April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Long live the King

by Lythom - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game emphasis narration and will bring you to a minimalist world that may not be exactly what it seems... discover the truth behind, illustrated with normal mapped pixel art !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#31Mood3.97
#65Humor3.58
#90Innovation3.84
#149Audio3.43
#225Graphics3.61
#267Overall3.47
#437Theme3.65
#512Fun3.03

Comments

Skywilly says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Sublime narration ! Bravo !

Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Haha, I like it! ^^

Tyro says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Nice game! I enjoyed the visuals and audio a lot. Just one thing: at the end, I think the last sentence should read:

"The guards led him to the throne, where he sat to be crowned."

Keep up the good work!

ming_tea says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Great game!

texel says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Wow. That was awesome. Love the storytelling and the way it worked out. =o)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:09am

Nice story !

Lythom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:05am

Thanks all !
Tyro> As this is a grammatical error I think it's not cheating to correct it so... fixed ! Thanks =)

Yakka says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Awesome mood :)

Cosine says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:59pm

I really like this game, but I'd really like to see it go further. I like the light casting. I'd like it to be longer and more difficult, and perhaps multiple paths you could follow. Great game overall!

MaxguN says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Awesome. Really nicely done :)

dray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Excelent Audio, Great story, cool art. a very well made game!
the only thing i can say as a feedback is the dragon, he need some kind of dead animation or to disapear.

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Very unique. Well done :)

Dax says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:08am

Really nice, too bad the stroy ended too fast :(

Rastagong says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:46am

So short, so good! <3
I loved the art, the story, the music. So make a sequel, maybe?

FredericRP says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:36am

Ahah, it was fun and well written :)
I liked that the music starts with the action

zinfandel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:42am

I absolutely loved this one! The effect of highlighting to see what's going on is a brilliant way to invoke curiosity and tell a story. The graphics and audio all work well together.
My only comment - the font is very difficult to read, and may make some miss the story.

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:04am

Oh, that wasn't what I was expecting at all. The graphical gimmick is pretty cool, and the audio fits really well. I love that you can have two different stories if you play through it silhouetted or lit up. Great work!

omaromeir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Wow, I was truly amazed by this. Awesome technique, idea, execution and story :O. I loved it. Only problem is text can be hard to read, but that's such a small complaint. Bravo!

tankete says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:50am

It's the new Don Quixote! Great idea and implementation. Loved it! :)

Angerus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Cute little game! A bit too short on the gameplay in my opinion but whatever, a cool experience!

Ariake81 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Really enjoyed the story, plot could do with a little more depth and better pacing (doesn't need to be as quick) but overall great experience

mkpictures says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Nice little game :) I really enjoyed it, simple and the narration was good. ( Thanks for the french version BTW ). I also liked the music :) Too bad it was so short :(

Good job!

ataxkt says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Excellent, a genuinely good narrative game! Very minimal too, every action the player has helps tell the story in ways only possible for an interactive medium. 5 stars!

kibertoad says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Nice artstyle, not much of a game or a story, though.

kibertoad says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Haha, missed the narrative trick during first playthrough. Excellent idea!

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:59pm

WOW! I did not use the click mechanic the first time! Afterwards, I realized what it meant.

KEFIR says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Wow! Not really a game, but it is really cool interactive narrative! Very cinematic. I would call it the real piece of Art! :)

May 5, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Not much of a game here, but a great work nonetheless!

scriptorum says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Nice one, Lythom. I like the lighting effects, and how you worked that into the gameplay.

donp3yote says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:26am

Man, for such a simple little game the narration was great. Loved the interface and twist! Kinda made me sad. Only wish it was longer! Great work!

nilstastic says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:37am

Nice, but the story ended too fast :) Nice Graphics!

DdlyHeadshot says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:53am

Incredible and thought-provoking!

allinlabs says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Well, I wasn't expecting that... overlapping the 2 stories like you did was actually pretty smart ! Great and innovative way to tell a story, I loved it !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]