April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Edward Was Human

by geepit - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First time entering ludum dare/first actually completed game. Not too creative use of the theme, went for minimalistic graphics and gameplay mechanics.
A game about loving what you have, or something.

Made in Game Maker using using the Grandma Engine by Matt Thorson.
Music made in Reason.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#80Mood3.71
#135Overall3.70
#217Audio3.27
#294Theme3.82
#332Fun3.23
#352Graphics3.33
#557Humor2.22
#881Innovation2.69

Comments

Gustera says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:58am

Cool Graphics

noa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:44am

An pretty interesting journey, good job. ^^

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:23pm

This game is amazing! The platforming's smooth, the art cool and the story awesome!

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:26pm

I really like the journey and the commentary as you progress through the game. Pretty solid work here.

Corofides says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:29pm

That was cool. Neat little story and game. I loved the bit at the beginning when you could only move in one direction. Really made it seem just that little bit more challenging.

lfpetrini says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Nice job, kept me playing until the end. The only thing I would change is the delay of some dialogs, some of them changed too quickly.

richy486 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Loved the story, wish I could give more stars for it

AlvaroH says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Good graphics and music

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:59pm

The music is great! I really liked the story too :)

mostley says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:06pm

love it! Reminded me a bit of Knytt.

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Really great entry, unfortunately I couldn't get the sound to play on Linux with wine, not sure if it's a bug with wine or whatever... Everything else is great, pretty good entry, one of my favorite.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:53pm

I really like the music that plays in the caves.

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Lovely little story and lovely little pixel art. Woof :)

I think i am a big fan of the platformer + narrator genre. The platforming was well done and the game feels complete. Great job!

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Really awesome, excellent work for 48 hours!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Nice animation and story telling, levels chained well, text is always visible, all good :)

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Very cool experience. It kept my attention. Music was super good.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Loved it! First Ludumdare game I've played today that I got stuck on and "had" to finish! The ending was perfect as well. :)

TomboFry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Favourite game so far - Many others are far more advanced (ie. 3D, randomly generated, etc) but this is perfect!

AlanBazan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Awesome journey!!!

Joror says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:08pm

A nice little complete game, no part of it felt underdeveloped. Quite a feat for a ludum dare game!

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Great story! The game looks and plays very smoothly, and you nailed the theme. Nice use of color to go along with the progression of the character's thoughts!

farmergnome says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Need more stars! This is great.

Markavian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:09pm

That was beautiful.

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Honestly I wanted to dislike this as an arty platformer with a long unskippable intro, but...I smiled at the end. Really nice minimalist work.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Wow, genius dude! I enjoyed the story very much.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:23pm

WOW, amazing game. I think it was a bit easy but the story kept me playing, I couldn't stop until it was finished. During the first part I was thinking:"Come on Edward, you have your family and your dog, don't go away!!! :( "

Good job!

Hyaku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:19pm

I didn't expected something that good.

Really charming.

geepit says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:40am

Thanks for the really nice words guys!
Glad people are enjoying it :)

jmf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Very cool game, loved every second. Good challenge and great story as well.

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Well that was a story indeed! Not particularly complex gameplay mechanics, but more story-based.

Tifu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Pretty nice relaxing experience, I thought the first part was more interesting than the rest - as being unable to go left has a weird disorienting feeling, which I was really enjoying, and hoped would continue (like... if jump had been disabled at the bottom of the cave or something). Good job.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:30pm

It is one of my favorite games here at ludum dare 26 ... cool artwork... very atmospheric... cool sound... nice story... yep i will play this game again some time

Crazi456 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:37am

Fits theme perfectly, was very relaxing!

Blizzil says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Really liked the story and graphics, the gameplay at the start was a clever idea too. Did not liked the music that much, but overall I enjoyed playing it!

May 15, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Nice philosophical theme and I think the gameplay does complement that.

Benjamin says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Good story, great intro and top mood mark, but seriously...*SPOILER ALERT* What have you done Edward ? You could have been a super hero, learn to double jump and throw fireballs instead of coming back to your wife and kids... What have you done ?! At least leave with the dog next time, It would have made some fun gameplay to get him out of the cave

MinionStudios says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Fun and heart-warming. Kinda

lorancou says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 6:15pm

So this is your first jam-game? o_0 Wow! Impressive! You've created a lot of levels and you tied them very well with the narration, very good work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]