April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

ProductionVille

by Blinked - 48 Hour Compo Entry

ProductionVille is my submission for the 48 hour Compo!!!

*I have added a Linux version for those having trouble, it might have some problems, but it's better than nothing :/*

Synopsis:
You are the owner of a randomly generated floating island...
You are given $2500 and must use it to create a production city on this island, and mine it out of all of it's natural resources, and in turn make more money from that!
Your goal is to make as much money as possible within 20 minutes, and to NOT go bankrupt!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HOW TO PLAY:
(PLEASE READ BEFORE PLAYING)

-You must first site a Town Hall, it can be wherever you please (but place it strategically).
-Then you must create roads and bridges from your Town Hall to reach natural resources and add production facilities to them.
-You must create houses for workers, and then add a certain number of workers to specific production facilities.
-When a certain resource is in demand, you should put as many workers as possible on its facilities.

=Roads are placed on Grass and Sand.
=Bridges are placed on Water.
=Mines are placed on Stone and Coal.
=Farms are placed on Potatoes.
=Lumber Mills are placed next to Trees.
=Apple Farms are placed on Apple Trees.
=Oil Drills are placed on Oil (the dark spots in water).
=Fishing Wharfs are placed on Fish (the light spots in water).
=Houses are placed on Grass or Sand.

!ALL production facilities must be placed next to the Town Hall or a Road/Bridge!
!ALL Roads/Bridges must be placed next to the Town Hall or a Road/Bridge!
!Houses cost $20 every 20 seconds, place them sparingly!
!Roads/Bridges cost $1 every 20 seconds, place them sparingly!

CONTROLS:

WASD/ArrowKeys/MouseScroll - Move Camera
ScrollWheel - Move Camera Up/Down
Q/E - Rotate Camera Left/Right
Escape - Exit Facility Menu
RightClick - Deselect Placement
Click on production facilities to open their menu!!!
You MUST press Escape to leave the menu!!!
Number keys can be used to place buildings faster!!!

Press the MINUS key to reduce graphical quality.
Press the PLUS/EQUALS key to increase graphical quality.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Changes Since Submission:
-Fixed some game-breaking/minor bugs. o_o
-Removed annoying right-click menu.
-Added graphics quality options.
-Added countdown timer. *fixed*
-WebPlayer now fills browser.
-Balanced game (made it winnable).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#408Graphics3.25
#416Overall3.30
#595Fun2.94
#679Innovation2.97
#684Mood2.75
#1032Humor1.47
#1069Audio1.36
#1255Theme2.58

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:09pm

A city-builder, awesome!

Sdly it seemed to bug out after I placed something.

Remember to upload your source so this counts in the compo :P

Blinked says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Are you sure it bugged out? All buildings must be placed next to a road or the town hall. And facilities have to be placed on their resource.

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Very nice graphics and cool idea

atlantian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Likes the day/night cycle, could of done with some audio/music, but well done in completing a rather complex game in 48 hrs

Khaldrin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Nice one and fun little game. I liked the day/night cycle and the lighting. It would be great to actually see a difference between an idle building and a building with workers assigned (or some workers moving between the building and the town hall).

kratorspore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:31pm

This is a superb entry! It's amazing how much you can strip away from the building sim genre and still get really compelling gameplay. Love the day/night cycle!

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Won the game with $31940. One of the most fun games I've played. There's an annoying bug in the scrolling. If I leave the webpage, the game never stops scrolling, and scrolls right off the map, so you'll never find it back.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:20pm

That's a big creation !

Jimjam says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Really nice game with a simple mechanic that's lots of fun! I love the graphics, and the procedural generation is always good fun.
My only crits are that it would be nice to see a bit more "wildness" in the gen, as the different land types are a bit blobby for now. Also, just what some other people were saying about showing more feedback, ie. certain buildings showing that they are being worked at.
Awesome game!

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:10pm

awesome and impressive work. Adding some animations or npcs would help understand whats going on or if things are working. The game reminded me of my game in the last compo :) http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=7317

tonbery says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:50pm

kind of have a lot of money, but i can build only the town hall! D=

but anyway, great game, can be a big seller someday (really better than Towns!) =D

Blinked says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:54pm

@naugtyloose Funny you mention that. I saw your timelapse the day before this LD started and it's kinda what inspired me to make this style of game :)

Hatscat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:15pm

I'm impressed of your work!
It's just lack a bit a fun, just a little boring with time.
But very well done!

mortus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:48am

Great game, and I almost thought it's mostly undone (should have read the description first as you suggest. Once you figure out how to play it's quite fun.

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Great job! Very ambitious and impressive for 48 hours! I love city-builders and I enjoy the simplicity of yours :D With some more features, I could spend a few good hours on this!

LTyrosine says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:07am

Really LOVED this one! Resource m. is one of my favorite styles of game and this one did very well with given time. Amazing job!

Super Hamster says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:10am

Very cool game, needs just a bit more work and it will be totally awesome. :D

Dans17 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:18am

Nice game for only being made in 48 hours! I got a little frustrated however with how slow it is to build roads. You should be able to hold down the mouse and make a long road faster.

Drabiter says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:51am

Sorry, linux user :(

PhaZ90771 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:18am

I liked the game. It was very easy to box in myself when I put down lumber mills. Also why only 1 person per house? It felt like I quickly started having to put down roads to put down houses, so my facilities could work at max capacity.

May 2, 2013 @ 11:24am

very impressive in 48 hours.

Fritzendugan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:23am

controls were basically impossible to figure out, I managed to place a bunch of roads and some mines and stuff, but then when I clicked one of the buildings I couldn't seem to be able to deselect it. Game felt overall kinda buggy. City builder concept is a cool one though. It's a shame the game lacked just a little bit more polish and some more exploration/tutorial because it seems like a lot of fun. Wished the game had some music or sound effects. Lighting effects were cool, and the "plain/simple" graphics makes for an interesting aesthetic.

cadin says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:56pm

This doesn't seem to work for me. Or maybe I just don't know what to do. I can move around, but clicking on things doesn't do anything.

Blinked says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:57pm

@cadin Buildings need to be placed next to a road or the town hall, and all roads must branch from the town hall.

Coruon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:00am

It was interesting game, but I think it needed more time. It was running slow and was difficult to navigate. Once I got the hang of the controls and menus, it became a little better but I felt like it needed to be more... dynamic?

StMatn says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:34am

Cool citybuilder! I like the day/night cycle very much! Nice job!

Hegemege says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:47am

Impressive amount of work you've put into this game :O Gameplay was smooth, missing some fancy effects like people moving on streets, but in overall felt really good and fun to play. Nice day/night cycle and lightning, good use of colours as well, nice and simple.

ZYXer says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:42am

Great game with awesome graphics. Really love the day/night cycle. But I wish there would be a easier way to build streets and bridges.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:06am

I 'won' with $14569. It got to the point where I was just filling everything that wasn't a lumber yard with workers (since lumber yards didn't make much money, even when wood was in demand). Instead of shifting workers around, it seemed more useful to just get more workers. Regardless, it was quite fun. Great work!

Bernhard says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:01am

Woo just made it over 10k, 10229$ is my final money.
Just saw it wasn't winnable in the original submission which is a bummer, but it's pretty good now. Quite ambitious entry, very well done!

Beerman says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Ambitious, but you pretty much pulled it off. A few rough edges still (I don't quite 'get' the lumber mills - they keep producing even after the nearby trees are gone?) but damn good going for 48h.

juaxix says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:54pm

omg, I totally fall in love with this game...

juaxix says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:19pm

I won!
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/547/productionville.jpg/

someone says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:20pm

This game looks great, sadly running in Wine on Linux there is no text, which makes it impossible to play.

Orni says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:24pm

how did you manage to make such a complex game in 48h, I'm stunned !

this is great :)

very cool, I love it

Blinked says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:26pm

I'd like to say thank you to everyone for all of the feedback! I'm very much considering expanding this idea into a full game :) I've already begun figuring out ways to optimize it further and new features to add. So thanks for the positive reinforcement/constructive criticism!

Blinked says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:38pm

I have added a Linux version for those having trouble, I have NO IDEA if it will work right or not, so let me know.

keksdev says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:17pm

linux version works fine, except zoom in and increase detail

Frib says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:04am

Game felt a bit easy after I figured out the controls. Pretty soon I was just building things wherever I could because money wasn't an issue, and eventually every resource was built on so I had to wait for the timer to run out.

It's a nice concept but there needs to be more risk and hard choices, I think. But still, solid entry!

Covenant says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:51am

Very ambitious, yet successfull... Congratulations!

MetroidMan347 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:40pm

I really want to like this game but I can't place a of stuff which is VERY frustrating. Rating withheld until bugs are fixed.

Blinked says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:46pm

@MetroidMan347 It's not buggy, you just need to read how to play.

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Great game! It's fun to play. Some sound effects and additional animation would be great. I like the lighting and the day and night cycle.

Nonameghost says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:50pm

That was ambitious! It was kind of hard to get roads built everywhere, but it played alright and I loved the concept. Nice work!

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Fun! I kept going bankrupt until I figured out how to add workers...lol

MetroidMan347 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:39am

I had a pretty good time playing this game, but the controls are pretty non-user-friendly. :( I still like it though. :)

lotusgame says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Impressive 48h entry ^^ Too bad there is no sound and music to enhance the mood. Very ambitious and well executed. Bravo !

May 9, 2013 @ 11:44am

Roads/bridges could use click-drag to place instead of selecting between each place. Having visible workers would have been nice. I had some trouble placing bridges sometimes, and I am unsure why. A very in-depth game, especially for 48 hours. Impressive.

May 9, 2013 @ 5:17pm

I won! ^^ Well ambitious and impressive. Good job for a 48h compo! For the future think about adding some sound and music, maybe allow the player to delete object if he made a mistake, and find a way to select object just on clic (and no having to press escape each time) ;)

GaTechGrad says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:01am

I like the concept and art style. I've always liked the production side of RTSes and cared less for the battles. I was able to place the buildings for production (mine, lumber mill, etc), but I never knew if there were workers harvesting anything. Maybe some meters showing how much stone, lumber, potatoes, etc you have would help.

ahm99 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:05am

Well, I won. But my main complaint is the world generator, or more specifically, the apple tree generator. The apple trees were hard to get to (and it was constantly in demand :). I will probably play this game again though. Also, the gameplay reminds me of my evolution game (see it here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-24/?action=preview&uid=11270). You did a great job :)

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Considering what and where to build to produce wood interested me. If you continue to develop this, I was not sure how to place an apple farm and became annoyed at pressing key 2 for every square of road placed.

mrspeaker says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:07am

I'm a sucker for city-builders. Nice work!

Saturnyn says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Impressive work on such a short time.

psc1997 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Very good game ;-)
Congratulations ;-)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 1:59am

not bad -- not sure where minimal is -- great job

Aron says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Nice try of creating a simple city building simulation. Somehow I couldn't assign workers after assigning my first ones to my mine. Seems to be bugged. I'd really like to see that game finished ans polished.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]