April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lack of Civilization

by V0ID - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to my third Ludum Dare entry.

If you want to play a little game for a few minutes then you browsed to the right game. Unfortunately time was short for a nice story line.
Despite of that I'm pleased with what I accomplished.

Content of the game:
You play a solitudinarian (a person who lives alone a simple, minimalistic life, detached from society) who suddenly got sick and is now in the need of civilization's knowledge.

The game uses libgdx and so I hope that it runs without any problems on any operating system (in the easiest case by double-clicking the "LD26.jar" file). Of course you need an installed Java Runtime Environment.

I will see if I can get an android-port running. I didn't try that before and I do not own an android device myself so I cannot test it well.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#696Mood2.74
#714Humor2.00
#853Audio2.19
#1089Graphics2.31
#1219Overall2.41
#1238Fun2.00
#1255Theme2.58
#1288Innovation1.88
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:53pm

nice game

billknye says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Was definitely too short, I think if you could have gone a little further with this it would have been that much better. It was good enough to make me go explore and see if I could find anything past the infernal 'vegetation is too dense' messages.

V0ID says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Thanks : )
I wish I had more time, too :(

Zhrack says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:24am

crash on start(Windows) with a java exception

V0ID says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Can you post that exception? At least the name, the class name and the line number?
Otherwise I'm a bit clueless about where to look for the issue.

bowlercaptain says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Well, done, for what you have. The graphics, while not AAA material (though I'm not sure that's what you should be striving for :P) served the game well. Music was nice and not obtrusive. You fit the theme pretty well - it was a little anti-climactic and short, though. Also, jumping was a tad weird.

Ernyz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Nice little game, would like to explore more of that island :)

skintkingle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:03pm

V0ID, I got the same as Zhrack, Unfortunately it's literally as he says.

"Java Virtual Machine Launcher", "A Java Exception has occurred." and that's it.

I think this might be an x86/x64 thing... maybe.

V0ID says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Can you run it via command line and the command "javaw LD26.jar"? Maybe then you see the exception.
(open the command line conveniantly by pressing shift und right click into the folder where the jar is and choosing the context menu entry where command line is written. Unfortunately I don't the exact term in English. With that the prompt will be the jar's folder. Handy feature if one knows about it^^)

berkano says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Short but sweet! Nice concept, I felt sorry for the old boy when he was worried about jumping across the river.

May 2, 2013 @ 4:24pm

I enjoyed it, it was incredibly short though. The audio was a bit barebones but at least it's not annoying.

Beldarak says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Charming little game. I was a little disappointed by the fact I cannot go explore further but otherwise it's nice ;)

Spelchan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Having to hit the R key every time I bumped into vegetation was really, really, REALLY annoying and totally unnecessary as not being able to move would have been enough of an indication.

Polar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Quite good, although I couldn't find anything after I got the plant - was that it?

V0ID says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Thanks for the nice words.
@Spelchan: Sorry for that. Late in the night I wasn't able to figure out why tree/stone collision didn't work (now I know why)
@EricTheCoolDude: I feared the sound could be annoying, so I'm glad it is not : )
@Polar: Yes, thats it.

May 5, 2013 @ 7:10pm

i loved your water tiles. xD Not sure what to do after the bridge, but when the main character walks i would have expected him to be sickly when he walks. Right now he's like a street fighter. "put em up!". also he talks about being old? He needs something that represents age, cane, white-beard, something. :) idk, just imo.

kddekadenz says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:00pm

This game is terrible D: Graphics sucks, I feel all the time guided, music sucks.. Colors are good, the IDEA of the story is good as well, but not the way you told it.

maloki says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:45am

Would have probably helped to add a shadow to help differentiate moving up & jumping.

Looks like you have a good base system here, but would have indeed helped if you had more time.

Benjamin says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Touching story & I like the blue eyes of the old man. the game was short but at least it has a start and an end. Congratulations !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]