April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Taking Sides

by jamioflan - Jam Entry

You are a lowly triangle, but you have circular dreams; let nopoly bar your ascent to circledom!


WASD - Move
Mouse - Aim and Fire
QE/MouseWheel - Change Weapon
P - Pause

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#159Theme(Jam)3.60
#199Fun(Jam)3.08
#249Innovation(Jam)3.05
#259Audio(Jam)2.94
#261Humor(Jam)2.18
#276Overall(Jam)3.13
#299Graphics(Jam)3.08
#301Mood(Jam)2.83

Comments

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:26pm

I didn't really get what was going on, but the atmosphere is really nice, I love the graphics! I wish I had been able to tell if I'd been shooting or not.

Hyaku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:35pm

I can't play. The .jar loads and nothing happens. :(

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:54am

Snappy game! I enjoyed it quite a bit and I like the usage of nothing but triangles, neat :)

jamioflan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:16am

You obviously didn't play it enough. This game is not solely made of triangles

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Nice game! Very minimal, well done :D

metalcan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:37pm

It doesn't respond to my keypresses, so I can't move, only shoot.

Brassawiking says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Very polished actually. Well rounded in all aspects.

tcstyle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:10pm

What a sudden start. I like the basic concept and the music. Player feedback could be improved.

glbs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:22pm

It's pretty fun and very neat, but I might kinda suck, I keep being killed by the green 'snakes'! Well done, and good title too

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:43am

Music is great! It's actually better than I expected gameplay wise.

metalcan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Okay I got it working, and I've got to say it's pretty awesome. Didn't expect multiple levels and bosses. I only got as far as the pentagon boss. Really cool idea, but kinda hard to figure out what to do in the beginning, not knowing how to progress. But turns out it's really cool if you stick with it. Good job on the sounds too, they fit the game well.

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:15am

Nice use of colour and fractal triangles.

Xanjos says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:25am

Absolutely loved the music and the gameplay concept was quite interesting. It could do with some sort of progress indicator such as a score/quest system though.

thatwhichis says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:33am

I am both elated and disturbed by triangular blood. :-D

Broxxar says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Really cool once you get the hang of it. Love how you represent health and cool downs with colours and shapes. Would be great if it was a little bit more organised, sometimes it was a bit chaotic with enemies and bullets on the screen.

Over all a really fun game.

Foxtacy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:01pm

It has a nice proposal for a survival game :)

But, i think it could use a LOT of polishing.

Little stuff you know? like, more feedback. For example. I noticed that there were some power ups, but i quite don't understand what was the benefit of getting them.

Asides from that, it's a cool game :D

Tapestry says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:08am

Really nice concept! The square level is hard :(

Ernyz says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:11pm

I've almost defeated the first boss :) i liked how you need to quickly cycle throgh weapons and they all proved useful in diffirent situations :)

May 5, 2013 @ 6:59am

Fun music!

Mesene says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Dude I enjoyed it a lot! Nice entry

KunoNoOni says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:30pm

what a neat idea! liked the use of theme.

Komradus says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 9:51am

Pleasantly surprised.

stqn says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:45pm

I like the screenshots but can't play because the game "requires a plugin". Also wasd works only on qwerty keymaps.

jamioflan says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:02pm

That's a pity; have you got the latest java?
Up/Down/Left/Right works too, because we wouldn't want to alienate Dvorak...

iFred_QC says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:32pm

It loaded but then the canvas wouldn't update at all. Using Chrome.

Blinked says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 1:36am

Hey you made the plane mod for Minecraft :D I tried playing your game but after loading it just hits a blank screen and never shows up :| Using Firefox.

May 19, 2013 @ 10:45am

This was a very, very impressive game. It could definitely use some explanation and/or tutorial at the start, however. I only gave it a second chance after reading some of the comments here, and I'm glad I did.
I love how the information is displayed - the weapons on each side of your shape, the recharge time being clearly displayed and your health dependent only on the color. The visuals and sound in general were strong, and (oddly) reminded me of Everyday Shooter. The bosses (the ones I got to, anyway) were well designed, and while it was difficult it rarely felt unfairly so. Great game.

stqn says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:02am

@jamioflan: yes, openjdk7. Turns out I had to install the icedtea-web-java7 package to get to run your game. I am *not* happy with it going fullscreen and not exiting when I press ESC and changing my monitor's resolution. I had to kill firefox to get my desktop back.

Jedi says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 1:39am

Love the oldskool gameplay with the modern look and mood! It was jarring at first but it grew on me :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]