April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

IN THE minimal NEED OF A POTATO

by nicso - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Grab the 11 holly potatoes (ok, not really holly), in a minimum of time. You'll have to jump/slide/die trough a minimalistic level, witch will dictate the gameplay by his 4 colors.
arrows to move
X to do an action
Oh and, potato.

Done with the flixel lib,SFXR, photoshop and flashdevelop.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#208Graphics3.65
#381Humor2.52
#416Overall3.30
#526Fun3.02
#611Mood2.81
#730Audio2.41
#739Innovation2.90
#946Theme3.11

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:09am

Nice and simple. The graphics are ok.

lots of pixel perfect jumping is required though, death is a slapt to the wrist, but perhaps the controls and hit detection could have been bit more adjusted.

texel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:45am

Frustrating -- far too much pixel perfect jumping involved.

joeyhammer1 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:15am

Very hard but very good idea!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:26am

At first it was fun. Then it was frustrating because of the difficulty.

ps3master72 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:30am

cool game, loved it!!! simple and fun!

Killswitch says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:49am

It can be frustrating sometimes for right-timing. The graphics are nice and it's somewhat fun.

nSun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:04am

11:21.64 with 93 deaths...
La première patate après le premier checkpoint a failli me rendre dingue (j'essayais de passer par en dessous...)
En effet, c'est chaud (hitbox, inertie...), mais c'est justifié et cohérent.
Good job !

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:33am

Very fun! A bit frustrating!xD

Colapsydo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:39am

Great idea, nice realization, potatoes !

Tbaggi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Thanks for puting checkpoint on your game!!! xD

cacciatc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Just what are those white death bars made of? Nice entry.

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:50pm

For the life of me I simply can't get past that green area with the up/down blocks! Are those spikes hanging down from the ceiling that kill you?

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Far too hard for me... collision detection is very unforgiving, can't seem to pass the green area... :(

Skywilly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Super dur mais quand on a fait VVVVVV, pas moyen d'être effrayé ! C'est très inspiré, bien fun et quelquefois super bien pensé. J'aime beaucoup :)

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Fun game, neat mechanic for changing ability. controls are very sensitive and collision checks are unforgiving. Had fun, died 44 times :(

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Very cool, I liked the change in mechanics. Fun little platformer kept me interested until the end. Nice job!

uncade says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:48pm

A little hard, but I thought the art was really well made and the colors were really bright and aesthetically pleasing!

TammiLion says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Quite hard. At times pressing left or right paired with a bit too much movement to be able to control the character. I had a lot of trouble with the hanging blocks too haha! Aesthetically pleasing indeed ;)

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:56am

The jumping mechanic was frustrating. I found myself doing the same area over and over again due to how, as others put it, "pixel perfect" it was. (It describes it well, to be honest.) I noticed that the colored areas affected movement and jump, which was fun. That damn blue area though... :P Great work!

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:59am

Cool concept, gameplay kind of tight and discouraging when losing endlessly. The hero sprite is really well done!

BrothersT says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:12am

When you slide you lurch forward before getting down to the floor so there was one bit where I had to slide through the gap but there wasn't enough of a run up to get down before I hit it. Hit boxes were a bit dodgy - It might even be an idea to forgive the player a pixel or two so that there's more "phew I got through" going on, than "bloody unforgiving game". Every time you step forward it carries on for a split second. which means if you're trying to line yourself up in that thin little chimney, it's not really in your power to control whether the player steps too far or not, unless you step back, and forwards, and back, and forwards, and again and again until you think you might be far away enough to not hit the wall when you step forwards again - and if you go too far or not far enough after that it's unbelievably frustrating because you know you've got to go through the whole process again. I like your idea about the colour zones doing different things. Just needs sharper controls.

Oye Beto says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:00pm

- I have to slide in a small orange space. It seems impossible because my character won't start sliding in such a small space D:
- I liked the animation of the guy
- The death sound is kind of annoying
- The mechanic looks like a good idea but it needs to be implemented with better level design.

imagnity says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Make it a little easier please. It's too hard. If I am a player, I want to have up and down in difficulty so I will keep playing.

CrazyGage says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Good game. really hard due to the slightly wonky control. hard to do anything in small measures. Otherwise, I really enjoyed it.

AlexFili says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Very good game but it's so hard. The collision detection is pixel by pixel and that can be very frustrating. Nice animation and good graphics overall.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:44am

not bad -- little to strict on the jumping -- great job

Yezu says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Difficult. One needs to be very precise. But I like the idea of the background colors impacting the way the character moves.

numpad says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:30pm

This is great! The innovation is 5/5. I loved the different background effects, even thought the controls were really annoying and needed more polish.
The game was kinda hard and sometimes frustrating but in general it was good.

Angerus says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:29am

Simple but still fun and nice. I just love the avatar animation!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]