April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MIN

by s0ulcrusher - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-[INPUT]-

WASD - walk
SHIFT - run
LMB - shoot
SPACE - jump
SPACE(hold) - glide


-[HOW TO PLAY]-

1) Climb the mountain
2) Obtain the weapon
3) Protect the civilians and pueblos from the menace


MIN was created with Unity, sfxr, Reaper & Maya.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#47Graphics4.16
#141Mood3.51
#179Audio3.35
#406Overall3.31
#567Humor2.21
#699Innovation2.95
#720Fun2.80
#1231Theme2.63

Comments

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:41am

zeus' balls I'm tired, gonna play some of your games and catch some zzz's. this was really fun to work on, hope you have as much fun playing it :) Comment if there's any serious problems, I only had 2 people to test it before submission.

NiallM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:51am

This is amazing. The sound and visuals are fantastic. Not so keen on the FPS platforming, but once you get there the menace is awesome.

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:57am

The visuals and audio are great. I really enjoyed looking around the world. However, first person platforming is frustrating, especially since it takes so long for the platforms to align. I would stop here, but @NiallEM makes it sound like things get really good after you get to the top, so I'm gonna give it another go later :)

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:18am

@NiallM - Thanks that means a lot coming from you, I really dig your LD games :) Did you use the hold spacebar to glide function in the game? That makes the platforming a lot easier I think. Going to play your game right now!

Sebastian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50am

I completely avoided all platforming by gliding straight up to the top. As long as you're touching the sides you don't seem to come back down. Is that intentional? Man, those eye things are really creepy though, good job!

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:53am

@Sebastian yeah I chose the lesser of 2 evils with that bug - if the friction is too low you fall of the platform, if it's too high you can hang onto the platform by constantly moving towards it when you're not standing on it. I should write that up as a feature, you can actually hang onto an upper platform and drop onto a lower one :)

Jod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:18am

Climbing the mountain was the hardest thing I ever did in my life. Didn't help that jumping sometimes didn't respond quite well. Maybe I stood to close to the edge?

I loved the graphics. They were awesome. The sound was very good as well. Great and trippy atmosphere, overall!

voxel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:25am

Amazing work. Love the glitchy crazy halo awesomeness. Didn't have any trouble with the platforming, would have been pointless to include it if you made it any easier

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:51am

@voxel - Whew good to hear the platforming isn't that rough. I just watched your dev footage, from your spotify playlist in the background I can tell we have the same musical tastes :) I'm off to play your game "unessential"!

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:32pm

I find the game very hard, probably because I'm not very used to fps jumping on platforms like this. Pretty unique visuals and feeling!

anjack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:35pm

That was fun! The glide functionality is cool and it made the platforming easier than it might otherwise have been.

The menace was very "menacing"!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:38pm

I love love love the aesthetics of this, super cool!

I'm not a fan of unity platforming at the best of times, and this was not that, so yeah, gameplay wise pretty frustrating.

gokuhd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:50pm

I really like graphics, sounds are very good too. The feeling of the whole game is nice and that "chosen one" encourages you to play. The only difficult thing was to get the player on platfoms. Although I like the movement, if you don't use a mouse (like me) it's hard.

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:55pm

@gokuhd - Thanks! Wait, you don't use a mouse? I just played your game ZIN and it requires a mouse :)

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:16pm

I love the aesthetic. The gameplay is rather weak. Basically, what you have made here is Xen with worse weapons and on LSD.

But man that aesthetic!

(P.S. please lock the cursor so it doesn't float off the window!)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Wow! Ultra psychodelic game! Very nice work, congrats! After falling from some of the higher platforms a few times, i rage quit, hehehe.

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:35pm

@nintendoeats - Xen? Did someone else make a similar game this LD? Weak gameplay with worse weapons? The theme was minimalism, so the design followed..

NiallM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:51pm

@s0ulcrusher Oops. Completely missed that you can glide. That does make things easier :)

ronsho says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Great imagery. I wasn't ever sure how close I was to beating the guy, though, since his eyes kept opening again after I shot them... and then suddenly I had "managed" him!

eteeski says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:46am

really cool. this game is very immersive. i really liked the citizens. that shader effect is so cool! did you code that shader during the contest?

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:50am

@eteeski - Awesome, thanks! I used all built-in unity shaders, that one is the "reflective specular" shader with a cubemap made out of 6 of the same perlin noise texture + no diffuse/gloss texture + full green diffuse color + full blue specular color.

Arcana says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:52am

I really wanted to reach the top but I think the platforming was too much of a barrier for me. Really amazing visuals. Really cool "gliding" ability but it also took a long time to get used to. I enjoyed the atmosphere and the music and the overall mood.

And once you get the weapon (yes, it's worth cheating through to get!) it gets REALLY SCARY.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:52am

@s0ulcrusher: Xen was the last level of the original Half-Life game, a lot of people disliked it for its platforming.

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:55am

@lulzfish_4 - Oh gotcha! Thanks for the info, been a long time since I played that.

ThreeUp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:14am

Very impressive visual effects and sound, platforming is floaty and feels like I'm cheating and the shooting part seemed hard, but not very satisfying because there were just so many of the same enemy I was shooting at. I felt liek the theme was quite clever, and you created a world to protect but not really on point for the ludumdare.

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:10am

@ThreeUp - Not on point in what way? The theme was minimalism and that was reflected in the art style and game design. I was going to add smaller flying enemies but I felt that went against the theme.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:01pm

I like the fact that you're not alone !

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Hmm, I can hear the game, but I can't see anything on screen! Let me know if you fix it, I'd love to play it! :)

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:13pm

@ataxkt - Are you running the osx version? Try the web player instead if you can.

MrHalfman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:18pm

wow... Whant an amazing game. Highly artistic. This game gave me really good feeling.
An awesome experience that I really enjoyed. Thanks.

Geoege says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Wow that game is really nice, graphics are amazing.
Controls are pretty smooth and make a good flood.
Is that a bug or a will that you can clinb the mountain by sticking to it and spam space ? (Was really happy to find this, climbing was hard otherwise).

kbm0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:04pm

The game was aesthetically wonderful. I really enjoyed the combination of the music, art style and glitchy landscapes.

wccrawford says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54pm

The jumping was harder than it should be. I'd be running and sure I had room to jump, and the jump button would just fail me.

The end was a little long, too. Seemed to just go on forever.

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:31pm

@wccrawford - Both of our LD games end in the exact same way, a chunk of text on screen with no way to restart. Did you try holding space to glide during the platforming?

pansapiens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:06am

Love that crazy shader ! Great atmosphere with the music too. Mouse was a little too sensitive for me so I didn't get very far, but I'm tempted to grab the source and tweak it myself so I can finish the game :)

pansapiens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:00am

Oh, bugger. Full project isn't in the source, just the scripts. Was curious to have a look at how that shader / image effect were done.

s0ulcrusher says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:25am

@pansapiens - The project files are a bit of a mess right now, I'm in the process of finishing it up myself for the post-compo version :) Lots of good feedback here for me to build the todo list out of, thanks everybody!

For image effects, it's mostly the Contrast(Enhance) that's getting that glow/color shift. Add that to your camera, set Intensity to 6.0, Threshold to 0.01 & Blur spread to 12.0 or higher. You can also bring the threshold to a negative number to get a really weird effect.

The terrain is just flat grey diffuse with some subtle light baked in, the orange glow at the top is from the Contrast(Enhance) factoring in the blue from the sky.

As for the rest, the quality settings have shadow resolution set to low to get that weird chunky look. The reflective surfaces are all set up like the post above describes with different color params.

Jeremias says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:21am

What a trip (and a lot of fun!). The jumping part felt a bit rough, perhaps because the moving controls respond too fast while floating to a platform?

berareu says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:22am

The visuals are spectacular, I loved the eyeballs in the end!
Platforming can get a bit frustrating after a while, but it's still a really good game!

juaxix says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:23am

Am I a Bad Dude? XD
Trippy landscapes with hell borns in the sky, lol
Nice game, thanks for the experience! Ah, try to change the music in the second game mode and the end ;)

Dabuuker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:24am

Well this was trippy. Really great visuals. The platforming though was a little too floaty for my taste. Overall loved it.

queader says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:28am

Awesome and mysterious!

BradleySmith says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:51pm

This feels like an acid trip, a really awesome acid trip.

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:06am

Love the psychedellic trippy visuals. I'm a sucker for them so It had me hooked. Monster design was pretty sweet too. Nice job!

gilmore606 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:06am

This is the first one that made me want to download the source just so I can see your crazy shader code. Awesome.

64Mega says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:22am

That was well done for a 48 hour entry. Got halfway up several times, but fell off. Then discovered I could spam-jump up the mountain.
The fight with the menace was well done, but could've been enhanced by a change of music.

s0ulcrusher says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:45am

@64Mega - I agree about the music switch, didn't have enough time to make a 2nd track. That's on the todo list for the post-compo version though. Hey your game is wicked fun btw, I made some of my buds play it :)

Dir3kt says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Nice. I like the pyscho graphics :)

Rafael Sales says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Good job. Incredible universe!!!

Wiering says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:58am

That was an interesting experience. Climbing up those platforms was very hard, but then I found another way up and managed to defeat the menace.

May 3, 2013 @ 5:53am

Great aesthetics -- both visual and audio even if it gets a little difficult to play.

Tyro says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:59am

Really beautiful game! I was a bad enough due to rescue to pueblos, I guess.

I'm not sure if this is a glitch or not, but if you stand next to the tower and just hit space repeatedly, you can climb it without even using the platforms.

Really anxious to see the source once it's fully released. Good going, you should be proud of this!

kyyninen says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:03am

Climbing the tower was frustrating yet fun! I loved the serene atmosphere. Is menace supposed to destroy almost everything or am I just bad at this game? :D

May 3, 2013 @ 9:08am

Great work with the aesthetics!

Prelucid says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Trippy looking game. Got stuck in a platform after getting that thing at the top of the obelisk.

May 3, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Holy crap this is great. Lovely trippy effects, and the monster showing up is great.

Getting the weapon might be a bit tricky though. I glided up the side of the mountain, thinking it's a bug. Many people might quit beforehand.

Pixelsalt says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Walking towards the tower and hitting space repeatedly launches you several kilometers up into the air.

s0ulcrusher says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:30am

@Pixelsalt - ahaha that's an awesome bug! Not fixing that one, it's a keeper!

LTyrosine says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:15pm

This is the result of going to another dimensions while drunk. Theres little gameplay here but the visit to this alien world pay the play. Really top entry, nice job.

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Nice! I was a bad dude with a rude 'tude

Tozy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:50pm

this is wonderful! Like a trip to another dimension. I never seen such fast immersion before. Thanks for giving us this gift :D

s0ulcrusher says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:56pm

@Tozy - that's very nice of you to say :)

I feel the same way about a lot of the games submitted this time around, not to get too mushy but I think we're all helping each other to make better and more expressive games each time we participate. For a global group of gamedev nerds to do this together is inspiring and at times hard to believe possible.

That and the joy of playing games that aren't watered down by focus groups or designed by committee, it's clear each game has a clear nugget of core gameplay which is unique and sometimes very deep. I've played so many incredible games already but have only seen 5% of them so far! The effort and creativity of LD is just staggering in it's scale.

JohnnySix says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Freakiest game I've played in the competition, when things changed at the mountain top - it was like eating some strong magic mushrooms. Bonus points for weirdness!

lotusgame says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Very unique graphic shader ^^ Very strange too, but it is so great to discover games that are unique.. author games. Congrats :)

GaTechGrad says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:35am

Not too bad, especially after I got to the top and got the weapon. The menace could really give people nightmares!

robcozzens says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:38pm

The web player doesn't work for me on Mac.

LoneStranger says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:12am

Very difficult for me, since FPS aren't really my bag. I initially kept thinking I needed 3D goggles with the visuals, but I got used to it.

kill0u says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Nice one, I like the mood of this game :) Not really a first person platforming fan though =/

TurboDindon says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:47am

Very interesting aesthetic.
It's impossible to climb the mountain... too hard. '^^ Movements are not precise enough.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Loved the look and music of it. Felt a little unsure of what I was doing during the second half, but I managed to shoot stuff.

May 19, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Looks really trippy, nicely done! Cool music, too...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]