April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Katana Senpou

by saint11 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game made in 48 hours for Ludum Dare.
It was inspired by Alex Kidd and Samurai Kirby (from Kirby Superstar).

This game is a tribute to the games that I liked when I was young, so all the Japanese text and voice (and even the tittle!) make absolutely no sense.
I wanted people to feel the way I felt when I played Japanese games, where nothing made sense.

The single player mode has 11 levels and an ending image. If you to check out more about my work you can find it here: http://www.studiominiboss.com

Special thanks to my lovely wife @amora_b and to @ninaringo, who kept feeding me cookies and cupcakes while I was making this game!

INSTRUCTIONS:
The game should be self explanatory, but here are the controls:
First player (or single player):
SPACE: Attack.
Z or X: Change move.
Second Player:
ENTER: Attack
O or P: Change move.
Wait for the Signal to attack (Watch out for the fake signal!)! And the moves works in a similar way to Rock, Paper Scissors.

KNOWN BUGS:
- There's a bug that sometimes may freeze the game if you attack right before the signal. But it's very uncommon, so just refresh and try again if you get it! I'll fix it on the next build!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#7Graphics4.51
#34Overall3.98
#36Mood3.92
#42Audio3.88
#53Fun3.78
#111Humor3.35
#494Innovation3.19
#646Theme3.45
#1564Coolness39%

Comments

7Soul says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:14am

Great job. It's a very simple concept but the level of polish is very high.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:40am

Polished and nicely done. Had a good laugh with the voice over job :).

Tuba says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:16am

DAT GRAPHICS :o

Very beautiful and fun game (also quite hard), great job. :)

CyberYeti says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23am

Really amazing atmosphere and style while keeping some incredibly fun and challenging gameplay. One of the best entries I've seen yet. Great job!

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:26am

Astounding polish. I just wish I had someone to play with!

Andre Kent says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:30am

As expected, simple, but so different! It's hard to see a well-designed rock-paper-scissors game with some level of challenge! I'm astonished! :D (The sound effects are great too!)

NAMKCOR says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:33am

Fantastic little game, the rock/paper/scissors element really makes it tense.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:40am

Great game! My only complaint is that I had a hard time making sense of the Japanese characters (and what was what).

SnoringFrog says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:41am

I hit one bug (I struck early in round 2 or 3, then the game never let me continue), but never hit that issue again after a refresh.

Otherwise, excellent game. Samurai Kirby was one of my favorite things as a kid, and this is a great tribute to it (with a nice twist as well!).

Muu? says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:47am

Cool and polished rock-scissor-paper implementation.

gabehollombe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:00am

I really, really enjoyed this one. This game gets my highest ratings yet. Fantastic art direction, simple mechanics, great soundtrack, moody feel. You should be very, very proud of this. Fantastic job!

Zathalos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:58am

Simple mechanics with super sweet art wrapped up in a nice package. The game is nicely made and has a great mood. Awesome job.

dissonance says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:31am

Great job! Very polished! A little too easy, but great nonetheless!

omaromeir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:13am

Amazing, the idea is simple but the graphics, music and level of polish is just amazing :D.

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:23am

This game is the bomb! Really love the simple idea and solid execution, the style is awesome.

DrGeraud says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:46am

Great !
That's so amusing, we have more or less the same gameplay and the same theme (samurai, ninja, whatever). My game is also about dueling with the sunset as backdrop.

They are not exactly the same, but one thing is sure : you handle it way better than me ! (I even aiming for the jam, I couldn't make it to the compo).

So, congrats ! \o/

lucasncv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Excellent entry! Incredibly polished, good job.

Infin8 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Awesome game. Hard to beat the AI, until you start acting randomly against it.

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:58pm

A very polished rock-paper-scissors! Nice one!

Clodial says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Definitely one of my favorites so far XD

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Nice game! Best audio so far! Congrats!

FredericRP says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Very nice, simple and efficient :)

Sestren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:25am

I love the decisions you made with both the sound and the art style. Very cool entry.

AlanBazan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:34am

!@#!@#$! Good game!!!

Jan Marcano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:44am

Awesome! Really nice level of polish. Has a high quality bar.

The last samurai was though!

Hegemege says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:47am

Stunning graphics, really fun and a bit challenging game! Lovely audio as well. 5/5 hands down

Sakuyan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:48am

This is really good! :)

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:51am

Once again...

Very well done! :D

saampahlavan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:12am

One of the few games I played to the very end. Kinda wish there was a bigger ending, but overall the use of simple rock x paper x scissors and the tension of waiting for an attack really worked well with the theme. Fantastic job!

PAMVllo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:16am

Nice Game! Very Hard but I liked it!

reverso13 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:24am

I love how you take such a simple idea to a very enjoyable game!! Also the graphics are really beautiful.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:58am

Nice job!
Graphics and gameplay looking interesting =)

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:32am

I'm impressed. You managed to make a Rock-Paper-Scissors-like game work as an actual game I would play.

Chman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:44am

Simple concept but very effective, and quite fun in two players mode !

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:09am

A simple concept, beautifully polished.

Angerus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:33am

I really liked the humor, mood and overall degrees of realization of the game! I think that the concept, even in its simplicity, was well done and really answered the theme!
So... Banzaï Saint11! Banzaï!
P.S : And thanks for your LD 23's code source. Really help me a lot for this LD! :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Love the idea of a "single move", it makes this quite tense.

henrykun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Very nice graphics and good mechanics :)

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Really nicely polished. I wasn't sure which guy I was sometimes though! Maybe differentiate them slightly more? 5 stars!

PsenFilip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:23am

The art is gorgeous. Overall aesthetics are sweet.
I find it pretty humorous too. Had a good laugh when I first read rocku, papperu and scizoru on there.

Jacob says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:14am

Well done!

GranaDa says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Totalmente Excelente! :D

Dohan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:20pm

This has been the most funny rock-paper-scissors game I've ever played. Great look and feel!

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:59am

Pretty decent game. Well polished and was fun to play. Although the tron character at the end needs desperately to be nerfed or something

lekochen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:30am

What a coincidence, I made a Rock-Paper-Scissors like fighting game as well. Good game. Amazing polished.

KevinZuhn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Excellent! The long-haired ninja was my favorite.

RobKat says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:19pm

So cool! I presume there was a rock paper scissors thing going on but instead I rapid tapped the change move button and launched when the signal came :D Love this game!

rubna says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Great job! Really simple idea but effective none the less. The AI seemed a bit random though, and therefor unfair, but you can't really help that with this kind of game. Haven't tried versus, but I bet that's loads more fun.
Great entry overall!

Zccc says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:52pm

So awesome, I love the animations, but the game itself is kind of confusing!

sharbelfs says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:24am

Hard as hell!! But it's very polished, and have great animations!

Alucard J says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:53am

Very hard, would suit 2 player better. Awesome graphics and audio, Well Done =]

Travis Irby says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:00am

Love the graphics and animations! Game is fun too :D Nice job

lotusgame says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:26am

Very well polished game ! Excellent graphics. Well done !

Knighty says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:31am

Fun game! It feels like the opponent is cheating and changing his move after I attack, but maybe I just have a slow reaction time.

Xanjos says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:25pm

A really interesting twist to one of my favourite minigames ever. The rock-paper-scissors element adds an extra depth of strategy to this reaction-based game that makes it really fun and addictive (which basically means mindgames when playing against another person in versus mode :D)

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Looks great, I like the animation when executing a move. Well done.

Kali Purr says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:16am

This game is really cool. It starts off a little jokey ("Mitsubishi!") But then becomes a game of concentration and patience. Wonderful!

MinionStudios says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Awesome game with fantastic gameplay.

TurboDindon says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:41am

Very dynamic mise-en-scene.
I suck ; I can't win the first level of the game. I don't understand why.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

dalbinblue says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:12am

Well polished game, and fun. Played with my brother; turns out I'm pretty terrible.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 3:58am

one of my favorites from the dare -- great job

xploitgames says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:08pm

I had fun playing. No idea what I was doing. But I seemed to win. Versus mode is a ++! Great job!

rsodre says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 6:24am

muito bom!!

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Very, very fun! I love it! This would actually make a pretty good combat system in some larger RPG. Not that the game isn't already plenty good on its own!

Suggestion: If you want to add more visual polish (as if the game need it) you could make the rock-paper-scissors thoughts put the enemies in different stances, to reinforce the idea that it's a "move."

brantkings says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 2:12am

Great game. The amount of polish is outstanding! Versus mode is a +, it really is.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]