April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Conveyor

by multikorv - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Got started a bit late (17:00 on saturday) but still managed to keep it simple enough.
Decided beforehand to use Unity for this, basically it's my first completed project with that tool. For music I used Sunvox and for the sound I used Bfxr.
"Graphics" made with Photoshop.

There might still be some glitchy behaviour with the Controls when pressed between obstacles, but I'm pretty satisfied with how they turned out. :)

I had grander plans with the shading and materials but didn't have time for that at all, only got a basic shader up. I guess there are even other tasks with higher prio but some more proper shading would have helped with the aesthetics.

Check out the youtube link (http://youtu.be/8WunmgAVtEc) to se how I play it. If you find any emergent gameplay, please let me know. :)

****

The rules are simple, use UP and RIGHT arrow keys and stay on the platform. The goal is to stay on it for as long as you can.

UP - Jump
RIGHT - Glide right. This will consume boost.
(You cannot jump while you are gliding)

Boost will recharge when you're not gliding, after a short delay.

It can seem a bit hard at first, but give it a couple of tries. It won't take long i promise..unless you get really good at it.

TIP #1: Time your gliding mid jump to precision yourself through holes.
TIP #2: You can still jump from the floor when it falls so don't give up.
TIP #3: Don't get to close to the right edge, it will make it hard to see what's coming next.

****

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#443Mood3.03
#526Fun3.02
#790Theme3.30
#812Overall2.93
#835Innovation2.77
#839Humor1.86
#920Audio2.05
#934Graphics2.56

Comments

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:12pm

OK the controls are strange otherwise nice game!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:12pm

could do with some more responsive controls

graytest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Once I learned to use boost it was a lot of fun.

CogComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Nice. I liked the difficulty, but the "ball" felt a bit sticky

zerebruin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Nice game, although I'd say that a slower difficulty curve would be nice. Sometimes there are really hard sections right after the start. But the game is fast and fun and so one tries again a few times. Setting, graphics & music fit well together.

BumpkinRich says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Nice twist on the endless runner. Like the way the world seemed to be collapsing around behind you.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:18pm

A little bit glitchy but still playable !

multikorv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Became aware of some control issues, you cannot hold glide on ground and jump at the same time for instance. Controls definitely needs some more tweaking. Thinking more feedback for that as well.

bentog says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:40pm

I like gliding, and the game is surprisingly addictive. A few improvements (antialiasing, camera follows you if you go too much to the right) would make a great post-compo. The mood is pretty spacey, which is cool, so it is a great game overall :)

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:10pm

that was really cool. You should make the camera follow the player or have it look at him to increase playability :)

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:29pm

The physics tend to go all over the place... but the aesthetics are nice.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Maybe you could implement the longer you hold down up, the higher you jump. It would make jumping through those low holes a little easier.

multikorv says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:57am

A more dynamic camera would be nice, thought of that at the end and it's on the todo-list for the post-ludum edition. Also nicer shaders graphic fiddlings in general.

@Yukon Wainczak
The point is to "abort" your jump with a glide in order to get through. :) I will test it though.

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:28pm

I liked the aesthetics of it a lot.

Would have been nice if the boosting was a bit more obvious: easier to notice the first time around, easier to keep an eye on. Maybe some kind of bar?

messiano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:53pm

I was very confused by the physics!

TriBeard says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Cool game, liked the mechanic. I'm not even sure you needed to limit boost.

fussycashew says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Pretty nice, a bit unnatural control-wise though.

Tom 7 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:12pm

I found it difficult mainly because I didn't have much control over my jump (would be nice to do a light tap to jump short obstacles), but I guess maybe that is part of the point. Plays smooth. High score 3382!

multikorv says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:26pm

I have a main idea on how to remap the interaction to a single switch instead of two, but I'm not quite that fix will fit within the rules of change after deadline. :) Have started implementation of changes but won't publish them here until the voting is over.. Wish I did some more playtesting before submitting.

multikorv says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:26pm

..or any, for that matter.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:52pm

3362 was my best score

atlantian says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:09am

Enjoyed it, good job. Agree with some of the comments regarding slightly sluggish jumping controls.

TheSarcastic says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:24am

Really nice. Controls could get some improvs. Overall pretty good.

intripoon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:26am

Haha, behaves odd at times, but still fun!

ramoncb says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:30pm

simple but really fun, fit very well with the theme

perhaps a little difficult for me xD

stqn says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Too bad there's no Linux build. I like the screenshots.

bluescrn says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:36pm

The control system was quite nice - but it was pretty hard, and collisions were a bit too 'sticky' - with jump not always responding when you expect. The 'jump->glide' mechanic reminds me a bit of Bombjack, and that was always fun

dx0ne says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Simple and challenging. Could use little polish on gfx though. After :)

PapaGrimbles says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Nice twist on the runner. Would be cool if there were an object that were to slow you down a little if you collide with it (not stop completely). It is a little bit of a let down after threading the gaps but knowing you are going to die due to being too far on the right side.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]