April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Samus Regrets

by Tifu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I tried to think of a way to make a game about a minimalist lifestyle, or at least the pursuit of one. And so, here is a Metroid game, of sorts, where instead of acquiring powerups, you must get rid of them. All of them. Though the order in which you do so is up to you, certain areas will require certain power ups to access. Planning is key! If you place a power up you didn't mean to, you can pick it back up after a second or so. It is, unfortunately, possible to get trapped if you don't plan appropriately, just delete the data.dat file if you have to start over.

Controls:
arrow keys: move around
up: save/use lift
down: use lift/duck/turn into ball

A: jump (double jump if you have the Screw Attack)
S: shoot (hold to charge, if you have the Charge Beam)
D: select missile or super missile (if you have them)
Space: Pause/View current power ups
Escape: Quit

Some notes on things that you might expect to work that don't:
The screw attack doesn't work as an attack, it can just break down certain walls and get you to high locations

The ice beam will freeze enemies, but I didn't have time to make them work as platforms, so it's only really useful for metroids.

The power bomb is used by charging a shot while in morph ball mode, rather than selecting the power bomb using D

Oh, and no shinesparks :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#261Graphics3.51
#294Humor2.67
#398Overall3.32
#459Innovation3.24
#538Fun3.00
#555Mood2.88
#769Audio2.34
#778Theme3.31

Comments

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Neat idea! The sounds are a bit grating :p

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:34pm

REVERSE METROID!!! Genius. There is a TON of content in this game for 48 hours. You basically made mini Metroid in less than 2 full days. WOW. Great concept and theme interpretation. Some of the animations (like the jump) are dazzling! Good work!

psychomonster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Metroid was one of my favorite games on GameBoy... There was so much to discover... Love YOUR Game very much... great piece of work...

Farjuan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:03pm

This is great, a lot in this game for 2 days

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:16pm

A simple but effective two-balance game. The wilhelm scream did get to me though. ;)

whilefun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Pretty cool! I totally abused the double-jump to get to places I don't think I was supposed to get to. Fun entry!

tiffi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:22pm

i like the idea and its a really big game für ld48. well done!

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Most impressive.. A Metroid game in 48h and the idea is novel and fitting.
Also Super Metroid Nostalgia points awarded.

Purplescape says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:05am

This is a great Metroid game. I really liked the way you interpreted the theme. The gameplay was pretty smooth, and the graphics were very nice.

Krise20 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:17am

you based this on super Metroid! I love that game and i love this. awesome

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:20am

great job -- lot of fun and the gameplay was great!

Tom 7 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:33am

Wow, what a great idea! The implementation is impressively complete too, covering most of the 2d metroid weapons (But no Shinespark?!? :)), and appropriate but I think legal graphics. The flaw I think is with the difficulty -- the game doesn't do much to lead you to a solution and it's too easy to get stuck without making a map and a plan, which isn't that fun. :) I think I visited almost everything in the map! One of my favorites so far.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:49am

That was a cool idea !

nSun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Great idea, very ambitious.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Awesome. This game is amazing. You made this game in two days? I love it!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Metroid feelings! The second enemy, that one looks like a brain is really hard. Congratz!

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Awesome and depressing. Got rid of some good weapons.

HD408 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:15am

Didn't go through the entire game, but it felt good enough, and the idea is funny.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:46am

Brilliant idea. I haven't gotten far in the real Metroid, so I don't know what most of the items are supposed to do or how I'm supposed to get past most of the areas.

dalbinblue says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:40am

Cool idea. Quite a bit for a 48 game, I am impressed. As a note, the jumps was very floaty and I would often miss the mark on precision jumps. Also, felt like the jump and shot buttons should be reversed.

MRvanderPants says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Nice concept, big metroid fan, very impressive. Still the gameplay is a little buggy. For example I couldn't exit the game, so I kept playing a little while longer

Xanjos says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:41pm

The reverse mechanics were pretty interesting. There's almost a sense of strategy when you try to work out which powerup you want to lose.

HelkeGames says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Nice game, well done! :D

May 20, 2013 @ 5:07am

Interesting concept, and works well with the Metroid theme and it controls well. Unfortunately not the biggest fan of the guessing game of what to drop and what to not, but I found it to be well-developed with its mechanics and a lot of effort was put in, evidently.

May 20, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Great concept, and the gameplay and graphics are nice. Unfortunately, once I ran out of ammunition it became unbeatable, as far as I could tell. Perhaps I would have done better if I'd had more experience with the Metroid franchise.

Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]