April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Line Game

by elektron - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use the arrow keys (or WASD) to guide the line through the various obstacles.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#126Theme4.05
#168Fun3.49
#390Overall3.33
#464Graphics3.16
#565Audio2.69
#630Innovation3.03
#663Mood2.77
#949Humor1.69

Comments

Rongon says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 3:40pm

I like it. Clear and simple. Hard on some point, but challenge is what I enjoy :)

Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Like Rongon said. Very impressive.

Flai says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Awesome game and idea :) Makes me think why I don't come up with as good ideas as this :P

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Wonderful game, but way too fast for me...

metadept says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Reminds me a little of this entry: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=11637

This was pretty fun, and got challenging fast (I have a lot of trouble with the timing based ones). I spent quite a while on the title screen just drawing things with the line, heh. Good job!

Overv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Simple, but well executed. For noobs like me, perhaps decrease the speed a bit if the game detects many failures :)

Puffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Took me a while to realize that I'd get to the 2nd room by going to the right edge of the 1st map, but once I got that, the game was fun

Andrei Barsan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:55pm

This was really fun, and it had a very nice difficulty curve. If also fits the theme very well! The music was a tad annoying, though.

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:17am

Great, music got repetitive.

jpcote says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:57am

Really Minimalist, good use of the theme!

runonthespot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Excellent stuff. Light bikes + puzzle for teh win!

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Hmmm, I thought it was Tron bikes in an adventure game of sorts, but as I was writing this comment I looked at the screenshot and realized you can cross your old path... oops, made the game harder on myself. Got to the first red switch and gave up, but after knowing I could cross my own path, I finished the last 2 levels. Fun game. 8:48, not sure if that includes alt-tabbed time while writing this :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Beat it with 8:07! Super hard but enjoyable. My only complaint is the super irritating music.

ethankennerly says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:58am

I was surprised to see how this began by moving off the screen to the right. Then it introduces tropes of various games of progression: mazes, keys, timed doors. Masterfully simple premise. If you continue to develop this, and I hope you do, have you considered having more vertical space in the first set of timed doors to forgive timing mistakes?

Typedeaf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Very funny! But the line was so faaaaaast! Good job!

Tifu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:46am

Good challenge, a little too hard for me, I couldn't focus on the timing of the black on/off lines and my own movement very well, maybe if they had some kind of transition "I'm just about to go solid" colour for a split second I might have been able to do it. I got to the level in the second screenshot though :D

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Fits the theme perfectly. Reminds me of the hours I spent playing Snake II on my Nokia 3310. :D

May 6, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Cool game. Very fun until those blinking lines appeared, I couldn't get past the second (I think) level of those with two lanes of three of those lines each. But apart from that I really enjoyed those first few levels.

Siewart says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:37pm

A break/slow-down function would really help with those annoying flashing doors.

maloki says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:16am

Some parts are frustrating, especially when I need to turn around the corner. Got through them eventually, though.

Music is a bit repetitive, but the gameplay is enough to keep me going. :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]