April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Orchis

by BortStudios - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CONTROLS:

D - move right
A - move left
Space - jump

I'm pretty satisfied with this game. This was my first crack at making a song - I think it captured the mood I was looking for exactly. Next LD I want to do something a bit more complex, a bit different than a 'standard' game (platformer), but this time I'm just happy to have taken this game from concept to completion all the way through, as it's something I hadn't done before.

I chose to interpret minimalism in a number of ways. Firstly, the minimalist artwork (which was a grace for me). Secondly, the song I made I chose to not be very busy. I also chose a very minimalist method of control - that hopefully will still offer a bit of a challenge (and there is one twist in there that has to do with gravity). Finally, I chose a vast, yet very minimal setting - space.

There are a few minor bugs here or there, but overall I think I got rid of most, and have it polished to about as good as it could get in a 48 hour time frame.

Hope you enjoy it!

Note: If you are falling into a hole you can't get out of, this is most likely not a bug, but the end of the game. Yes, it is very, very short. Or, if it's not the end, try hitting the spacebar twice very quickly with the boost - that is, jump and immediately boost. It's how to get maximum height

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#108Audio3.56
#185Mood3.40
#352Graphics3.33
#457Overall3.26
#470Fun3.08
#633Humor2.12
#680Theme3.41
#794Innovation2.81
#1594Coolness37%

Comments

Yezu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Unfortunately I ended up in a hole I couldn't get out of.
What's the deal with the increasing gravity, I mean I understand the physics, but is there more to it?

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Nice game! I managed to get stuck after a few minutes in though :( Thanks for your comments as well, we may well revisit our game at some point for a v.2 release!

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Great job on the music - it fits really well. I think my only gripe would be the difficulty in distinguishing between the background and interative tiles. Maybe simply making the background tiles faded, the foreground ones slightly textured, or even making the background tiles a different tilemap then setting the scrollfactor in flixel to 0.5 to create a parallax effect? Also...I fell down a hole and I can't get out :(

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58pm

The music is really excellent and really mood fitting... but gameplay wise it's supershort platformer (with at least the gravity as added small bonus). The intro (web version) works strangely, I almost quit the game before anything started because i got constatly repeating line for 200 000 years... but then the planet appeared

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Really nice music and I like the little track animation on the robots wheels.

Jeremias says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:01pm

I love the art style, especially your use of the colors and the amotsphere they generate. It was fun to explore the planet. It would be nice if it were a bit longer and had more gameplay elements. Sound and music fits, too. Solid entry!

kannas says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:05pm

I found the ending very...uh...free for interpretation? xD
anyway, i think that this is great game. I like the music and the art, and the gameplay is original. i would have liked a longer game though, with maybe more narrative :P Tanking about narrative, there's a bug at the start of the game, where there's the same text over and over ( the one of the 200000 years thing). I also didn't understand if i had to wait or to press a button ( the latest option would be better). Anyway, cool game, good job ;)

FunByJohn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:20pm

This was awesome man, I didn't notice the ever-increasing gravity until about halfway through, but I really like the idea! I feel like the level design didn't really take advantage of the increasing gravity, at a gameplay level.

Your pixel art is awesome; the slight animation on the belt of the robot is cool touch, and the shades of green you used are all lovely :D

The ending was quite cool :) how'd the flower get there? :O

mrexcessive says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Good job on the level design! Nice movement puzzles with minimal features, more than just a simple platformer. Could use more levels.

ryuurei says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:11pm

I also got stuck in a hole and couldn't continue. That was pretty disappointing. I don't understand why you had the increasing gravity- acceleration wasn't affected at all. The motion didn't feel very natural at all, either.
The exploratory feel was pretty nice, however, and the music set a nice mood. The colors were pleasing and felt very alien, as well.
Not too bad, but there were some nasty loose ends.

foul says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Excellent game, touching and wistful. This game must be played to the end. Great intro also :)

dx0ne says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Clever thing with this gravity counter :) Could be nice guide for some more sophisticated puzzles.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]