April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

O.R.M. Ontological Ressource Management

by Logun - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Minimalism is focusing on the essential. Are you able to do that ?

---HOW TO PLAY---

Mouse only, left click

Your goal is to have as many points as you can when the countdown reach 0.

You start with one empty slot and have to select a type of entity to collect points : clicker (faster, but you need to click to collect) or farmer (slower, but autocollect points).
Then you have many options : unlock more space, buy new cliker/farmer, upgrade a slot's number of point by cycle, or enhance the slot's speed.

Everything you buy cost you points. Choose carefuly what you need.

----------------------

Click on clickers, farm with farmers, and collect points !

I think it is a more clever game that is primary looks like. I hope you will see it at the end of your first Try. Rush on all upgrades is maybe not the best path :)

Sadly, I have to go to sleep, I can't finish the last 3 hours. The only problematic bug : when you upgrade the number of clicker/farmer slots, clickers can deseapear, but they are still there ! Click on it !

ProTips : Start with clickers.

And try to perform a nice symphony with the guitar notes :D

Done with Javscript without any library.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#77Theme4.14
#119Innovation3.77
#352Overall3.38
#408Fun3.15
#475Audio2.83
#799Humor1.92
#824Mood2.61
#1176Graphics2.17

Comments

nicotuason says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:05am

Well it was different... It has a potentially interesting concept but it was hard to understand and took a long time to get going. In the end it just felt like grinding.

loxo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:05am

Interesting idea.

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:06am

Really enjoyed the audio

Gustera says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:07am

54 points ! :(

OysterKLAN says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:09am

I really like the idea here of farming different point scoring things. It's cool how it gets more hectic with all of the micromanagement, but still pays off as you get more points faster. The sound I found to be a bit intrusive; I think a bit quieter and shorter sound effects would be good.

caasi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:24am

I played this longer than any other games!

San says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:26am

Good idea, pretty innovative in this LD. I needed some times to undertand what it was though.

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:31am

It's a lot of fun to explore what strategies give the best result. Actually really addictive :) Well done!

Khaldrin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Addictive game with quite a replay value. I really like the "multiple strategies" concept behind this one. Reminds me a little of a minimalistic version of the buildup/economy part of a RTS game. Nice and fitting sound effects.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:55pm

229 points.

That is genius. You have effectively boiled the resource management aspect of the traditional RTS to it's most fundamental components. I am very impressed.

I will say, I'm not sure what it has to do with ontology.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Really like this! Every time management game, but done insanely simply. I was very close to giving up when I didn't know what to do, but I'm glad I worked it out! Instructions would have gone a long way. Also, I can hear you click your mouse to stop recording your sound :p

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:00pm

It was bit hard to get the idea first, since first I just waited for 10 pts in the big screen. But once I got it, it's pretty interesting! I think I got 117 pts or something.

optimality says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:05pm

I really enjoyed this game. Some awkwardness with the controls - clicking too much tended to highlight.

Follett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:22pm

That was weird. It kept me hooked for ages and I was really tactically thinking of my decisions but in the end it just felt like such a grind.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Interesting and fun. Well done.

belickim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Wow, the combination of fun and simplicity of this game is insanely impressive. The core fun feeling seems to come from discovering game's rules, and capabilities of each bought element. I would love to have a more complete version on my phone/tablet.

optimality says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:17pm

This is the only game so far I've come back to to play again for fun.

saggiosoft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:39am

This game needs some work to be understood. But it's a good game, and it's on the theme.

glbs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Funny game! You should try parameters by NEKOGAMES if you don't already know it. Your game reaches the same kind of minimalistic flavor :)

Johnicholas says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Nice audio, but the grind has seriously been done to death.

LTyrosine says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:13pm

I liked it a lot!

May 1, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Really clever abstraction of mechanics. Reminds me of many mmo mechanics. Thank you!

LTyrosine says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:24pm

308! =D

BleuLlama says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:37pm

I spent more time than I'm proud of clicking my mouse... well done!

Puccini says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:42pm

I like it. The music after a time surprised me and i like this detail :)
It was hard to understand how to start. The score overlap the square.

Jiggawatt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:40pm

I love this. The resource management is so simple but so addictive. Really forces you to think about the essential, which is what the theme is all about.

Tozy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:49pm

473 points... a little boring IMHO. Your game tries to give you choices but is all about calculations. If you haven't yet I recommend you to watch this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lg8fVtKyYxY
Well, at least it was minimalistic.

cardboard says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:01am

194! I like the melody that the clickers make. Towards the end it got a little tiring clicking all the clickers, but I still enjoyed the game :)

stqn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Interesting, but I think the gauges fill slower on my computer than on yours (the big gauge at the start definitely fills faster after buying more space and it is smaller.) You should take the elapsed time into account instead of just adding 2.
Then high scores would be great, since this game is all about the score :).

PsenFilip says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:13pm

The inner mechanic is pretty good (resource management at its core) but the game is rather grindy without a single meaning for me.
Interesting nonetheless.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]