Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 26

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Leaf Me Alone - Claw - Jam Entry

A 'minimalist' metroidvania (if there is such a thing). We tried to focus on the feel of the world and the ambience to make it seem like a nice place to wander around.

The game focuses on exploration, with some platforming and light puzzle elements.

Noteable influences:
Proteus, Fez, Melodisle, Zelda (Wind Waker) and Final Fantasy.

Code + art: Mark Foster (@ClawhammerMark)
Audio Effects and Music: David Fenn (@autotwitch)

This was the most fun I've had jamming, even though I was quite ill throughout. I always forget how awesome Ludum Dare is, looking forward to the next one already!

Mirror: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/49995129/games/LMA.swf

View Claw's journal. | View all entries by Claw

Ratings

Mood(Jam)4.57
Audio(Jam)4.55
Overall(Jam)4.50
Coolness72%
Fun(Jam)4.27
#30Graphics(Jam)4.35
#79Humor(Jam)3.14
#138Innovation(Jam)3.38
#191Theme(Jam)3.51

Comments

CNIAngel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:14am

I love you

Split82 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:16am

Yes! Perfect in every single way.

AlanZucconi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:29am

A short, lovely game.
I particularly enjoyed the music. It fits perfectly! :-)
And the character... well... it resemble the one from CHROMA. So this is another reason to love it! :-)

chrysiridia says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:20am

So cute! Also, please tell me the main character is a potato.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:43am

Very nice. Loved just jumping around, seeing the things. Great feel to it. I enjoyed watching the birds fly away.

Jan Marcano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:04am

All my start are belong to you. 5/5. This game is so well done. I cannot praise you enough.

Your influences reflect in the game and I absolutely love them. You've got yourselves a new follower. I'm looking forward to more of your games

N427 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:08am

Incredible, just incredible! The atmosphere is wonderfully cheerful and the gameplay is great. 5/5

Colorvade says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:31am

This has some great atmosphere. First time I've given a 5 in mood.

Cory Martin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:59am

Wind Waker and Fez are really good games to be inspired by. I really like it.

Andrio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:42am

Claw, I am deeply and seriously in love with this.

Sakuyan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:55am

I love this so much. But the Squirrel... what is it?! I must know!!!

danhett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:04am

This warmed my blackened husk of a heart, outstanding work chaps.

MikePad says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:03am

Great work! I'm a fan of the mechanics and love the style of art. Big ups!

jijaweb says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:38am

It was like playing mini-Fez. I hope I made it to the end. Just made it to the final words...

GREAT WORK!

Wan & Almudys says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:43am

Great entry! This little gem will help waiting for the release of Chroma ;)

CrowbarSka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:14am

Great little game. Nice use of spatial dynamics to create interesting obstacles.

I *think* I've completed it but the game hasn't explicitly told me that, so I'm leaving it running in the background in case there's more :)

FredericRP says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:17am

Very well done !

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:47am

I just finished the game, and I have to say it's the best I've played so far. I loved everything about it, the gliding mechanic, the flowers and the mood were all top notch.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:46pm

This is the most Perfect entry i saw on other a hundred, mine included as well ! You guys rock!

Hyaku says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Just fisished. And i love it!

HackThePanda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Absolutely marvelous, really nice job :D

3.14 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Great game! Reminds me of the original Knytt games.

Pixelulsar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Nice game!
I liked the gliding mechanic and the atmosphere was great.

geepit says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Simply fantastic! Every aspect was amazing. Loved it

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Beautiful game, loved it!

LeafMeAlone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:39am

Was this game named after me? haha I use LeafMeAlone for almost everything I do! Game wasn't too shabby either :)

OddballDave says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:50am

Great work Mark. And great work on the audio Dave. This one has got the best music of the entries I've played so far.

plash says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Awesome stuff. Definitely feeling the FEZ in this.

Tifu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:01am

Awesome. I really like the abilities the little guy finds, they're not the standard set of things you find in most metroidvanias, and it's all real adorable :3

DrGeraud says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:26am

Guys, I just fall in love with your game.
I can't believe there is so much great games created during this LD, just WOAW.

jackspinoza says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:39am

just incredible, one of the nicest games I've played. love love love. It sucked me in and gave me a cuddle. super. I'm going to share it with my little sisters and all my chums. Thanks for this game, so accomplished. 5/5 all over the place. great stuff.

evilseanbot says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:35am

I loved this game a lot.

My only caveat is that I thought the next goal is a little too unclear after you grab the first star, but other than that I thought the game was absolutely fantastic.

May 3, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Well, this is amazingly lovely. Nice work! :D

epaik says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:29am

so good

Ithildin says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:00pm

This is one of the most polished games I've found so far. Graphics and music are beautiful, and so is gameplay (I'm still exploring after the first leave, though). Congratulations! =)

brxtr says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:07am

A very pleasant experience. The pixel art is cute and the audio is fitting and nice. Some of the platforming is a little tedious, although I really like the leaf and how it is used mechanically.

May 6, 2013 @ 12:26pm

I don't want to type anything else, just: <33333

Andy West says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:36am

Absolutely amazing. I can't believe how good this is.

savethejets1 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:33am

Amazing... This _is_ the best Ludum Dare game I've ever played in all the ludum dares I've taken part in. Great work!

euwaku says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:12am

Maybe one of the best entries I could test so far. You could amply feel the Fez influence, but I still loved it. Congratulations :)

stevejohnson says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:36am

A few rough spots and finicky bits with the vertical air jets. But holy cow, what a fun experience!

naufr4g0 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:31am

Amazing game! :D
I love game mechanics and all sounds (music & sfx).
It reminds me a lot of Knytt series with its delightful atmosphere.

TurboDindon says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:15am

Beautiful and poetic game. It look like a minimalist-2D-FEZ.
Wonderful atmosphere and music.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

galman says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:15am

Perfect game! I'll be really happy if this game will win :D Well done! Btw, there's an invisible block in the end..

numpad says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:36am

That is so great! The music and sounds were awesome and the floating mechanic. Wow!
Awesome work!

timtipgames says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:41am

Love it. Especially the music.

tcstyle says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:36am

Beautiful game, nice mechanics. The level design could be streamlined a bit. Didn't like the end.

Sestren says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:50pm

The sound was superb and the gameplay was fun and engaging. Excellent job!

dector says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Very cute game!

May 9, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Beautiful game! Love it!

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Love this game, so well done!

stqn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Nice game, but jerky scrolling and I abandonned after trying like 10 times to reach the squirrel on his throne (?). Doesn't seem very theme-ish.

goerp says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:04pm

By now, I cannot add anything that hasn't been said above.
Just a magnificent game and the soundtrack, the best I've heard so far.

shawn42 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:05am

Beautifully done. I felt like the character had just a little too much momentum. It took me a while to compensate for it.

I wouldn't be surprised if this game wins in the overall category.

ethankennerly says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:14am

The light graphics and lilting ambient sounds and music enchanted me. If you continue to develop this, I felt some difficulty getting to the next platform from the first blowing flower.

wallmasterr says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 9:59am

awesome little game , couldnt figure out what to do after the 2nd ability thoug, i went back and collected some white cubes but then got lost. Nice animations and music, overall grate.

nilstastic says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:03am

Pros: Nice moody feeling, good music and good graphics (and animations)!
Cons: A bit low fps? (have a computer that should be able to handle it)

Jeremias says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:50pm

One of the best games I played so far. Really. Playing this was just like meditation :D

Great sounds, great music, lovely graphics, small puzzles with the right difficulty. Just great.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:15am

Super duper! From start to finish! Cute and vivacious!

May 12, 2013 @ 3:29pm

How do you get to the squirrel? :c

May 12, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Ah I figured it out with help from the dev. ^_^

Such an adorable game, I can't but love it. The graphics and sound creates a very cutesy aesthetic which just makes you wanna squeal. Simply baffling.

Excellent job! ~

Taro Omiya says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:29am

Definitely a Windwaker-like mini-Metroidvania. Had a lot of fun!

Fadobo says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 7:57am

Lovely Experience!

atraxgames says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:49am

Beautiful and perfect under every aspect.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:37am

Well polished, and very long game for a LD.

michail says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Absolutely beautiful!

Ryusui says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:57am

Simply beautiful. I just wish there was a bit more resolution. Loved the Squirrel King, BTW. XD

martijn says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 8:33am

Definitaly a windwaker vibe. Pretty fun to play actually.

lorancou says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Cute but a bit too hard for me. I lose patience quickly with platformers, got stuck inside the tree with the blowing flowers... I wish the jumps were a bit easier. But congrats on the mood!

Alprog says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:25am

Best level design, that I seen on competition and organic tips about control. So beautiful, so cute, so indie way. Must play.

Hiku says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Love.

Roupette says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 2:42pm

So cute ! I want to plane again !

Xanjos says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Really good atmosphere, excellent music, nice graphics plus an amazing world to explore. Some of the platforming elements were hard but the mechanics were done so well. An absolutely amazing game overall.

deathray says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Adorable! I got frustrated with the platforming while inside the tree, but I loved the atmosphere and the animation of the main character.

May 19, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Awesome! :)

alts says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 5:29am

This is a really polished and beautiful game. Doesn't feel particularly on-theme, but well done anyway.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Fantastic game! One of the best entries! Marvelous art, sound and mood. Congratulations!

SnoringFrog says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Adorable game, beautiful sounds. Got stuck looking for the third star, but that's because I had completely overlooked the existence of the area where it was located. Great work.

May 21, 2013 @ 12:20am

Awesome game. I think I finished it? Got a message, exited the 3-gem room and the game reset? Pretty great job. Music is perfection. Can I contact you for music? :) Art great, and the game mechanics are solid. Only issue I had was getting enough momentum from the 3 jump pads in the squirrel room to get up top. Took me forever to find the magic momentum spot.

Evil Cult says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 5:18am

Lovely. Finished the game and also found the owl! I found it a bit too hard to find the third star/gem though. One thing I might want to see is the ability to press down to clip back through platforms. Great entry, and grats on the score!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 6:44am

Awesome games, i'm happy it's first place!

Infin8 says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 9:11am

Awesome! Seems Kinda hard though, all the jumps are always on the edge from the start.

Adipson says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 2:04pm

congratulations !

May 21, 2013 @ 2:41pm

This is delightful! Well done and congratulations!

sharpnova says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Could have been a flawless game. But after I got the ability to drop chestnuts and make my own float flowers, I was completely lost. I searched the area for about half an hour. Finally I decided to backtrack and returned to the inside of the tree. I made my way up to the top of the tree and dropped down to the left side to see what was down there. There was a ledge at the bottom.

No way to suicide.

No way to restart the area.

No way to get back up.

Forced to end game and lose progress.

I'm not sure the logic on how one should rate a game that is otherwise pleasant but impossible to complete due to low intelligence on the part of the creator.

I'm going to give it a 5/10.

Beldarak says ...
May 22, 2013 @ 2:27am

Plain awesome. I'm glad you won ;)

Gravity Games says ...
May 22, 2013 @ 4:51am

...wow. I'm absolutely astonished. HOW THE HECK DID YOU MAKE A GAME SO GOOD IN 48 HOURS? I MUST KNOW!

...but seriously, I'm really glad you won, you definitely deserved it. I really loved the Fez atmosphere I got from it, heck, this game pretty much already feels professional, you should make a post-mortem and put it on Steam or something!

Wan & Almudys says ...
May 22, 2013 @ 10:49am

Congrats on winning despite your low intelligence ;)

mes says ...
May 22, 2013 @ 12:51pm

that ending... lmao

mpalenque says ...
May 23, 2013 @ 6:57am

hey!!
,mirror!
the dropbox is not working, too much traffic! too popular for dropbox!

Claw says ...
May 23, 2013 @ 7:38am

Re-uploaded it, you can play here: http://iamclaw.com/?page_id=250

May 25, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Two spoilers/walkthrough tips for those stuck:
1. The objective of the game has to do with the door that you start the game next to.
2. The spinning flowers give you momentum if you continue floating by more than one.

Coil_Whine says ...
Nov 9, 2013 @ 5:53am

It's... beautiful.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]