April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SPACE CANNON 2082

by scottychips - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are remote controlling a space cannon platform defending your homeworld and its small moon! The red marauders are attacking and your defense grid will only hold for so long. Destroy enemies and collect shield recharges until the armada arrives to save the day!

WASD to aim
Mouse 1 to fire

Collect shield powerups to recharge
Try to get a high score of ship kills and stay alive till the clock runs out!


-Notes: I was fairly busy this weekend and wish I had more time to add things to my entry, but overall I think its a pretty neat little game. I'm pretty happy with the visuals!

BUILT IN UNITY!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#191Graphics3.70
#653Audio2.53
#790Overall2.95
#838Mood2.60
#908Fun2.60
#1059Innovation2.37
#1231Theme2.63
#1689Coolness32%

Comments

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:58pm

This is awesome! My train of thought as I played:
Oh wow, this looks sweet! Gogogo! Oooooh yeah, shooting! I'm gonna shoot shiny things! What's that static effect? Ooooh, more shiny things in the distance! Can I move? (press every button on the keyboard) Aww man, never mind; what do I do then? Oh damn! Looks like I'm losing health! Where are the enemies? There! There's an enemy! That must be what that static was! Shit, that boy's fast! Uhuh, I'm running low!
And then I died. 3 stars sir, nice work!

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:29am

Really nice work, lots of nice visual candy. Fun game although I think the freezing of controls during the static was frustrating. Solid all around!

neight says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:48am

Love to shoot things mindlessly. Very pretty. Not knowing where the enemies were was frustrating. Great work!

larb says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:53am

Really cool, great job. I wish there was more to it.

I got stuck in a win loop bug, where starting a game just jumped to the you win screen every time.

timtipgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:21pm

I dig the psychedelic graphics :) Only the "you got hit" effect was kind of disturbing. Other than that, it's really fun.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Awesome game, good job! ;)

metalcan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Super cool retro graphics. Kinda wish I could fly around, but it's still fun. The enemies look awesome. The sound is very nice too. Great job on the visuals, it's beautiful in a kind of 80's retro way.

scottychips says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Hey guys, thanks for all the great feedback. I had a rudimentary flight going but I scrapped it cause it didnt feel right. The source is there though if anyone else wants to add stuff!

pansapiens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:07am

Hey, nice work, this plays pretty well, and looks quite good (I'm a sucker for those gem shaders too :) ). I'm going to take a peek at the source to see how you did those moving clouds too - great effect.

The music fits well enough but I think the sound is a weak point - since sfxr/bfxr is such a popular tool, you need to work to make sure the sounds don't turn out sounding like obnoxious presets & fit their role (not that I haven't been guilty of this). In particular, the shooting sound is a little loud and harsh, but important to get right since you hear it so often. But really I'm just nitpicking since it's otherwise a great compo entry.

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:48pm

HA! Awesome game! wish I could invert my mouse...

Arowx says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:39am

Great game! I think it just needs mouse controls to aim.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]