April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Chehc

by mipi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's a puzzle game.

INSTRUCTIONS:
1) First thing to do, while in game, is to find "Click here to have instructions" text, it's down on the GUI.
2) Keep clicking multiple times the instructions.
3) Check out the screenshot at this page and observe what first and third mean in the game.

ADDITIONAL TIPS/TRICKS:
- To quickly reset a level, simply move around few times with arrow keys.
- Note that there are several buttons on the GUI, although they might not look like buttons.
- Try avoid having move (2) command as your first command when your next to wall and facing to the wall. Why? Because you can't walk inside the wall and this pretty much forces you to use either "switch 1 and 3" or then you might need to use arrow key moves.
- To correctly pronounce the name of the game, I have this valuable tip for you. Think of how 'chess' is pronounced, with the exception that on the middle of the word 'chess' you would need to laugh a bit. You might need to practice it a couple of times to get it right.

IS THE GAME TOO HARD? **SPOILER ALERT**
- On the first level you can just keep the space pressed down and see where it takes you. You get very close and then simply use your arrow keys to reach the goal.

MINIMALISM IN THIS GAME
You only need a very minimalistic set of rules, which can generate enormous complexity. While the rules are simple, it can get complex. Your goal is to minimize your turns and steps.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#476Innovation3.22
#815Graphics2.70
#940Overall2.81
#1053Theme2.96
#1070Mood2.31
#1225Fun2.08

Comments

Martze says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Cool, it's a state-machine kind of game. Really challenging, though!

May 1, 2013 @ 10:18am

I like the artwork a lot.

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:24am

Nifty artwork. Was a bit confused at first but it made sense after a little while.

Jiyko says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:27am

Very complex but very cool. Definitely one of the more unique games going.

loxo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:38am

Interesting puzzle game. Sadly it barely fits on my screen, I have only 768 pixels in height. The game seems quite hard, at least I couldn't solve the first level. Maybe a tutorial in the game could help.

mipi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:54am

Hi, thanks from your feedback folks!
@loxo: I've updated the game description a bit so that in the future if somebody feel that they can't get into the game they have some additional help provided.

loxo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Thank you, with this extra help I managed to solve the first two levels with silver easily. The green text that is used to present the results is a little hard to read though.

mipi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:42pm

@loxo: Good to hear! :) If I'll make a post-combo release, I'll definitely make a dark, maybe just a little-transparent background plane behind the result texts and lighten up the text color, so that it's easy to read the results.

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Interesting state machine-like existence, well partway state machine. Made me think of Diamond Age recurring state machine scenes. I think it might have been better if whole of area visible at once.

dreamlogician says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Great concept. I like the idea of swapping the instruction order as a mechanic. I could definitely picture this concept being extensible, with the possibility of introducing more complex sets of prerequisites and state logic as the game progresses (kind of like taking the Gambit system from FFXII and using it in a puzzle game context instead of RPG combat). Excellent work!

sparkleswirl says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Really reminiscent of some old edutainment games. Pretty cool. Only complaint is that the game is way too tall and it's impossible to see the full GUI normally.

Qaterknan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:48pm

I liked it a lot, even though it took me quite long to get the principles and so. Also it has very nice graphics. Very nice job!

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:11pm

The web version doesn't load for me. Just an empty white screen :/

mipi says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:25pm

@netmute: I guess your flash version is up to date? I'm not sure but I think it might need newer than 11.3 as that's probably the version used to develop this. The game is 1 135 KB in size, so it should download pretty fast, but before it has downloaded, the screen shows only white for me too. Having a preloader would help with these kind of things.

HelkeGames says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:39am

Nice game, very minimalist, well done :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]