April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

METROCRAFT

by gregdevice - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi, my fourth entry. Metrocraft is a 3-D puzzle building game built in Unity. I was only able to finish 7 stages. Instructions are in the game.

Windows download recommended for higher quality gaming!!!
Play Full Screen at the highest resolution.

**edit: I don't like making bug fixes during LD but I fixed a serious control issue with the mouse that should make the game playable now.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#311Graphics3.40
#390Innovation3.34
#468Audio2.84
#498Mood2.96
#520Overall3.20
#667Fun2.85
#831Theme3.25
#961Humor1.67

Comments

paulopn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:25am

Very original concept! I really liked it!

AlgidPlasma says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:31am

I like555

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:51am

Was fun, and creative!

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53am

I guess it's easy for a student majoring design... but as a CS student I can't even solve the first level :'(

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:01am

Really stands out in terms of graphics and just game feel in general. It lacks in gameplay a little bit though, but maybe I've just played to much minecraft for one life time.

Nevertheless, great entry!

GetFun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:34am

Very original and cool graphic. gratz

Follett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:35am

That was a ton of fun. My only complaint would be that you can't look completely bellow yourself.

Diventurer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:41am

The web link is kind of broken for me. It tells me to install Unity Web Player although I have already installed it before. I literally played a Unity game 2-3 minutes ago.

O'well. I downloaded the Windows version, and while the concept was interesting, it wasn't really fun to play (for me). Oh, and I couldn't destroy blocks until I restarted the game (to read instructions). I didn't even know I could destroy blocks when I played for the first time.

triplefox says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:03am

It was really laborious to place so many blocks.

MetroidMan347 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:09am

I feel like this game could have been great, but was betrayed by poor controls. If the movement was smoother and the aiming much less sensitive this would have been a fantastic game.

gregdevice says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:19am

Thanks MetroidMan347, I agree the controls could be smoother. I'll work on it for a post-LD version.

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:33am

original idea, great execution, all it needs are online leaderboards

juaxix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:57am

It is good.
Try to add time for complex levels, there is a need (u cant build so many cubes in 2min).

Tanius says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:25am

Mouse is too fast for pointing and i would prefer left click to create and right to destroy. Nice, anyway

peaveyj says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:36am

Cool concept. For some reason, I feel like someone's on the other side of the glass cube with a clipboard, watching my every move...

dalbinblue says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:38am

The game is creative, and started off good, but did feel pretty tedious after a while unfortunately.

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Best Game I played at LD26 so far.... thx thx thx... downloaded it... no what about a multiplayer... ????

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:50am

Good job !

KhaoTom says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:59am

Really pretty.

Husky says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:08am

Interesting Concept :D
I fell a little dizzy because the mouse speed is a little too fast.
Anyway, good job!

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:39am

I love the idea of combining Minecraft with puzzle mechanics! Very well executed! Mouse sensitivity was WAY too high, though. Almost impossible to control with a touchpad :/

SaintHeiser says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:00am

Damn timer, really.
I don't like timers in puzzle games.
Good concept, anyway =)

patrickward says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Neat idea and well executed. I was confused at first, but gave it a few tries and figured it out, which, in a way, is part of the fun. I found it hard to place all of the blocks in time on the more advanced levels, but I'm using my laptop and this game may work better with a proper mouse. Still, it's a lot of blocks to put on the board, maybe reduce the grid a little? I loved the graphics and the particle effects were beautiful when you got the puzzle right. Music was soothing. Keep going with this, I think you've got a great game going here. Thanks for making it.

Jellycakes says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:04pm

That was a really cool game. I haven't seen this done before, probably the most original idea on LD26. Really nice work

gerritg says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:25pm

A crossover of minecraft and pov? Thank you! The only thing I'm not comfortable with, is the time limit. But that's just me. I just love to take time in games. One of the best I've played yet. I'd love to see a post-compo version with a puzzle mode.

PS: If you don't know pov: http://futrellsoftware.com/pov.php
I don't know if there's something like that for windows too. A shame that it's not cross platform.

klianc09 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:52pm

This would be more interesting, if I wouldn't have to build some strange boring stuff. I would have liked to create a sculpture or so in the middle of the room, also the first five levels or so are basically the same and it takes really too much time to surround the whole grid. But the gameplay is overall pretty neat.

olkeencole says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:36am

Great concept that was very well executed. You haven't really tested out Unity till you've made a block placing game. I feel like this game could really go somewhere. One commenter mention multiplayer which would be awesome. It'd be great if you could somehow blend the first person element with the puzzle mechanic. Right now, a mouse orbit would solve most of the control issues, but I really like the first person aspect. In later stages, I started just making platforms and jumping on them. Great job!

Jeremias says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:36pm

The windows version contains an exe which throws a "Data Folder not found" error with the following content: "There should be 'Metrocraft_LD26_Data'
folder next to the executable".

I played the web version. The graphics look good and the background music fit well, too. The game has an interesting concept, but I think you need something to vary it more. For example: building a specific pattern while avoiding enemies.

Benjamin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Interesting but the game make me feel I'm a robot. Maybe instead of the model I would have prefer enter a room trying to recognize the shape and go to the other room to reproduce it. I like the buildings backgrounds and the music.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Cool puzzle concept.

bentog says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Great game. Oddly, when I press "Try again" I can't do anything on the room, there are sparkles everywhere and the timer reads -1:60. I'm using Google Chrome, by the way.

ahm99 says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 1:44am

Mouse I think was little too sensitive making the levels really hard. But it was a really cool game. Good job :)

Madball says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 9:15am

Great idea! It was very fun to play. I don`t think it`s a game for everybody, but I liked it. You can add bigger levels with more time, or asymmetrical levels.

davidpeter says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:52am

Basically what raincole said. Maybe if I had played Minecraft I would be good at this game :(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]