April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Timothy's Adventure

by FenrisWolf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here's a neat little shooter. Upgrade your gun, kill guys, get killed, admire your mustache! You know the drill! Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#364Humor2.54
#448Fun3.10
#795Audio2.28
#996Overall2.74
#1036Mood2.36
#1209Innovation2.10
#1270Theme2.52
#1281Graphics1.94

Comments

CogComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Really quite addictive. Though there seems to be a bug where the game will sometimes skip a level.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Good basic stuff! Silly, but "fun" in the same way that all of these types of games are fun.

A few criticisms:
1) The guitar loop gets REALLY grating after about 10 seconds.

2) It's weird that if you leave the level at the bottom of the screen, the lines slide towards the bottom. If you think about it, it should be the opposite (exit bottom, animate the lines moving upwards).

3) Seems odd that the game doesn't pause when you hit the shop.

I love mustache.

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Nothing like a good top-down shooter :D Good job. Only issue I had is sometimes the yellow border sticks around, causing a skippage of levels.

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Well that was silly.

lanz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Nice theme and cool music! And of course mustache.
Loved swirly projectiles and particles!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Enjoyable, reminded be a bit of the arcade game Berserk from way back in the day.

Ditto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Upgraded everything and then bought the cane, best upgrade ever! :D loved the music, charming ^^

@SamPotasz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53pm

I LOVE the guitar loop and don't care what anybody else says. It lends a GREAT playful feel to the whole thing. Well done :)

Jools64 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:01pm

I really enjoyed my time with this game. I found the gameplay to be pretty solid and the amount of variation in the enemies in combination with the shop upgrades kept it fun for a good while.

I do have a couple things that I'd like to nitpick about though:

I feel like the graphics where a little weak. I understand it's meant to be simple but they lacked some style. (Except the bad ass player with his top hat.) I also found that the particles often hid bullets, especially the little red lightning bolts which was pretty annoying.

The music was fairly nice but looped far too quickly and the lack of sound effects was a bit of a shame.

Other than that though I had a good amount of fun with this game and by the end I was the destroyer of all things. (I also think the game might have glitched and made me invincible.)

None the less, good game. Well done!

Zener says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:38am

Nice game, it plays very well and the music gets the mood.

netmute says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Kept me playing longer than I thought ;) The shop mechanic with the upgradable weapons was a nice touch.

Ludipe says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:47pm

It's fun, gets a bit repetitive but it's simple and fun.

donan says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:13am

Seen other games like this in the competition, but this is one of the mos addictive ones :)

ryuurei says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:06pm

This really was quite addictive. Shooting around somewhat senselessly was pretty amusing, and the gun upgrades were also pretty fun to play with. The only thing I wasn't very impressed with were the graphics. The colors could have been nicer to look at. Overall, it was pretty good. Quite enjoyable!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]