April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mad World

by patrikspengler - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This might be the weirdest game I have ever made.
You are playing as a sheep, trying to reach the place called Simplicity to escape from the world of Chaos. Soon things get even more weird and it is all making less sense with time.

1. Extract the rar into any folder.
2. Run with madworld.bat or madworld.sh

WINDOWS: Run madworld.bat
Mac or Linux: Run madworld.sh
^If that doesn't work execute "java -jar -Djava.library.path=./native/ ./novummundum.jar
" manually

If using Linux you should do execute this in terminal: "chmod 777 ./madworld.sh" and then run madworld.sh


WARNING: I don't recommend playing this on Mac, it's really unstable.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#130Humor3.20
#244Mood3.29
#379Fun3.18
#400Audio2.97
#447Overall3.27
#530Graphics3.06
#707Innovation2.94
#917Theme3.15

Comments

rsodre says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:24pm

there's no run.sh for mac, could'nt run the game

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Couldn't get this to run on Linux, java complains about missing jinput and the .sh script doesn't work (there is no "PAUSE" command in bash...)

Farjuan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Wow the best game ive played for this yet

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Holy... sheep. Very weird, but I liked it a lot.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Sorry about the Linux/Mac thing, fixed it.:)

Macroz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Well done! I felt like hte beginning in the dark level was best mood and graphics. Weirdness was good. Crashed my Mac on quit. Also the .sh didn't work but running manually the exact same command worked.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Thanks for the reviews! :D

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03pm

I had to figure out how to add Java to my path to get this working, but I like it. I'll play it again later when I have more time to figure it out.

heuermh says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:05am

Sorry, I'm not able to get this running on OS/X.

$ chmod +x madworld.sh
$ ./madworld.sh
Tue Apr 30 23:00:02 CDT 2013 INFO:Found 0 controllers
JavaVM WARNING: JAWT_GetAWT must be called after loading a JVM
org.lwjgl.LWJGLException: Could not get the JAWT interface
at org.lwjgl.opengl.AWTSurfaceLock.lockAndInitHandle(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.AWTSurfaceLock.access$100(AWTSurfaceLock.java:51)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.AWTSurfaceLock$1.run(AWTSurfaceLock.java:94)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.AWTSurfaceLock$1.run(AWTSurfaceLock.java:92)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.AWTSurfaceLock.privilegedLockAndInitHandle(AWTSurfaceLock.java:92)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.AWTSurfaceLock.lockAndGetHandle(AWTSurfaceLock.java:66)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.MacOSXCanvasPeerInfo.initHandle(MacOSXCanvasPeerInfo.java:56)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.MacOSXDisplayPeerInfo.doLockAndInitHandle(MacOSXDisplayPeerInfo.java:56)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.PeerInfo.lockAndGetHandle(PeerInfo.java:85)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.MacOSXContextImplementation.create(MacOSXContextImplementation.java:47)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.ContextGL.<init>(ContextGL.java:132)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:875)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:782)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:764)
at net.fourbytes.ld26.Main.start(Main.java:74)
at net.fourbytes.ld26.Main.main(Main.java:246)

$ java -jar -Djava.library.path=./native/ ./novummundum.jar
Error: Unable to access jarfile ./novummundum.jar

$ find . -name novummundum.jar
(nothing found)

$ java -jar -Djava.library.path=native madworld.jar
Tue Apr 30 23:02:04 CDT 2013 INFO:Found 0 controllers
JavaVM WARNING: JAWT_GetAWT must be called after loading a JVM
org.lwjgl.LWJGLException: Could not get the JAWT interface
at org.lwjgl.opengl.AWTSurfaceLock.lockAndInitHandle(Native Method)
...

$ java -version
java version "1.7.0_21"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.7.0_21-b12)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 23.21-b01, mixed mode)

Stuffie says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Very trippy but I enjoyed it a lot, that is one crazy sheep when he is angry. Good graphics, but I sometimes found it hard to recognize which blocks were solid and which weren't.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:30pm

interesting use of theme. I think that was the weirdest game I've ever played :) Good job though!

HelkeGames says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Nice game, well done! :)

berkano says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Absolutely loved it, huge amount of content for 48hrs.. really playable and looks like you put a lot of thought into making it enjoyable for the player: ability to restart levels easily was a real bonus. Love the music. Some great mechanics (such as pushing rock into lava) which were intuitive without needing detailed instructions - one of the best I've seen in this compo - nice work!!

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:41pm

An atmospheric game! The graphics are a bit disjointed, but it plays well

Andromatta says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Yeah this is weird, but in a totally awesome way. I say up the weirdness!

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Pretty much crashed my system to the point where I had to reset it (OSX 10.8). I won't touch that again, sorry :/

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Pretty weird but cool. Nice entry!

May 3, 2013 @ 7:03pm

I there a way to run it in windowed mode?
in Ubuntu 12.04 (nvidia drivers, dual display) game's width set to width of both displays, but game is shown only in one display. So i see just half of the game :)

miotatsu says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:16pm

whacky story :P I like the music and style but the controls could have been more fluid, and because of things like an inconsistent interface I felt the game was greatly lacking in terms of conveyance. One other issue for me was that I wasn't sure if some of the tiles were background tiles or not, which is important in areas where a jump could lead to your death heh

May 3, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Cool graphics, gameplay implementation was a bit sloppy. Especially frustrating is how holding the jump button will cause you to jump less high then if you release. I made it to the end. I was annoyed because there was no way to quit, I had to ctrl-alt-delete to shut it down!

May 3, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Thanks for the reviews, to quit you have to press M, scroll down to EXIT and press it. I know, it sounds a bit complicated but I didn't want everyone to accidentally press ESC, thinking it would open a pause menu.

@RealyUniqueName
To run it in windowed mode, you have to press Options-->Graphics--->Fullscreen: FALSE

fr_automatik says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:28pm

I really liked it!

May 3, 2013 @ 7:29pm

I am aware there might be a bug at the end where you may not be able to quit, sorry about that.
I don't recommend it running for Mac as from now, didn't/don't have a chance to debug on OS/X.

May 3, 2013 @ 7:49pm

@patrikspengler looks like menu is on invisible part of the screen :(

May 3, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Had to edit config file to disable fullscreen. Very moody game.
Sometimes gui is hidden by level structures.

StMatn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Awesome game! I really liked the sheep and its cute artworks! The sound was setting the mood nicely.
Since I like exploring the boundings of levels, I found the (hardly visible) invisible wall on the volcano level a bit strange. A instant-death-lavaflow may have been an alternative, but thats not such a problem. Sometimes it was a little bit hard to tell if a tile was back- or foreground. The ending was a bit abrupt. I would have liked to play a bit more, since I really enjoyed playing your game.
I actually got a smile on my face, when I saw the sheep in its nice little shoes :) Great job!

Hayawi says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Really wierd game. Makes you think huh...Good Job :P

dremelofdeath says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:32am

Loved the mood of this game. Pressing Z broke my sheep's neck, I think.

HELLO23 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:48am

This game is awesome. I liked the music, and the graphics, the rain, the story, pretty much everything. 5/5.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]