April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Fair King

by caranha - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UPDATE 2013/06/27:
Added a Post Compo Version. See the link above. The post compo version fixes a number of bugs, improves the interface, and adds multiple minor improvements.

************
This is a puzzle game. The goal is to drag your mouse/finger across the image, trying to divide it as close to half as possible.

That's it! Can you get a rank of "A" in every one of the 17 levels?

The game is in Java, just download the .jar file and execute it!

The idea for this game was to use the theme not only in the style of the game, but also in the gameplay.


This is my first try with libGDX. It is much more powerful than slick2D, but with great power comes great responsability -- some mac users have complained about not being able to run the game, but it seems fine running on Linux, Windows and Android.

Let me know if you have any problems!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#284Innovation3.47
#610Audio2.62
#663Humor2.08
#721Overall3.00
#737Theme3.35
#797Fun2.72
#941Mood2.49
#1002Graphics2.45

Comments

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:30am

Cool game. Love the filling animation.

gmaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:44pm

nice ^_)

Hegemege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Wow, a really calming game. Also pretty challenging!

I liked the way you had to draw the lines quite fast, props to anyone who gets all A's. The soundtrack fits the game really well.

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:02pm

It's pretty hard

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:06pm

A Hint for everyone getting stuck: Go back to the menu and try to get "A" ranks in older levels. Each "A" rank unlocks TWO new levels instead of one.

tompudding says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Fantastic idea and surprisingly tricky

plash says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Music surprisingly doesn't get annoying. Some of these levels are really hard!

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:22pm

WOW! I think this is your best game yet! I found myself spending a lot of time on this. The music is REALLY good, too. It's very challenging, and the fill effect is hypnotic. You really nailed the theme, too.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Once I figured out what to do it was interesting.

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Sonny, Thanks! The music is simply an Autotracker tone where I changed the pitch and tempo :-P It is definitely not what I had in mind for the game... Next time I'll try to focus on composition!

Dark Acre: Thanks! Yeah, no matter how simple I try to make my games, they are somehow always hard to understand the first time around.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:38am

Yeah, it's a bit wonky on a mac in that the game just mysteriously loses track of the fact that I have the mouse pressed, but the game itself beyond that is GREAT. I'm really impressed by the strength of the concept, and by the music.

I had a similar experience on Android as regards the game losing my finger, but on top of that it's nearly impossible to split things in half when your finger is over the screen. It's definitely best played with a mouse.

Sonnyb0ne is right, you've come a long way since those first LDs.

dvdking says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Gameplay was nice, untill i reached snake level... is it possible to beat? I tried 20+ times, just couldn't make it.

vandriver says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Cool game. On android, it was a pain losing track of the fact I was touching the screen. A bit of that could be alleviated if stopping a line just after all the colors didn't just give the game to red. Having to cross the screen's edge at the very end was often where it'd lose track, and it was pointless white space by then anyway. Frustrating! I'll try on the PC after work.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Personally, I didn't enjoy it, sorry. I'll probably try it again later, but this game and I really just aren't friends right now. For me, sometimes the line stops drawing in the middle while I'm still holding down the mouse, and it got really annoying since it only divides if the line's ends are outside the black rectangle. It's probably more my fault than yours, but I'm just too frustrated with it. I won't rate it yet.

caranha says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:14am

Yeah, I got some people to try it live, and there are a bunch of UI problems that I will address in the Postmortem:

- Since an incomplete line is an invalid division, the game should probably just throw away incomplete lines
- The game should probably detect lines very close to the border and autoconnect them
- There is a timer to the size of the line you can make (it was a lazy way to avoid storing too many points) - I could probably program the game better to avoid storing so many points while drawing (detecting if the last point is too close to the current one)

Things you learn while making a touch interface for the first time :-)

ryebread761 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Cool!

AyCe says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Wow! Great idea! :D At first I had no idea what to do because of the simple rectangles and after them this block thing, but i found out you actually need to start the line outside the marked area. ^^

stevejohnson says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:35am

Could be a lot of fun if polished more. Interesting (and difficult, especially on a trackpad).

Covenant says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Excelent work, very original, hard as hell! :)

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Very challenging! I didn't hear the soundtrack that's mentioned in the comments; I'm running a 32bit vista.

Joror says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Quite addictive, and even nice revelatory gameplay!

May 5, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Great idea!

I thought it said "Fat King". Then I was said it didn't :(

tsb says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Cool game, quite difficult

May 5, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Very innovative, and I love the name!

Jorjon says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Interesting. I found a bug where you can click on the hidden missions to play anyone.

Fnkee says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Top score for innovation. Haven't managed all of the levels yet, but I'll get there. Lovable title of the game as well!

EggDestroyer says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:11am

Interesting, well made and challenging.

Apart from the points you already mentionned (releasing the line and so on), I find the "Snake" level difficulty peak way too high, as it took me something like 40 (!) tries to pass it, then I rampaged through many levels, only stopping at "Party". Maybe I misunderstood something ? :p

But I had a lot of fun ! Also, well made audio atmosphere, really !

caranha says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Hey EggDestroyer,

Thanks for the comment! Yeah, everyone has difficulty on "Snake" (even myself!) I guess that is because the circles are not perfectly aligned with each other, so you cant just assume that the middle of one will begin at the middle of the next.

I should probably move the snake level a bit towards the level table.

Thanks for the comment!

May 19, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Nice game! At first I really could not figure out that I had to click 'In the beginning', and started clicking at random, which got me to the difficult snake level...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]