April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Left & Knight

by toaster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Left & Knight is a one button game, use z to jump.

Kill the slimes, avoid the bombs, survive.

There are some strange bugs that I still cannot stop, such as slimes spawning in walls, so if that happens, you will have to refresh. I'll upload a fix when I can figure one out. If any Stencyl Guru's want to look at the source and help me, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#291Graphics3.44
#413Humor2.45
#505Audio2.78
#559Theme3.53
#684Mood2.75
#769Fun2.75
#794Innovation2.81
#835Overall2.91

Comments

nbilyk says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Hehe, great job :)
The animations are cute, and I like the gameplay.

Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Nice, simple game. The random generation of blobs was sometimes off, one appeared in the floor and another one appeared too close to a bomb which makes it impossible, but otherwise nice!

wallmasterr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:51am

fun, but hard and frustrating, blob glitched in a wall ounce too :(
Nice take on an infinite runner

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:51am

Got stuck on wave four when the slime spawned in a brick, but other than that, good fun!

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:52am

The blobs sometimes spawn inside the platform but otherwise, well done!

graytest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:52am

A bit buggy. I've gotten stuck on two levels, first because the little blob appeared underneath the floor, and once because I died but still got to the next level (but without the knight). It is also a bit too easy or too hard depending on how the blobs and spikes appear. Still, great use of theme and great graphics!

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:53am

Great little game. Very good!

CMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:54am

Fun enough, although the wya you move really fast forward when coming down from a jump takes some adapting to.

Also, each run ended, not because I died, but because a slime would spawn in a floor and there was no way to kill it. (Wave 4 first time, wave 10 second)

ella guro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:54am

very cute! also yay stencyl! (i used it for my game too). i like the visual style too, and i like how quickly everything moves. i maybe would've liked designed stages or at least more accurate generation, because it makes things feel stale after a bit and sometimes the blobs spawn into an unwinnable situation.

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:58am

It was fun until the blob spawned inside the floor, hope you can fix this bug! The controls might need just a little bit of work.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:59am

Quite a gamebreaking bug: http://imm.io/14mjH

The music was sorta indifferent, but the graphics had a nice retro feel. Simple but solid controls. Okay.

toaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:47am

Thanks for the feedback. Yeah I apologize for the spawning in wall issues. I spent most of the weekend trying to fix that, but I've yet to solve the solution. The Post-Compo version will be more varied and less buggy. Hopefully I'll have that done in a week or two.

robertcalvert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:36pm

This is a great game no issues with spawning here. This was a lot of fun and challenging (best I got was wave 15)

KevinZuhn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:41pm

It's a nice, simple idea, and I like the way it looks. Unfortunately I wind up unable to progress due to spawning bugs within a few levels.

meszka says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Pretty fun (while it lasts). I like the feel of the game, the graphics, music and color pallete work nicely together. Good job :)

Ludipe says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Cute graphics and nice idea. I appeared in a blank stage twice, there wasn't any slime to kill or bombs that could kill me.

TheSarcastic says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Good job overall but the jump could be tweaked a bit. Love the graphics!

gameXcore says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Good simple game, although the blob did spawn in an impossible place very often.

May 6, 2013 @ 7:36pm

The enemy got stuck in the platform and I wasn't able to kill it. The game is really fitting the game and fun to play, nothing to complain, n1! Especially the graphics and the few colors really aid the mood.

multikorv says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:40pm

I really like the style. You've really captured minimalism in the gameplay aswell. I got to a point where I got no spawn so I couldn't go to the nexe wave.

HelkeGames says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Nice game, love the graphic great job :D

Teejay5 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Great game, really fun idea! Though sometimes the player starts walking before all of the bombs spawn and settle, leading my character right into them.

May 7, 2013 @ 11:08pm

I never say "no" to a single button game! Nice concept - minimalistic to the bone, with nice graphics and I'm a big fan of randomly generated levels. Too bad some levels are just unbeatable. You might have gone a step too far following the theme, adding one or two other elements to the game might have make it a lot more engaging.

AndyBumpkin says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Wow, kinda spooky in a way but I liked it! Had a level where only mines appeared and I couldn't progress but otherwise worked very well.

May 18, 2013 @ 11:15am

Slime was in wall :( This could definitely go somewhere. Gameplay was good!

GingerMess says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 12:01pm

The slime in the floor unfortunately stopped me making much progress. :(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]