April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Long Live the King

by Dax - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Long Live the King is a RPG where you control the King of Patoot.

You will have to eliminate the enemy rebellion by killing the Leaders.

You can freely move in the map (exept where you are not suposed to go) and once you are detected by an enemy, you will enter the fight in the limited area.

The fight system is a turn based mode.

Kill lots of enemies, become stronger to reach the highest hill!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#359Fun3.20
#372Humor2.53
#471Overall3.25
#611Mood2.81
#730Audio2.41
#906Graphics2.59
#958Innovation2.55
#1331Theme2.21

Comments

Hayawi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:22am

Fun game, but does not really have to do with the theme

ella guro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:28am

not a bad roguelike style game. the mouseclicking to control your actions and the generation presentation of the game felt kind of clunky though.

Dax says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:34am

To my defense with the theme, it's minimalist in the way that it's a simple RPG where you don't really have to care much about what you can do, you just do it, with everything at hand.

Daisuke909 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:46am

Very nice work. It's just that it ended so abruptly. I understand, though, and I literally spent about an hour playing this. :P

Dax says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:56am

I'm really sorry about this ending, I'm not really good in story telling (nor at graphics :p) so I made the minimum required to end a game.

I hope more people will play it to the end like you :)

Avrec says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:14am

Hey, just downloaded the Windows version of the game, but having trouble running it... after clicking on the application, a few seconds pass, and nothing happens.

Spiridios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:16am

Very fun game, it kept me playing despite being a bit frustrated with the healing mechanic. It's a little weird that when you upgrade damage it upgrades your weapon, so if you plan on changing weapons those are wasted points.

manax says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:18am

Pretty well done game. Some weird interface issues (text was hard to read in UI, wasn't sure how to "defend" (if that's what that other button was).

Color coding/mouse over the enemies strength would have helped. Also, "beat" the game, but didn't realize I was fighting the main bad guy until I suddenly won.

Enjoyed it enough I played it all the way through. ;)

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:31am

NOOO!!! I GOT STUCK IN A WALL! http://i.imgur.com/3XSfyiI.png

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:31am

Also anyone who says this isn't minimalist is nuts -- I loved how simple the gameplay RPG was -- the game is loads fun.

Dax says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:46am

BrainSlug I'm really sorry about that, I tried and tried and I never blocked myself in a wall so I wal like "It's ok, no need to do some more checks on the collisions", look like I was wrong ^^"


@Avrec: Have you installed XNA Redistribuale (the second link)
For the questions, here are my response/choices:
I decided to upgrade the weapon and not the player to have a a choice to do when finding a new weapon but the last is so over powered you can't refuse it so yes it's a wast of XP :p
For the text, I don't know why but XNA was cutting the bottome of some sentences and I couldn't find why.
While fightin you can: Move, Attack, Use an item or if you have 2 points to spare raise your defense for the next turn (help at the begining of the game).

Lythom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Nice overall, had fun with your game ! I'm impressed you could produce something with all those features in 48h.
I think the cursor could be improved, in 1680x1050 I could barely see it. Thanks for the game !

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:07pm

I like how cheerful the king looks in any circumstance.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:21pm

I found the gameplay simple, but refreshing for this genre of game. Pretty good game for the limited time!

BrainSlugs83 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:35am

@Dax I was trying to see if it would let me grab the potato on the other side. XD -- I won't be trying that again. A few times though I did get a little bit stuck in walls during normal play but I was always able to get back out. -- it would be awesome if there was an enhanced version with a "suicide key", so that when this happens you didn't have to quit and lose all your progress. :(

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:03pm

This game was quite fun, but the enemies seemed really powerful. Maybe I'm doing something wrong, but I kept getting mobbed and repeatedly dying to the first group of them I encountered. I still thought the presentation and gameplay were well done.

Dax says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:58pm

@Tyro, if you went directly to the right, that's normal, you first needed to go to the south finding a weapon and leveling up a couple of times before starting the main quest.
@BrainSlug: Good idea, it will not be much to add the test in the game.

Joror says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Lots of play for a 48h game, solid rpg/tactical stuff. Needs one or two 'unique' mechanics from the beginning though.

lanz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Fun little RPG! Cool and tough.

Andrei Barsan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:19pm

I liked the game - it showed a lot of work for a LD game! :D It had a tad too much grinding, though. I liked the I am error reference. :D The combat system was pretty nicely implemented!

multikorv says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Maybe a bit too powerful enemies, or maybe my tactics sucked I dont know. Nice work!

fpMiguel says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Fun game! I've even finished it :) http://i.imgur.com/h5WoqlJ.png

spriters2000 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Is there really the ending? Because I beated all the enemies In the game, I finished all the quests, I took all the weapons and nothing happened.
Neither when I talk with all the npcs.
I just see on the map the text "Kill the Leaders (blue crosses) (0 remaining)".
Anyway nice game.
I appreciated very much the quotes from Zelda

Dax says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Thanks!
@spriters: You've finished, the last quest was to kill the leaders, once it was done, you had the ending http://i.imgur.com/h5WoqlJ.png (Thanks fpMiguel).
@multikorv: Have you tried speaking with the happy guys and starting using the stick going south-est to look for the sword?

naughtyloose says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:12am

ok this was way too hard. I got gang-raped by multiple enemies all the time and never really got anywhere without dying. :(

Dax says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:58pm

@naughtyloose: Probably because you have not read the 10 seconds intro... and started by speaking with the villagers to get a better weapon...

MinionStudios says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Good use of the energy/strategy mechanic! It actually feels better that running in square spaces and it works!

StMatn says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Very nice fighting system! I like the graphics. The caracters look really nice.

kibertoad says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:30pm

balance seems a bit too hardcore. otherwise, impressive entry.

farmergnome says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:10am

Man this game is brutal, I really dig the combat system though, It feels really freeform, I wish the enemies were more forgiving though! Still, quite impressive.

Brunodev says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Gotta love roguelike theme. Just the healing that is a bit weird, other than that, congratulations, awesome game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]