April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SQUARE TRIANGLE CIRCLE

by danblack - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Stop shapes reaching the line for as long as possible by dropping matching shapes on them from above the line.
If the shapes don't match then the dropped shape will explode but won't destroy the rising shape. Only matching shapes destroy each other.

I ran out of time for sound sadly. Hope you enjoy. As always feedback appreciated.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#211Innovation3.59
#299Theme3.81
#538Fun3.00
#619Overall3.11
#906Graphics2.59
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Toestee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:29am

Very fun once you get the hang of it.

Cybearg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:57am

Surprisingly fun. really had a good time playing this!

Take the mechanics, add some nice, polished gameplay and pleasant sound effects and music, and I'd say you have a nice iPhone game.

May 2, 2013 @ 6:33am

Nice mechanic!

May 2, 2013 @ 6:59am

I loved how the shapes blew apart. That was cool. But it needed some sound at least.

alts says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:42am

Had some difficulty grasping the controls and interactions at first, but once that fell into place things went well. I initially tried flicking the shapes (to no avail), which might be worth considering if you put the game on a touch device. I would add some kind of end screen, so that the player can see their score after they lose. I thought I did well, but had nothing to gauge that by once I lost.

Shigor says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:47am

I can almost see the non minimalistic game made on this concept :)

May 2, 2013 @ 7:49am

Hey, neat concept. Great work, full marks for originality.

Bernhard says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Scored 267767. Very fun unique little game.
Someone suggested putting this out on smartphone, DO IT! Maybe reverse the direction (down to up) so it can be easily played with a thumb on a touch screen.

danblack says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:08am

Thanks for all the feedback and suggestions. Very cool and really appreciated. I definitely want to do a phone/tablet version of this game and time permitting I will do soon. I think with better structure and variety I think it could be a fun game.

@Bernhard - I thought about things going up the screen because this also has the advantage of you not obscuring the screen with your finger/thumb as much. It just didn't seem as natural. I think there is something really familiar about picking something up and dropping it. Initially I thought of the idea of picking something from a tree and than dropping it on something below. That said you are right it makes sense so I will try it out. With abstract graphics like this it doesn't matter so much so maybe it could be an option.

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Very fun. Great mechanic. Only lacked some audio. Good entry!

messiano says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:24pm

I second the idea of turning this into a phone game, controls would feel better on a touch screen than with the mouse. Simple yet quite fun, with some relaxing BG music you'll have a really nice timewaster for the phone crowd.

elbowroom says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:26pm

I liked the idea. The implementation was pretty good too. Overall it is fun and (to me) innovative game and an interesting twist on the match shapes games. Very well done and very fitting for the theme.

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Fun, but a bit easy.

May 6, 2013 @ 7:49am

Very, very nice mechanic. Took me a while to figure you could drag the shapes before dropping them, but after that the game really became fun. I don't know how the difficulty progresses as time goes on, but it could have become harder a tad more quickly. As other said, you should polish this one up and release it on mobile platforms :)

SmilingCat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Very cool, I like the whole dropping mechanic.

May 6, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Nice idea, it would be great with some sfx and music! The player could have more lives though!

Uhfgood says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:45pm

You should have told us how to drop shapes. I almost rated this badly (or not at all) but figured it out eventually. For anyone not in the know, you need to click on a shape above the line to drop it below. You can also drag the shape around to position it properly but still above the line.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]