (C key) available!") Also I did not understand why I sometimes double fire on Z and sometimes I don't.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]