April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

there was a knock

by Thanat0s - Jam Entry

Protect minimalism at all costs.
---------
UPDATE: Converted to a pre-installed folder.
You can double-jump, by the way.
Controls:
S to use
A/D to switch
Board - close holes
Broom - smack spikes
Cork - close music holes
Fire extinguisher - put out fires

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#91Humor(Jam)3.07
#273Innovation(Jam)2.96
#273Mood(Jam)2.94
#275Fun(Jam)2.88
#360Theme(Jam)3.04
#378Audio(Jam)2.35
#419Overall(Jam)2.76
#470Graphics(Jam)2.45
#1485Coolness42%

Comments

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:28am

Installers are frowned upon, people prefer to play games straight from the download folder.

I don't like that it goes fullscreen.

It was very fun once I realized that the aberrations couldn't hurt me.

However, I think the scoring is broken. I got bored around 56,500, and stopped fixing things. After a while, things stopped appearing, but the damage bar wasn't going up. I quite around 60,000.

The hitboxes feel small, often times I would float past a hole and not be able to board it up. The music holes are really hard to hit for some reason, the timing is not forgiving enough or something. The music gets annoying pretty quickly.

Thanat0s says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Yeah, I can change it to a simple download tonight. I forgot how frustrating installers are.

drlemon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:37am

A pretty fun game!

bowlercaptain says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:39am

Audio was kind of annoying, and I couldn't get to things fast enough. Interesting gameplay, but it couldn't hold my attention for long.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:05am

I had trouble switching to the right item, and it took me a while to realize I could double jump. Great interpretation of the rule tho.

May 1, 2013 @ 1:10am

Very funny and fun concept xD .... nice work! :D

SquiddyG says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:14am

Sorry about the music :/ we had a few problems!

pikmin4000 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:36am

I think the game is real fun! It's just a shame it has a harsh intro. A good learning curve into the game, would be great- I had no idea what the controls were and had to look in the description, and it was annoying to download and extract. But once I started playing, I got actually really absorbed and got a highscore of 7700. Great job on the animation btw!

pvwradtke says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:07am

This is fun, but so hard :P. Loved the idea of fixing the scenario to keep the environment safe.

dalbinblue says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:05am

I had trouble getting to the right item in time to do anything. Couldn't get better than 3000 points.

LizEngland says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:11am

Cool idea. A slower difficulty ramp would've been nice - it was hard to learn what each icon does.

Andy West says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:31am

Fascinating concept, but frustratingly hard. Nicely done.

robcozzens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:52am

Interesting idea.
There was a bit too much to keep track of all at the same time for me though.

HelkeGames says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Nice game, i like the concept, very minimal! Well done :)

kibertoad says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Stuff happened way to fast, hated switching mechanism, would be more convenient if each item was assigned to a key rather than chaotic switching back and forth.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]