April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Left To Right

by l3dx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A very simple (not so fun) game (one of my first semi-finished!!) created with slick2d, jbox2d and gimp.

I had a little hope that I could at least make it a little fun to play this game. Anyway, I'm glad I somewhat made a complete game! :-)

There are a lot of bugs. Especially when it comes to physics. I've never used box2d before!

Also, the "bomb thingey" has no purpose. It just looks cool, and at first I wanted to make a point out of it.

Controls: WA(S)D

And hey! It was fun :-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1864Coolness20%

Comments

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:52pm

nice game

frr171 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:18am

Cool idea - I don't think I've ever played a game where the platforms are the ones moving.

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:06am

cool idea but it's too easy :-(

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:07am

It seemed to run a bit slowly for me. But the concept could definitely be enjoyable with some tweaking. Nice job completing a game!

l3dx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:10am

Thanks! :-)

@GetFun: I know. If I'd manage to fix the jump bug it would at least be a bit harder.

May 2, 2013 @ 7:47am

Congrats on submitting & I'm glad you had fun.

Bernhard says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Very simple but runs well :-)
My highscore was 23 - Which might be the maximum as the random blocks were all floating in the air.
A tad less randomness for the blocks could have been quite cool. But I know how hard it is to make randomness well playable...

kreddor says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:28am

That's actually a nice concept, a bunch of platforms moving towards you and you have to get past.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:17am

A little to easy, but congrats on getting it done! Just getting a working game that you can submit's the main ordeal, right?

johnste says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Way too easy to get to the end. A lot of the time the blocks are floating in the air so you can just walk right and win...

Yorwba says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 10:58am

You should better not mix frame-dependent simulation with frame-independent measurement of time. I got about 200 fps on my machine, and this had me moving so slowly that I barely reached the first block in time.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]