April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

.Dot

by sudorossy - Jam Entry

Dot. Is a runner game with a twist.

There are 3 levels, but we'll update with more.
W,Space, or Up to jump, hold click the right side of the screen to stop time.


I cleaned it up for Android, changed the level editor and stuck it on the store! Go get it!

Also, shameless plug, I have an IndieGoGo campaign running. If you like what I can do in 72 hours, wait until you see what I can do in 4 monthts! www.igg.me/at/gwlc

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#59Graphics(Jam)4.13
#97Audio(Jam)3.52
#115Mood(Jam)3.48
#176Fun(Jam)3.14
#218Overall(Jam)3.29
#291Humor(Jam)2.05
#322Innovation(Jam)2.80
#383Theme(Jam)2.94

Comments

jrkirby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:26am

On linux:

Error: Could not find or load main class

Jan Marcano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:33am

The cubes on the second level took me like 3 tries to get what their purpose was.

The illumination work was really awesome! The ray-casting (I think that's how it's called) gave it a real cool effect.
Level 3 was easier to me than 2.

Waiting for the update with more levels!

jrkirby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:35am

Nevermind: I was trying to run it with java when I could've just executed it.

good game, but your "twist" doesn't really help in any of the levels.

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:37am

I'm generally not a big fan of runner games, but this one has a nice style to it. I love the aesthetics and colors. The music fits well too. Not sure about the theme...but I guess he's running away from the clutters of the industrial world and into a life of minimalism. I'll go with that!

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:27am

Awesome graphics! The block concept was clever, took me a few tris to figure it out :D

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:07pm

The graphics are amazing, especially the shadow effects. The music is great as well. I died a lot on the second jump on the second level, and I *will* persevere and get past it!

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Was a very fun game. Too short though! I loved the groovy lighting effects! ;)

AtkinsSJ says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:19pm

The atmosphere was wonderful, amd the twist was fun once I got the hang of it. It adds a bit more depth. I'd like to see what else can be done with the time stopping. :D

May 3, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Excellent graphics especially considering it was done in 2 days. Fairly clever and challenging too on the latter levels. Good job!

May 3, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Good levels and graphics! i like it!! good job

mortl8324 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Cool game. Could have been longer, but the levels that were there were fun.

Coruon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:53pm

I think you have the beginnings of a good game and great graphics/lighting, but there's just no content right now. And the level design could use some work, I did nothing with the boxes and finished quite easily. Needs polishing, but a good concept, I liked it.

Xanjos says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:17am

Loved the use of stopping time as a gameplay mechanic in an 'auto-runner' game. The visual style is really nice and the soundtrack fits the atmosphere very well.

ENDESGA says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:38am

Very nice :)

May 4, 2013 @ 12:43am

Cool idea! Please expand upon this, there is a lot you could do with this mechanic!!

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:55am

Great work, totally sweet style.

mtrc says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:28am

Lovely graphics - not sure what the twist was? Second level very hard. I'd swap the position of that and the third level maybe, or switch elements around.

jwolf says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:35am

Neat style, lighting effects, and game mechanics.

May 4, 2013 @ 1:39am

I played through once without stopping time, I didn't realize that's what the clicking did, and then I played it again messing with that and it was super fun both times! Great game, and the art was fantastic; very fun!

Ryusui says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:06am

I never noticed the "twist." I beat the entire game anyway. Graphics are awesome, sound is too (just wish the looping wasn't so obvious), but the controls and collision detection could use some work.

zanzindorf says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:42am

Nice work! The graphics are wonderful. I beat the game before noticing the twist though. I wish the level design complemented the game-play mechanics a bit more.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:58am

Great music, art and mood, dude. It`s the kind of game that I like and I`ve really enjoyed your game. In my opinion the jump needs more polish to improve the experience, because sometimes the control is wierd. Congratz anyway!

Jellycakes says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Pretty nice, didn't know the time stop function until i read the entry page. Was a nice platformer. Good job

elbowroom says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:48pm

I am impressed by the mood and the graphics. The game looks good, it has a great vibe. The gameplay mechanic is minimalist (one button) but it does not feel minimalist imho. The only thing I didn't like is that it ended after a few seconds. It was a little too short.

Herku says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:31pm

It looks very nice and clean. The light effects are awesome. Unfortunately its lagging so hard in the second level and i could not complete it ):
I am using Windows 8 32 bit.

May 4, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Very nice entry. Too bad it's very very short! Interesting take on running games

stevejohnson says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:08pm

This isn't one of my favorite genres, but it's well executed. Good use of sounds where most entries punt. Sometimes I felt like I should have been able to jump but the game didn't let me.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Too easy, Is the box just to mess things up? It seemed like you needed to use it a first, But come to find out it seems you don't even need it.

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:17pm

I fixed the lag in an update, but I've changed far too much to warrant updating this page properly! I might add a link when I'm done optimizing. Glad you all like it so far!

SuperDisk says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:31pm

It was neat, but kinda boiled down to "clunky cannibalt".

Also, I had to find out the twist (timestopping) by just expermimenting around.. I don't think it was ever told to me.

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:35pm

The music was a bit loud, but the game was rather fun! The light shafts look was pretty cool too :)

I admit I haven't played many auto-runner games, but I've never seen one with physics built in as part of the experience (except perhaps some of the levels in Limbo with the brain leech). Very clever combination there.

I wish there were more levels!

bluefoxgs says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:10am

Really nice, I don't usually like these games but it is beautifully done, i love the box physics, I love the music, I love the art. As Cake&Code says, I wish there were more levels! :)

stqn says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:02am

Nice graphics and music, but what "twist" are you talking about? I finished the game in like 30 seconds and there was nothing special in there, just jumping.

stqn says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:04am

PS: also, very uneven framerate.

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Graphics look amazing! Music is great, too. I enjoy run 'n jump style games. Very, very well done there! Very generous checkpoint system as well.

I wish that it was semi-modular so it could have more levels, maybe randomly-generated, even. In any case, looking forward to more!

Again, again, great art style!

sudorossy says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:32am

Thanks Cybearg! I plan on an "infinite" mode. Just gotta implement :-) Definitely didn't have time to do it in the LD sadly.

yellowlemming says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:18am

looks and plays very well although there wasn't much need for the stopping time ability, I was able to complete it very quickly without

robc says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:45am

Quite dug the audio & visuals.

Neat ability to stop the level, but I think the ability should be time limited - so it's a challenge to have to set it up right, instead of the hold it down constantly which could be done.

Should be interesting with more levels though :)

simvig says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Very nice mood here. I liked pretty much everything about it. The motion could be a little smoother.

May 19, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Nice little runner! I like the choice of music.

May 20, 2013 @ 1:33am

While very short, it was a quick enjoyable experience that could be quite fun if it was tuned up and expanded. I ran into some things involving me running against walls or the character acting a bit funky, but overall a solid effort.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]