April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


Back to Browse Entries


by kurrik - Jam Entry

A `space` adventure. Guide your ship to safety! Avoid danger zones!
Pro-tip(s): Use spacebar to slingshot around moons; avoid radiation zones!
Minimalist gameplay - you can beat the game using a single button.

*** Please visit http://eg.regio.us/ld26/ for more information and downloads ***

If you have any issues please reach out to https://twitter.com/kurrik !

By Arne Roomann-Kurrik & Wes Goodman
https://twitter.com/kurrik, https://plus.google.com/+WesGoodman

Additional Design Feedback By Stephanie Liu and Amy Huang
Silkscreen font by Jason Kottke http://kottke.org/plus/type/silkscreen/

Downloads and Links




Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:14am

Lovely little game! :)

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Nice game, well done :D

hnjslater says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Yeah a good little game to play!

pentaphobe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:55pm

it quits silently on Snow Leopard (for me at least)

console logs show complaints about no ImageIO library loaded followed by "image not found"

here's the diagnostic report: http://pastebin.com/tBsKzQL7

kurrik says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:05am

@pentaphobe - thanks for the report! I don't have access to a Snow Leopard machine any more but I was able to reproduce on a Lion install. Could you try the 10.7 build on http://eg.regio.us/ld26/ to let me know whether it fixes your issue?

KhaoTom says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:49am

Nice one button game!

finefin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:59am

very well done little physics puzzler. one of my favourites so far :)

ticlekiwi says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:03am

nice game, i like it, the concept as cool !

May 2, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Will there be a Win 32-version? :)

kurrik says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:26pm

@SuperlevelSebastian - This was written in Go and it appears that Go unfortunately has some problems compiling to 32-bit code. However Go 1.1 RC1 was just released and apparently does a much better job. So I can try and see if it's possible to get a build together, but no promises :)

zatyka says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:25am

Very fun. I hope you keep working on it. This could be a great mobile app.

Tyro says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:54am

Soothing music, and the mechanic was pretty fun. Plus, those graphics looked pretty and suited the game well. Nice little game, this be.

Cybearg says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:15am

Great idea for a game--sling-shotting around planets to reach a goal. I would love to see it expanded upon! Graphics were fitting for retro and the music was space-y and smooth. I liked very much!

Is it just me or is the level shown in the last screenshot here (the one with the waving purple lines) hard as balls? I'm not sure if I'm just bad at the game or if this level is borderline unbeatable. You don't have control over which planet you're orbiting around, so it's a matter of absolute memorized precision, while previous levels allowed for some experimentation and leeway in figuring out your own path.

I wish that level would be more open and not require that frustrating level of perfection. I don't know what comes after it because I could not beat it.

kurrik says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:27am

@Cybearg - Aww, I love level 3! It is pretty tough to get right. I kept failing it when capturing screencasts. Sometimes I can do it a bunch of times in a row, and other times I fail repeatedly. I would tune the bounding boxes for a future version in order to be more lenient (on a diagonal, the bounding box has the most error for a circle object).

There is a way to beat level 3 in a cheap way though. It makes getting 3 stars much easier. As a hint, consider using the first bottom anchor to find an alternate path.

Thanks for the feedback though! Much appreciated!

gmaker says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:03am

so nice!! cool!

Pinkerator says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:32am

Very interesting gameplay with one button! Nice idea and I never saw anything like that so far o_O Special thanks for OS X version - there's no much games for Mac :)

burtlo says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:59am

Enjoyed the art on the main screens. Minor adjustments to the User Experience (Show 100% life and have it countdown). Enjoyed the music very much; wished it was a bit longer or looped cleanly.

hughsk says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:00am

Interesting that it's built with Go - would be nice to have some indication of "health" when you're moving through the red areas, but otherwise I enjoyed it :)

avidgamerNino says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:49am

Beat it, I love this gravity mechanic, should be the next big thing. This game has something similar too: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=10977

TheFudster says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:17am

Very well done. Quite difficult.

SneakySalmon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:18am

Very fun little game and a cool physics concept. I felt like a space man! :D

kurrik says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:23am

@burtlo and @hughsk - thanks for the review! I agree about the lack of obvious damage bar, it was something I wanted to get in there but never got around to putting in.

@avidgamerNino - thanks! I enjoyed the rec - we were thinking about multiple attraction sources but didn't go too far out of the core mechanic. It's cool to see another game with it built in.

dannycalleri says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:40am

Nice game, I had a similar idea some months ago, well done ;)

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Great. Very original idea. Plays smoothly and is well made. I liked it a lot.

May 4, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Great game good idea good sound and good graphics.

itsZN says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Nice game, I like the idea and how you implemented the gravity. I think some of the damage is to hard to avoid however.

May 7, 2013 @ 4:57am

Awesome! Finally getting the "sin wave" level just right was a real rush!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Great one button game and good idea (better than the jump one button game). Curiosity question, why do not do the opposite (In your game you Push on gravity, and don't change the modul acceleration, IRL the gravity stay constant but the space rocket speed change)

May 20, 2013 @ 4:52am

Was fun projecting around. With some more mechanics added, and a longer length, an extension of such a project could be interesting.

pentaphobe says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:27am

Very cool, any plans to expand this? More!!

May 20, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Good concept ( and great use of the theme )
I like One button Game, and this one is great !

You must sign in to comment.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]