April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

X PRESS

by Pitoum - Jam Entry

Instructions:
Press X

Made by:
@dzifyr
@Pitoum

We used to make:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=7969

More informations tomorrow, I'm currently a bit tired.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#62Graphics(Jam)4.10
#134Humor(Jam)2.79
#161Fun(Jam)3.20
#166Mood(Jam)3.30
#213Audio(Jam)3.08
#218Overall(Jam)3.29
#493Theme(Jam)2.49
#539Innovation(Jam)1.79
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

Pierrec says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:04am

very super cool fun and trippy!

Skywilly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:37am

My god, i lose at 200M of the ending. I'm so a loser.
But your game is very beautiful & is a great visual/musical experience ! Congrats !

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:06am

Nice game, love th graphic :D

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:08am

Cool little game. I especially love the attention to details. Amazing graphics and music!

RobKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:09am

Very engaging, great visuals and audio. One of my favourites so far

TheCze says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:12am

Excellent graphics!

juaxix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:14am

Canabalt colorful revamp, I like it.
I would like to see my friend, are the distance you ran, re-run in the next game?

FredericRP says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:40am

no innovation in the gameplay but great visual effects !
lost also right before the end.. arrrrrhhh !

Magnus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:44am

Oh man, I died right at the end, and laughed at the death screen. Good stuff. I like the transitions and the color palette.

pereubu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:48am

very nice art, I just regret there's nothin' more in your game design.
Nice overall :D

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:21pm

This is great! Love the visuals and the Pink/Neon-Style. Controls are gameplay feel punchy enough too. The world switches make things interesting, but the game remained quite easy.

This game goes Off The Rails once you are done. Wow. I did not expect that.

There are a lot of things that it doesn't really need, though, which I think detract from the game. The story-screen only delays the actual "game", the title-screen is enough. The "Achievements" are quite obnoxious. there are better ways to include story-beats, like thought-bubbles,voice-narration, etc.

Also you don't have to explain how to press x in a special text, as it is all over the game :P

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:35pm

This is clearly inspired by Canabalt. I wonder if it also uses its source-code (no shame about that, it would be useful :P )

saguaro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:44pm

I really like the aesthetics.

Pitoum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Thanks guys :)
@matthias_zarzecki: nop, all from scratch! :)

lucasncv says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Beautiful and fluid! It's a bit hard to see yourself sometimes, she kinda blends into the background.

Chman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Cool endless runner. Good aesthetics and audio work. I killed myself after a while (after what seems to be the end) because the game wasn't getting any faster nor difficult.

My main grip is about the first part (before ~3200m). As nice as the graphics are, it's really hard to see the main character. Starting from the second part the character/background contrast is better and makes the game much more readable & enjoyable.

pjchardt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:13am

I agree with others. The graphics are visually appealing but I had a hard time seeing the player. Aside from problems tracking the player I like the choice in color palette.

WhatTheTeam says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:36am

I'm always sceptical about runers, but you guys did a great job! Congrats!

EggDestroyer says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:03pm

The "achievements" up left are hard to read as you're focused on the actual game, and the graphical transitions seems to be dangerous.
Also, I don't know if I have won or lost as I couldn't see the remaining distance anymore after 300m or so on my first run. After restarting & suiciding, it appears that I've won the first time, but I was hoping for some kind of reward. (I don't know if this stuff is relevant :p )

Still, visually worth 5* :) and fun experience overall.

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Cool concept!
I like the ambient :p

JAH2488 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:21am

Nice runner.

lotusgame says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:01am

Exellent Canabalt variation ! Lovely colors and graphics ! I like the several levels that has graphics progressively minimalized. A very good entry !

Benjamin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:54am

Nice and ver fun. But those special messages was annoying especially on the las levels. It was also a bit frustrating to rely on infinite continues then permadeath just 200m before end. Reminded me of that good old Rainbow Island where you can't use continue on 2 last islands :)

SmilingCat says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:55am

Beautiful graphics, I wanted to stop and admire the skyline.

Good job!

MinionStudios says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Very colorful and great artwork! I think more obstacles would be nice, but it works great as-is.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:22pm

I think I won... fantastic game!

May 9, 2013 @ 8:28pm

NO ONE GIVES A FUCK. Awesome. My eyes hurt now.

kill0u says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Pas mal du tout :)
Par contre, le changement de "niveau" est assez violent (surtout quand on est concentré)... J'ai perdu quasiment à chaque fois x)

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:39am

Graphisme plutot sympa, mais le gameplay c'est exactement canabult ...

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:40am

Graphisme plutot sympa, mais le gameplay c'est exactement canabalt ...

Rafael Sales says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Awesome game. Even without great innovations is a great game. Very fun and well done. Congratulations!

wilbefast says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Started of as a poor man's Canabalt but... whoa dafuq was that ending about o_O

Good job guys!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]