April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeoneer

by protensity - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Dungeoneer is a minimalistic game about the fate of a dungeon guide and an adventuring companion.

It's a game about playing with expectations.

Everything runs in a web browser.

NOTE: You WILL need an HTML5 compliant browser to finish the game. I recommend Google Chrome, but it will work in others as long as it is a modern, updated browser and not something like an old version of Internet Explorer.

Let me know what you think. You can find me on Twitter @protensity.

I've uploaded a time-lapse video of the creation process that you can watch here (warning - spoilers for the game):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eTaHBCTZPB4

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#90Mood3.66
#323Overall3.41
#365Innovation3.37
#395Fun3.16
#603Theme3.49
#633Humor2.12
#717Audio2.43
#1017Graphics2.42

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50am

Good text game at first with the storyline, in the next part of the game... I don't know what else to do aside from just walking and collect pieces of squares.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Always love a good Interactive Fiction!

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Nice game.

sboerwinkle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Best game I've played so far; I think I've played 6ish. So that's good. A quick game (which is what I was looking for), and still satisfying. Also matches the theme well. At some point I'll have to try the other endings. Bravo.

sboerwinkle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Roan Contreras - Keep playing for a bit.

Khaldrin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:05pm

I loved that text adventure retro feeling. Nicely written scene descriptions. The second part is confusing first and maybe a bit too long. You should think about maybe either shorten it or give some kind of feedback telling the player that collecting the squars has any effect (maybe tint the borders of the screen with a vertain color or something similar). But I liked the "no interface" look. Good job :).

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:50am

Good story - I managed to save Anivia, but I think I might have picked up a touch of megalomania in the process.

jwolf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48am

Interesting, particularly the text-adventure segment used to set up the second part. I was kind of hoping for something specific if you went out of the way to collect red cubes, although I can understand if they're just used to penalize the player for poor game-play.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:18am

This is my favourite entry so far (at this moment I have reviewed about 25 games). It was very clever to combine a text adventure with something else, and the strange, moody block collecting mini-game that decides your fate is perfect.

I think you could take this farther, and make a text adventure that linked to a whole ton of neat puzzles, moody scenes or activities, and information.

Thanks for this!

Uhfgood says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:59am

Yeah I didn't really know about the colored squares either. But I give this a good rating even if I didn't feel like spending more time with it.

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:28am

Very interesting setup and switch from one genre to another.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:50am

The text part of the game was a lot of fun. Interactive fiction is appealing to me. But I feel you let go of the concept too quickly, and that the dot collecting took more away than added to the experience. However, it was well-written, and I wish you played up on the being followed by a beast and surviving trap mechanic in the story more.

Ryusui says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:13am

Clever juxtaposition of genres here. It certainly played with my expectations!

muton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:42am

Very cool.. Couldn't figure out a way to get out of the telling-the-future dot-cloud though! I collected all the "Present" dots and the text suggested I'd escaped, but all I could do was start again..

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:58am

I like this game. I've bookmarked it so I can play it some more later.

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Great game, I loved the mix of interactive fiction with the minigame, and I like that you let the players try and get all the possible fates!

I also liked the "Premonition", I thought it was a great way to handle the death due to incompetence of a character.

All in all, a really great game, I'd love to play more of this kind of stuff, the only flaw I can find it's that's it ended too soon!

Tamik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Could play up the bit with the squares a bit more. Give them more meaning and let the player understand what they are for.

Lafolie says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Wow, that was amazing! I love the sense of exploration, even in the second part when you have to figure out what the hell is going on (which fits perfectly with the story).

Puzzlem00n says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Wow. I like the way you mix twine and more graphical gameplay- odd, but nice.

ming_tea says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:06am

I liked the switch from text adventure to square collecting game and I thought the music did a great job of setting the mood. Kudos.

davidwparker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:44am

I'm a little confused about the square collecting part.... but I really enjoyed the text adventure part. Nice :)

spriters2000 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:09am

I was really immersed in the story.
I really liked the ending with the minigame.

lathomas64 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:35pm

I am very confused at the end of this. What do the various number mean? what ended up happening? I need some closure!

Interesting game you've made here.

May 2, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Fascinating. I'd love to see more experimental hybrids like this. Thank you!

Hopps says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Nice game - it's good to see that I am not the only one using Twine. I'm coming back for the other endings ;)

BipoleMoment says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Wow! This was great!

I loved the sudden change in the games' style.

I agree with some people about the ending. I had no idea what was going on. But it was amazing!

(Just as a note, I also made a game with a white square representing the main player. So I thought that was cool.)

Gungnir says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:36am

Liked the text adventure, well written.

Jod says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:41am

Well written! I loved the trap-sense, a great mechanic to deal with re-reading parts of the story. Also, the way the different choices are presented in the second part of the story is just awesome!

Really cool way to tell a story, loved it!

May 14, 2013 @ 9:31pm

This is one of the more innovative games I've played in this competition. The plot is great, writing quality is good to excellent, and the music is simple and beautiful, just the way I like it. While the gameplay change feels a bit sudden, it is a great way to illustrate the process going on (trying to avoid spoilers here).

The only downside is that the second part of the game takes quite a long time, and is not really that entertaining (though, like I said, I applaud the way it works in plot terms). It could be cut down to 1/4 or so of its current length and still work great. (Maybe you did it intentionally to stop the player from trying to get all the endings through all the endings, for all I know.)


SPOILER

Also, I tried for "corruption" in the "to escape" ending, but no ending text showed up. No idea whether that's a bug or a feature, but still a bit of a disappointment.

END SPOILERS


Despite my nitpicking about the length of the second part, this is a great game. There seems to be an impressive variety of endings; I'm gonna have to come back and check them all out.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]