April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Natural

by Oye Beto - 48 Hour Compo Entry

One button game with simple graphics.

Instructions in game:
- Use click or spacebar.
- 'R' to restart.
- Collect ALL the yellow squares to appear the exit.


Post-compo ideas:
- Change platforms to a different pair of colors after each death.
- Mirror level after some deaths.
- Procedurally generated levels.
- Short levels or checkpoints.
- Music.
- Add easy mode (with arrows on platforms)


Thanks for playing :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#68Innovation3.92
#124Fun3.59
#126Theme4.05
#251Overall3.49
#584Mood2.84
#640Humor2.11
#730Audio2.41
#861Graphics2.65

Comments

Raw says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:32pm

I like it! It's a simple idea but very effective. If you ever implement the procedurally generated levels, I'd say make them shorter (1-2 screens).

Baknik says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Cool concept. I wish there was more displayed to help understand what direction each platform will take you besides just the color.

Oye Beto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Thank you.
The original idea was platforms with arrows but I found the current approach required more thinking and I preferred it.

I'll try your game later.

ddionisio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Nice game! I kept getting confused which color is which direction it goes. Something to hint it visually, maybe an arrow. Overall it's a nice concept and a fresh take on the collect stuff genre.

dremelofdeath says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:44am

This game is freaking great. I love the ultra-simplicity and retro theme. It's challenging and could definitely be expanded to something even better. You have my vote.

nilstastic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Pros: Super fun! Make an ios version and you'll earn atleast my 7sek. =)
Cons: Audio was lacking

All in all a great little game. Would like some sort of automatic save system so that i didn't have to restart from scratch. 5 for innovation and 5 for fun =)

Meep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Very fun mechanic! Some << or >> textures of sorts on the platforms might help with telling the direction. Once you got used to the directions each color meant though, it was very engaging. :) This has lots of potential, hope you work on it post-LD!

uncade says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:38am

I like the mechanic, but I think it would work better if there was some visual indicator of which direction each color moved, such as arrows or particle effects.

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:51am

Not sure if too hard or too intoxicated. Not a bad idea, seems pretty original.

alexanderm006 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:42am

nice little game :)

TenTonToon says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:03am

Very nice game, indeed! It's hard as nails at times, but that's the way games used to be, and that fits the look & feel of your game perfectly. I think games should leave you with a sense of accomplishment, and your game does that in spades.

My own game is a one button game, and it deals with changing directions in a similar, yet quite different, way. I also chose to put the player's brain to the work, and avoid visual hints that would make the game unnecessarily easy. Here, the platform's color clearly points to the direction the character will move - that's more than enough.

A game to follow, should you decide to keep on working on it post-LD!

Congratulations! :)

TheSarcastic says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:22am

Wow. Awesome game man :) Keep on it!

May 3, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Very nice use of theme - simple, quite original and engaging, but *very* unforgiving. The first game on this compo that I've rage quit :D

pvwradtke says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:46pm

This is great! Very simple to pick up, yet hard enough to master. There's something for everyone. Sometimes it can get frustrating to collect all yellow dots, but that's only if we want a perfect score. Congrats!

Ithildin says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Great idea!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:24am

awesome game -- very simple mechanic -- nice effort.

May 8, 2013 @ 4:56am

Fantastic one-button game. Appropriately challenging, and the simplistic art matched the mechanic. It feels like there's something missing, maybe a puzzle mechanic or design, but what's here works well.

May 8, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Cool game! Also, the second level is very hard! Since it is big, and most of its areas are inacessible once you pass them, you could change the goal to collect as much yellow quads as you can, with a minimum number to make the exit appear. Took me a LOT of replays to almost finish it.

Very challenging and innovative mechanics, good work!

swizzcheez says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 12:25am

Love the simplicity though it might be helpful for there to be arrows instead of green/purple to help illustrate what's going on.

Frigolit says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 10:47am

I love this! Simple, fun and somewhat difficult. Thumbs up!

Alphonsus says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 5:05am

2nd level was really hard. :P Nice game!

RealDealJRH says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:22am

Simple idea, difficult and overly great game

Madball says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:27pm

The idea is surprisingly good. It`s simple, fun and original. It was a bit difficult though, it seems you lacked the time to make it easier, but it`s OK.
I think it would be good for hand-held devices. However, if you are going to extend this game, I recommend you to get rid of minimalism.

lasergans says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Wow, really like this gameplay!
It's hard, but beatable after several times.
Great Job!

Zccc says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Great idea, but really hard!!

Oye Beto says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Thanks for the comments, I appreciate them.
I'll try your games in this 4 days.

May 16, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Hey, this hame is hard! You should listen to your girlfriend! :) But it's a good game, too!

Xanjos says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:56pm

It's hard but this is a really nice game with a simple concept that's fun and interesting. An "endless mode" would definitely suit this game a lot.

bentog says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Great game! Very smart and unique. I'd wish I could see a "You Win!", though ;)

fermcg says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 1:10pm

I liked it!

May 19, 2013 @ 1:03pm

I like it, but it is indeed very hard to get all the yellow cubes. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]