April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A Square In A Room

by PapyPilgrim - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A little puzzle-game, you have to find your way through the room and reach the green zone.

I made this in under 12 hours, and nearly 2/3 of that time was spend designing levels and testing it (big thank you to my familly; especially my sister)

-----------
Tools Used
-----------
FlashDevelop - flixel
http://inudge.net/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#9Theme4.44
#59Audio3.73
#66Overall3.87
#103Fun3.62
#105Mood3.61
#119Innovation3.77
#477Graphics3.13
#633Humor2.12

Comments

Rasto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:08am

awesome game! 100% hit into the theme.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:49pm

very relaxing too!

slol7896 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Nice game!

omaha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:53pm

this is fantastic. i feel like i'm always off by 1 pixel. me, not the game.

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Very interesting take on a memory game, for visual / spatial memory. Although it is a bit frustrating. :)

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Awesome mechanics

mchaza says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:50pm

cool sound, nice level design, cool concept, nice work man!

hmmvot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:51pm

This is really good game. I can't stop. )

Alink says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Brilliant simplicity. And nice attention to details with the different color fading and how the light propagate. Just missing seeing the whole map at each end.

PS: That's very stupid of me, but when I hit my first red wall, I incorrectly assumed that now all walls were killing me, and thus also avoided the gray ones (which sadly are not on the way for 3 levels) and I always ended up on the reds, preventing me to understand my error and thus using the highlight helper. Since like that it was a bit frustrating and looked too hard, I almost gave up. Maybe mention something about the red/gray difference in description?

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:35pm

For me, this one scores higher in 'mood' than most other games I've played so far - for something so (visually) simple it all fits together so well. Impressively polished overall.

uncade says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:34pm

All of the audio was fantastic! I'm awful at this kind of game, but I didn't really feel frustrated losing a lot.

LoneStranger says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:27am

Love it. Very interesting, and very challenging.

thephantom says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:56am

great game , loved the effects too much

KEFIR says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:47am

I felt a little deja vu (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-19/?action=preview&uid=1865) :) But still very good job and realisation! Great level gesign!

May 4, 2013 @ 11:53am

Very good!! It felt like I was using echolocation, which was a neat experience :D

WiseGAMER says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:57am

Nice game, it goes very well with theme. I also loved the music>

Tifu says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:24pm

I really like the use of theme and the different layers of invisible walls is a great concept. But there's a little too much trial and error in some areas. Especially level 15 -agh. Even the levels after that one seemed fairer.

May 5, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Very innovative and puzzling!

daniel2357 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Very intersting game . Love the concept :D

Ludipe says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:03pm

fun game, 5/5 in theme. A bit frustrating sometimes but the difficulty is well set.

TheSarcastic says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Awesome! Fantastic ideia, great execution!

jamesca says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Enjoyed it

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Nice! Bit too much "bad type" trial an error in later levels, but it's all good.

Pisti says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Really enjoyed the game, but god some levels were cruel. Fits the theme perfectly, well done!

kazukishida says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Loved it man, it felt like a 2D Devil's Tuning Fork with the awesome visuals (and yet still remains simple and pleasing). The audio was a nice touch as well. I got a bit too frustrated at times with the pixel-accurate collision, though. D: (but that's not really your fault, it's mine haha)

Great game! :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]