April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

'moeba

by rab236 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use the arrow keys to move around. Last for as long as you can. The challenge in the game is in the movement. Learn to be the amoeba.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#624Theme3.47
#640Innovation3.02
#756Humor1.96
#769Fun2.75
#825Overall2.92
#906Graphics2.59
#949Audio1.99
#997Mood2.41

Comments

Nolojen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:00pm

nice work, clean minimalist graphics style, nice font. movement definitely challenging!

geepit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Movement was interesting and cool. Pretty fun quickly turning and flicking the balls away with your tail

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Hard to control at first but I like the concept, well done! :)

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Quite fun, once you can hang of the controls.

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:29pm

This is pretty great. I love the style and colors!

ElScootro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Couldn't get it to work. Got to the menu screen, but clicking PLAY produced no results.

Mac OSX 10.7.5 Chrome browser
Let me know if you get it working or if I'm missing something so I can play!

Nakato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Control is difficult at the beginning but with time, become correct and cool ;)
Nice job

rab236 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Huh, that's odd. I'm also on Chrome on 10.7.5. My only suggestion is try refreshing or a different browser. I honestly don't have any idea why it's not working for you.

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:57pm

I like the idea and the minimalistic graphics, but the controls are kind of a turn off at the beginning. Cool concept.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Quite nice, the controls took a bit too much from me though, I didn't feel very in control!

ZeroDivide says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:49pm

The controls make sense at first, but once you lose a chunk or two, it starts to make no sense. It seems it still depends on the "missing" chunks' weight.

artifex says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Addictive. Very fucking addictive. Excellent concept. You got it.

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:19pm

I really like the controls, makes you feel all amoeba-like.

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Interesting take on the snake-like genre. I like your game, although the controls are very hard to work with. I realise this is the intent, though.

Kortuga98 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Kind of strange movement, at times it felt like I couldn't really control my 'moeba. Good game though, interesting concept.

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:31pm

interesting idea well achieved

dasrkrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Cool idea! Loved the way he moves randomly!

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Was pretty amusing!

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Really innovative and interesting concept, but those sounds were extremely annoying.

TobiasL says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Nice work. Though it was really hard to control when I had only one dot left :)

rab236 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:23pm

I may or may not have forgotten to remove the mass of the tail pieces once they're removed. It was on my todo list, I swear :P

daydalus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:32am

Game has a nice minimalist look. I found controlling the "snake" a bit too sluggish and difficult to collect the balls.

rab236 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:36am

Oh, but that's the challenge. You need to learn to be the amoeba :)

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:03am

Liked the idea and concept. Hard to move a bit at first, but ultimately cool. Good work.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:06am

well executed concept. I really dig how the controls feel especially as your amoeba gets smaller and it feels different.

neight says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:22am

This is a fun game, but I wish there was a little more character to it. The gameplay mechanic is awkwardly original and interesting, and I found myself determined to master it.

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:01pm

I really suck at it, but I really love those physics! Was good fun. Thanks.

whitetigle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Hard to control but nice concept :)

anatolat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Controls are really hard, but the idea is good.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Great game! It felt a bit out of control some times.

PixelOaks says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:44am

Pretty innovative, and quite challenging. It's one of those types of games that make you play it over and over until you get use to it.

Komradus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:38am

I am the amoeba king.

boboKat says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:48am

The movement was definitely challenging!

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:13am

Who doesn't like to flop their 'moeba around! (I have no idea what I'm doing).

Oliver Simon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:54am

@Komradus, will you wear the red crown or the green?

@DaanVanYperen, I couldn't say I have any full idea of what I'm doing when I play either :p

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Very cool concept! But the controls are unintutive.

lotusgame says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:55am

Very unusual controls for a snake, but unteresting new concept ;)

Broxxar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Really couldn't get a handle on the controls. Aside from that, it's a neat game, good use of theme.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Interesting mechanic, really minimalist concept, but the controls are weird.

May 4, 2013 @ 2:18am

The controls are hard, but the idea is very interesting of move like a snake. Good Work!

Alucard J says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:15am

Also found the controls difficult, but really liked the idea and the physics. Was impressed how the tail moved and stayed relative to the other tail objects. Well Done =]

SmilingCat says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Pretty fun. I spent most of my time chasing after new brown segments to try to get back to original size.

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:16pm

No idea what was going on, but what was going on appeared really nice and clean.

Oliver Simon says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:34am

Thanks all for the comments, compliments, and critiques. I do want to fix the movement and then develop this concept a bit more to see where it leads.

patrickward says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Interesting idea. I had to play around a bit, before I understood the controls, but I think that's part of the challenge and the charm. Nice job!

JustinMullin says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Huh, very cool. The physics on the snake thing make it very interesting, and add a lot. Well done! My only complaint is the sound effects were a bit jarring.

Oliver Simon says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:26am

Yeah. I didn't have much time so I just cranked a few things out of sfxr. I wish I had time both to make better sound effects and a soundtrack.

May 9, 2013 @ 3:39am

Intriguing game. Liked the simplistic concept which goes along quite well with the theme IMO.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:28am

Cute... now I know what it's like to live a day in the life of an amoeba.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]