April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

I Dream In Color

by evilseanbot - Jam Entry

Best results in Chrome.

Only tested on a Windows 7 machine.

Click on the intro screens to advance to the next one.

Programming/Directing by Sean Musgrave
Art/Music/Sound Effects by Henry Davis
Level Design/Misc by Chris Musgrave

Made in CraftyJS

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#112Innovation(Jam)3.47
#141Humor(Jam)2.75
#202Mood(Jam)3.16
#268Fun(Jam)2.90
#299Overall(Jam)3.05
#353Audio(Jam)2.57
#375Graphics(Jam)2.82
#500Theme(Jam)2.46

Comments

Raimonds says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Nice mechanics.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Damn, that's awesome. Eerily like my actual dreams.

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Pretty weird creatures ... I like it!
I couldn't get past the Blue Level though. The one where The Mouth is on the bottom left.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:17am

I found I was beating some of the later levels by just using my mouse and not placing anything down. Since I only need to rescue two I end up saving the first and last critters, and let everyone else die. They probably didn't taste as good anyways.

FlashRocks says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:17am

This is simply an awesome game. I can honestly only think of one bad thing to say about it: It makes me question the sanity of anyone who can come up with something like this. :)

Mark Hildreth says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:24am

I would've liked bit of a larger gap before the first guy comes out, though. Tested fine in Chrome Linux.

Tiago says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:25am

Nice game, amazing mechanics and the art style is also quite unique!

berjah says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:30am

Nice graphics. The game gets tough and I couldn't get past the flying shark level. Good work!

SeanAtr0n says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:47am

I sacrificed many creatures to save just two, oh well what do they care how they die :) (or is my mouth some sort of sanctuary for sad creatures)

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:25am

This is the game I've rated highest so far. Both original and fun to play. Simple music that fits well. Even the sketchy graphics contribute nicely to the mood of the game.

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:17pm

this game was pretty sweet. awesome mechanics. One little gripe, the sfx. The music was awesome, but the game show sfx took me out a bit. But then again it is your dream, so maybe those are the actual sounds you hear... which in that case, perfect!

oldtopman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:22am

Lemmings meets Closure.
Not original, but the gameplay was pretty solid.
I'm not certain how it tied into "Minimalism" though.

oldtopman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:25am

Forgot to mention - there's a rap for the red and green colors here: => https://github.com/evilseanbot/ld26/blob/master/Music/color%20raps.txt

evilseanbot says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:45am

The game took a couple of twists and turns through development. For most of Friday, it was going to be more of a metroidvania game, with the colors unlocking stuff through out the entire game (I kind of want to play that game!) and a rap soundtrack. Later on we discarded the rap idea.

evilseanbot says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:50am

I think the core idea of the game was very attached to the theme, which was "What if you could only have things of a certain color and everything else was gone?". I think there's a lot of things in the game that go beyond that core idea, such as flying pickle dogs, which I think are pretty awesome, but it doesn't really surprise me that some people won't see the theme in it, its definitely not as straight forward as most other entries.

Jorjon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:21am

Interesting mechanics, interesting graphics :)

tnovelli says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:52am

Yep, fine in Chrome on Linux, performance problems in Firefox.

Tyro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:45am

This game was like Lemmings and the Incredible machine rolled into a glorious, surreal package of splendiferousness. My favorite part was illuminating the shoes to reveal their skeletons and keep them from walking to their doom. I'd kill for a full version of this; there's at least a million ways to expand upon its remarkable concept.

JustinMullin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:47am

Very creative. I think you win the award for most bizarre entry I've seen so far. ;)

TheCze says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:54am

Wow very interesting to play, nice mechanics and weird graphics. I enjoyed it.

Kali Purr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:09am

Hey, thanks for the nice words! I've never played Killer 7, so I'll take that as a compliment! XD

HelkeGames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Like the concept, well done!

ceMelusine says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:02am

Surreal as fuck. Love that.

Tanius says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:58am

Lemming's style: i like it.
Unfortunately on my browser (Firefox - mac) was a litte bit slow.

Ludipe says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Fun game with original graphics(and a bit spooky). Well done!

TheSarcastic says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Good gameplay. I just felt the resolution was a bit small, like the text was unreadable and all. Solid ideia though.

enzo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:54pm

I like it! clever puzzles, and not too frustrating, because you only have to get two in! There is some physics wonkiness, though, mostly with the appearing and disappearing platforms...

also why did you discard the rap idea. That sounds like the greatest

joe40001 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:07am

Reminds me of lemmings, wasn't crazy about the art though, sorry.

aaron9000 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:29am

Love it.

stqn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Cool idea but I played in Firefox 20 and pressing the right mouse button showed a menu, which made playing this more difficult than necessary :). Also jerky animation (low fps) and poor reaction to mouse clicks. But I really like the idea of placing light to show/activate only the required elements in order to create a path.

stqn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Ah, I had Firefox set to disallow javascripts to change or disable the context menu. Much more playable without this problem :p.
In the level with the boots, I win without doing anything, the boots just change direction on the first hole. I stopped at the flying shark level.

evilseanbot says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:42am

stgn: Thank you very much for the detailed and constructive feedback.

I didn't do much playtestng with Firefox in general. I've got a relatively slow computer, and there's a lot of newish html5 games that I couldn't run in firefox so I gave up on making it run on FF on my machine. Its worth thinking about, though.

You're correct about the skeleton boots level. I must've changed the level at the last minute, and never caught it because I just always instinctively placed a light there.

Jeremias says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:20am

Very strange art :D I like the mechanic but you should improve the interface and show the player, when he finishs a level, what he must do to solve it, how many creatures to save are left, if he lost the game because a creature died etc.

May 13, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Didn't perform too well in Firefox, but loaded it up in Chrome and had no real problems. Really interesting mechanics, and I loved the weird art style, but it felt like there was a lot that was left unexplored... Great job though! :)

cardboard says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 2:18am

I enjoyed it. Neat graphics and interesting concept, although the story is a tad bizarre.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]