April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ant Commander

by kernel panic - Jam Entry

All binaries are bundled together (with Windows DLLs included). Comment if there is a missing DLL.

If you're NOT using Windows, you will need to make sure that you have SDL and SDL_ttf installed.

Well, this one took much longer than it should have, which is ironic considering the theme. This time I put more effort into code organisation than getting results, but I do not regret this decision.

You control an army of ant creatures using pheromones (I say ants because that's what they were going to be until I felt time pressure).

You can also enjoy a fully proceedurally generated "inifite" world.

The (minimalist) objective is to keep your "ants" (orange) alive by leading them to food (green) using your infinite supply of pheromones (dark blue), which may be selected for drawing using M, or erasing using E. Draw using the mouse. Start the game by clicking somewhere to place an ant.

When an ant is full, it will reproduce (don't take this as a science lesson).

Keys:
1, 2, 3, 4, 5 - Select a game speed.
M - Select pheromone mode.
E - Select erase mode.
H - Display help text.
Home - Go to sector (0, 0).
Left, Right, Up, Down - Move view.
LeftShift + Escape - Quit.

Command Line Options:
./ants [SCALE [FULLSCREEN [SEED]]]

SCALE is an integer specifying the number of pixels per game cell.
FULLSCREEN is either 0 (windowed) or 1 (fullscreen).
SEED is an integer which is used to generate the map.

Examples:
./ants 2
Plays the game with each game cell displayed using 2 pixels.
./ants 2 1
Plays the game with each game cell displayed using 2 pixels in fullscreen.
./ants 2 1 9001
Plays the game with each game cell displayed using 2 pixels in fullscreen, playing on map 9001.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#112Innovation(Jam)3.47
#187Fun(Jam)3.12
#200Overall(Jam)3.32
#228Theme(Jam)3.39
#389Humor(Jam)1.65
#439Graphics(Jam)2.59
#442Mood(Jam)2.39
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

Joeslayer97 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:32am

Good game... however incredibly hard! Really a game that could become addicting!

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:30pm

I love ant sims! This one doesnt dissapoint either

Starspell says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:34pm

A really interesting take on the theme. It's obvious that a lot of work went into this. I really liked how it was presented but it would have been nice to have some definitive goal to drive you. Would have been nice to have WASD key control as well as Arrow Keys for better two handed play.

loxo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Interesting idea, I like it. It gets quite hard to manage all your ants over an infinite world.

Atridas says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:09pm

The moment you made something sim-ant-resembling, you got me.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:55pm

I miss SimAnt :( make this project alive !

TheCze says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Aaah I love games like that. The pheromenes did not really help me but I really love the simulation aspect of your game.

kernel panic says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:22pm

I guess people really want me to make this into something big... You're becoming convincing too...

intripoon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:31am

Protip: Don't set the speed to slow and try using any of the commands ...

Norgg says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:39am

Yay, another ant game!

LTyrosine says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:28am

This game is amazing. Very cool to find routes to new source of food and growing your colony. There's a lot of room for great ideas and improvements, hope you develop it further.

someone says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Yay, ants!

ohsqueezy says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Cool to see experimentation in data structures and algorithms in addition to game design.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:19am

nice -- gret use of theme -- and it was fun

StMatn says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Very cool game! It's already addicting, but after a short period of time it got a little bit boring. Some goals would make this even better. Great job!

SnoringFrog says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:27am

Wow. I absolutely love this. I ran for about 18k cycles with a high score of 801 ants before giving up and letting the last 150 or so run amok without any guidance as I typed this. I didn't get bored of playing, I just really need sleep haha.

Great game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]